Will Soccer ever take over AFL?

that's certainly the case in Victoria, but in NSW - Australia's most populous state - you'd be lucky to find one country town, and hardly any Sydney suburbs, with a rules club

Yeah, I was referring to the traditional AFL states. I know AFL is a small fish in NSW and Qld.

But on those statistics you gave, it's really not surprising when you consider most schools and universities throughout Sydney would field their own soccer team.
It's always been a strong participation sport in Australia. I noticed that even rugby league and union's figures are fairly modest in comparison.
The basic rules are much easier to understand, there are less physical demands, and it's far less dangerous than Rugby or AFL. Of course there are more people willing to participate, but it doesn't appear to correspond with people willing to spectate.
I played soccer at school, and loved it, but I have no great passion for the game.

mate, just look at the latest figures from the government. They can be found in this report here
http://www.ausport.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0008/241865/ERASS_Report_2007_FINAL.pdf

but here is a screenshot of the figures relevant to this discussion:
http://i36.tinypic.com/2mr9u7p.gif

as you can see, there are 16,000 people in NSW who play Australian Rules football, compared to 317,000 that play soccer. That's 19 times as many people playing soccer compared to Australian Rules in NSW. Take a closer look at these figures and you will see that there are even more people in NSW participating in sports like shooting and orienteering than playing Australian Rules. And these figures are just for people over 15. Then when you get to those under 15 the numbers are still truly staggering in soccer's favour as well.

Sure there may be towns close to the Victorian border where there is an Aussie Rules flavour, but as you can see from the statistics, they are in the definite minority.
So why are you on a Aussie Rules site

It already has, football has turned into a rubbish sport, the last year I really enjoyed it as a sport was 1995.
Yet you still post on an AFL forum, seems legit

It already has, football has turned into a rubbish sport, the last year I really enjoyed it as a sport was 1995.
This has nothing to do with footy turning to rubbish, it's about you being a sook who jumps on when the team does really well.

It all depends on game coverage availability... free to air, streaming. The easier it is to watch, the more popular it will be.

Football should revert back to the old interpretations for physical contact (except protecting the head which was one great change). I also think that penalties such as Chris Yarrans punching Chapman should be judged far more harshly. I would have given him a season. This conduct happens all the time in suburban football and is hurting the games participation more than anything else.

But physical football such as pushing and shoving in a marking contest and players storming through contests are great. More of it. I would also reduce bench rotation to one on (from the bench) and one off per quarter (with injuries being allowed to be replaced if that person does not come back on.

UFC is growing at a fast rate and I don't see physical contact as holding it back.

I have watched the SBS football sometimes on a Friday night and always think that we do have a better product if we can lose some of the annoying aspects of the AFL setup.

I think it already has. It's played all over the nation but afl isn't.

The pigs in afl house are hurt by this.

I think it already has. It's played all over the nation but afl isn't.

The pigs in afl house are hurt by this.

Australian rules football isn't played in every state? Well I'll be damned.

I'm sure the AFL are really hurt over the A-league drawing such massive crowds and generating the immense revenue that it does...

The attendance average is like 12k per match. I'm sure the next AFL broadcast deal will put things in perspective.

Will Soccer ever take over AFL?