Williamstown report.

Coin_Toss

Apr 2, 2005
I watched the game from the comfort of my home today, on the plasma.

Williamstown started very slow, then they kicked back. It was close at quarter time, but we got killed all over the ground afterwards.

It took Williamstown 50 minutes to kick another goal after quarter time. But it didn't mean nothing in the end, as we lost by a good seven goals in the end.

Player Report

#33 Cameron Cloke: 5/10.
I thought he started strongly, did Cameron. Battled hard all day.
The supply was very poor though.

#16 Scott Pendlebury: 6/10.
Scott was impressive. He looked classy at times on the ball. Foot skills were alright.
At least he is one Seagull who can hold his head up high.

#38 Adam Iacobucci: 5/10.
The Booch played alright. Didn't impress, but got a fair bit of the ball never the less. Lacked football smarts I thought.

#30 David Fanning: 4/10.
Rucked well. Struggled around the ground.

#31 John Anthony: 6/10.
I thought John was brilliant in the back line. He backed himself and won on many ocassions. He weaved his way out of traffic more than once, and he used the ball well. Well Done!

#28 Danny Stanley: 3/10.
Danny was very quiet. I didn't see much of him.

#22 Rhyce Shaw: 7/10.
Very good return. He looked very comfortable for a footballer who just came back from a knee reco. It looks like he hasn't lost much of his speed, which is very pleasing.

#34 Jason Cloke: 7/10.
Jason battled hard all day in defence. Got better as the day got on I thought.
He looks like he is fustrated at the moment.

#29 Ryan Cook: 5/10.
Ryan worked hard on a forward flank. Was out marked '2 on 1' a couple of times there. Took some strong grabs though.

#41 Alan Toovey: 4/10.
Toovey's delivery was very poor today. He missed the target more times than not.
But he took some courageous marks.

#53 Julian Rowe: 6/10.
Julian missed the target a lot, but he looks more and more comfortable. Big user of his non-preferred foot, which may be a negative side to his game at times.
I hope he can get over his OP troubles, because he is talented.

#12 Tristen Walker: 1/10.
No impact on the match at all.

#15 Chris Egan: 5/10.
Flashed in and out of the match. Eags looks very good when he has the ball in his hands, but he doesn't get the ball often enough for my liking.
I have doubts over him.

This is the first time I've seen a VFL match as I was keen to check out Collingwoods new talent and it was on TV.

Was very impressed with Pendles as he showed patches of good play. Cook IMO deserved more than a 5/10. He finished off really strongly and took some really good grabs. Used the ball well also. Anthony was good in the backline and I can't wait for his improvement.

Coin_toss, I wasn't aware that Tex Walker actually played. If he did, you were dead correct with your rating of his performance.

Horrible game , Williamstown were complete rubbish after playing superbly against a classier team last week.
The game wasn't helped by the Bullants mirroring their AFL alligned club's heavy flooding , but regardless the skill errors were unacceptable.
No-one deserved above a 5.

Fair analysis from what I saw.

I came in for the 2nd half as I was out. Had the game capturing but due to loss of power at the ground, someone at home stopped the recording thinking it wouldnt come back on. Apparently it resumed halfway to three quarters of the way through the first quarter.

Anyway I will have a torrent for the second half ready later on tonight so for those who missed the game and want to see the second half at least, prv msg me and I will give you the link to download it.

BTW:- I remember why the hell I hate watching VFL games on the ABC, if its just me then ill go jump off the Westgate, but does anyone else get absolutely ********ed off by the commentary of Phil Cleary. Loved his analysis in stating a set play midway through the last I think it was when the Bullants managed a goal from nothing through Longmuir. GET F'D IDIOT!!

I thought cook showed a bit, strong overhead, quick and anthony showed a bit as well.

Toovey done some okay things.

Cam was pretty good but im not sure he is agile or quick enough for the AFL.

Jason is probably only gunna be a good vfl player and thats all.

Pendlebury was okay, everyone else was quiet.

Not much to say about the game really.

Fanning's no good and walker is no good.

Rhyce was good in his comeback game, rowe is a turnover merchant.

Im not sure about the "The Booch", i doubt he will be with us next year.

Rhyse was fantastic - very impressive first game back. Wont be too long before he's back in the ones.
Pendelbury will be a player
Cook was excellent
Anthony did some good things as did Yakka.
J Cloke was ok after half time.

The rest were pretty much rubbish on the day. Walker was awful.

hotpie said:
Rhyse was fantastic - very impressive first game back. Wont be too long before he's back in the ones.
Pendelbury will be a player
Cook was excellent
Anthony did some good things as did Yakka.
J Cloke was ok after half time.

The rest were pretty much rubbish on the day. Walker was awful.

A very good summary hotpie. Would agree all those mentioned were good or showed patches of good play.

Yakka showed good things but his overall game was a little disappointing for mine and as someone else in this thread has said, he probably won't be with us next year.

Rhyse was excellent on return, can't wait to see him in the 1's!!!!

did Iles? or Nicholls play? or did they just play the reserves? sounds disapointing just hope pendles, cook and anthony didnt do too bad

Rhyce still cant hit a target (yeah yeah first game back)

Hardly saw Pendles

Egan and Cook I thought had a crack

Cam presented fairly well but cant kick for goal

only saw the first half and have not been to any willi games this year

pendlebury looked pretty good but my only query was he seemed to go sideways everytime got the ball rather than look to go long. Can anyone confirm if this is normally his style or was it more the flooding that caused him to do this??

cook looked pretty good to me and so did Anthony.

All in all it was a terrible half of footy even by vfl standards. Hope the 2nd half was better

ant22 said:
All in all it was a terrible half of footy even by vfl standards. Hope the 2nd half was better
No it was a disgraceful game of football throughout , last weeks game against Werribee was a highly skilled attacking quick game with a great finish , VFL football at it's finest-today was a plodding,flooding turnover fest VFL at it's absolute worst.

mightypies9 said:
did Iles? or Nicholls play? or did they just play the reserves? sounds disapointing just hope pendles, cook and anthony didnt do too bad

Yes, my bad. Iles played.

#37 Sam Iles: 4/10.
Did a couple of nice things, but was very quiet. I love his second and third efforts.

I thought Rhyce was a class above that lot.

Pendles looks like he has all the time in the world - won't be long before he gets a gig in the show.

C2 was hopeless

Cook did some nice things, good pace

Toovey was hard

Rowey got a lot of it but his disposal was really poor

C1 was really good

Does anyone know why Rowes disposal is so poor? is he carrying an injury or lack of confidence or what? cause he needs to improve if wants a game this year, he has talent but dunno where it is atm by the sounds of it,

glad to hear rhyce was burning up the field again, looking forward to him getting back in the side, more runners we have with some speed the better. And pendles sounds good. I wont be able to comment until i see him play afl.

Coin_Toss said:
#12 Tristen Walker: 1/10.
No impact on the match at all.

#15 Chris Egan: 5/10.
Flashed in and out of the match. Eags looks very good when he has the ball in his hands, but he doesn't get the ball often enough for my liking.
I have doubts over him.

i knew that walker was named for the match but when i was watching i thought he must have been omitted! can not recall seeing him once!

I tend to agree with you on egan, i think with picking of dale thomas we have realised that it is not worth picking up troubled kids! i wouldnt be suprised if egan ended up leaving like cole, cant see what all the hype is about to be honest. All i can say is that im glad we changed our recruiting criteria/strategy

Saw reserves last week, players like Picken, Stretton, Galea and McKenzie won heaps of the ball hope they get run in the seniors soon. All good ball skills.

Nesian said:
Does anyone know why Rowes disposal is so poor? is he carrying an injury or lack of confidence or what? cause he needs to improve if wants a game this year, he has talent but dunno where it is atm by the sounds of it,

glad to hear rhyce was burning up the field again, looking forward to him getting back in the side, more runners we have with some speed the better. And pendles sounds good. I wont be able to comment until i see him play afl.
I think he had a touch of OP earlier in the pre-season

magpies42 said:
I tend to agree with you on egan, i think with picking of dale thomas we have realised that it is not worth picking up troubled kids! i wouldnt be suprised if egan ended up leaving like cole, cant see what all the hype is about to be honest. All i can say is that im glad we changed our recruiting criteria/strategy
Do tell, what troubles :confused:

Egan tried hard and if Willy actually had any structure in their forward line and their delivery to it, he could of almost sparked a revival in the 3rd quarter. Seems to be trying to improve his physical side but he still did a couple of stupid things like kick the ball of the ground instead of trying to pick it up.
C.Cloke presented hard all day and took some nice marks, an area of his game which needed improving. Just none of his leads were honoured.
J.Cloke was clearly the best for Willy. Killed his oponent (Morrell) and got 20odd possies and 10+ marks.
Anthony, I can't tell, as a defender it is hard to tell if he was good or not. If his oponent was Prendergast he was beaten well if it was Kennedy he went well.
Pendlebury is all class, like someone said would of liked to see him try some more daring play but I think Bullants' flooding and Willy's stop-start-chip-chip play may have prevented that. Got a fair bit of it, and certainly can get the inside ball.
Cook was better than 5/10, probably one of the best for Willy. Tried hard all day.
Toovey's kicking was shocking, as was Rowe's. Rowe needs some conistancy with his kicking style, it may be that OP is affecting him.
Stanley's kicking was a mixed bag.
Iles looks awkward.
Iacobucci has no guns. Well IMO he has guns, but just doesn't use them. He is a great kick when he has the confidence and should run with the ball more. He could become the next Brayden Shaw unless he learned some more tricks. Needs to learn some more ball getting tricks, either become better at the stoppages and get clearences or learn how to become a link player. No matter what happens I think he should stick around for a 3rd year.
Walker was absolutly hopeless/unseen and Fanning was only just better.

Williamstown report.