Society/Culture Woke. Can you tell real from parody?

I get it.

But of course if Woolworths really was interested in playing to a 'wokeness' anti-Australia Day agenda, they would have issued a PR statement loudly proclaiming what they were doing and why.

But they didn't. Neither did K-Marrt or Aldi.

They quietly and without comment simply decided not to put out the plastic Chinese made crap in December that sells for f-all, takes up valuable retail space and no one gives a toss about. No one noticed. No one cared.

But in the 2nd week of January, some work experience kid working for Channel 7 told to hunt for the usual brain dead click bait stuff leading up to Australia Day, did notice. And Channel 7 sent an email asking questions as to why - and Woolworths answered with a short statement explaining their commercial decision.

Within hours, that statement was front page news on all the usual tabloid outlets and 2GB had Peter Dutton on air ringing the culture wars bell for the idiot crowd to answer. And that they did. Vandalising Woolworth stores and threatening staff

Over plastic stuff from China that you can get from any crappy $2 shop anytime you want. But no one does. That's the point.

Imagine being so brain dead you take up arms for that idiocy?

FMD.
You think you get it, but you don't.

Thankfully, modern Australian society will pat you on the head and tell you it's ok while productive members of society (taxpayers) fund your social media rants.

Could you show me?

You would probably have to look to her upbringing combined with a rigid and fearful outlook on life.

Because things Lidia talks about are real. Not made up bullshit used as a grift to get boomers and young dorks to vote for RWNJs.
I'm no fan of Pauline so don't take this the wrong way. Views like yours fuel One Nation. A racist is a racist irrespective of skin color/identity.

Elaborate if you dare. I'm gonna pull you apart.

billionaire-strut-vince-mcmahon-well-known-walk-6exha2wzzggn77qr.webp

Did you read the complete statement from Woolworths that justified them not stocking Australia day merchandise?

"There has been a gradual decline in demand for Australia Day merchandise from our stores over recent years," a spokesperson said.
"At the same time there's been broader discussion about 26 January and what it means to different parts of the community."

I've highlighted the pertinent part for you. Do you understand?
The highlighted part is just a simple statement of fact, and that is what rustled the jimmies of the 'anti-woke'. They cared more about their own feelings being hurt than they did about the facts.

Yeah, it must be exhausting repeating those conservative talking points like that.
I really don't think I'm that conservative, though I'm leaning far to the right compared to you and your comrades. I caused a commotion on crypto twatter when I suggested that a child being given a rainbow sticker wasn't a big deal.

It's tough to be a centrist. ;)

The highlighted part is just a simple statement of fact, and that is what rustled the jimmies of the 'anti-woke'. They cared more about their own feelings being hurt than they did about the facts.
It may well be a statement of fact, but why then have Australia day specials at BWS? Not very woke imo!

Regardless, I think we're all ready for a new topic. I'll find something to upset the masses.

It may well be a statement of fact, but why then have Australia day specials at BWS? Not very woke imo!

Regardless, I think we're all ready for a new topic. I'll find something to upset the masses.
Because all they did was acknowledge that there is a discussion. They also clearly stated that it was a decision driven by the lack of demand for the items in question. Do you disagree that there's a wider conversation? Do you disagree that they weren't selling enough Aus Day tat to justify stocking it? Why do you care what specials they have at BWS? You seem to be getting a bit emotional over what are some fairly prosaic decisions.

Nobody is being emotional. I wish you would stop being dramatic when it's not warranted.

Put your logical hat on for a minute.

If Woolies are suggesting the ethical discussion about Australia day forms part of the reason they aren't stocking Australia day merchandise, surely it's hypocritical for them to put out this advertisement:

ausday.jpg

Nobody is being emotional. I wish you would stop being dramatic when it's not warranted.

If Woolies are suggesting the ethical discussion about Australia day forms part of the reason they aren't stocking Australia day merchandise, surely it's hypocritical for them to put out this advertisement:

View attachment 1894363
No, like I said you have to be logical about this and take out your emotional response to anything that seems to be what you've been told is 'woke'. They made a commercial decision and also acknowledged that there is a discussion about Australia Day and what it means to different parts of the community (because they thought it would help them commercially). At no point did they actually take a position for or against, the only actions were commercial actions based on demand. In the instance you've posted, they've decided that they will make more money by advertising like this.

You need to think rationally and not let yourself get riled up by those who are taking advantage of you to further their own goals of making money and gaining power.

No, like I said you have to be logical about this and take out your emotional response to anything that seems to be what you've been told is 'woke'. They made a commercial decision and also acknowledged that there is a discussion about Australia Day and what it means to different parts of the community (because they thought it would help them commercially). At no point did they actually take a position for or against, the only actions were commercial actions based on demand. In the instance you've posted, they've decided that they will make more money by advertising like this.

You need to think rationally and not let yourself get riled up by those who are taking advantage of you to further their own goals of making money and gaining power.
Nice. I have no counterargument to share. You'd make a fine politician imho.

So you're accepting that 'broader discussion' is a reality, well can't disagree.

Not the point.

'Broader discussion' obviously alludes that there's differing opinions on the date / day. That's what Woollies used to justify not stocking aus day merch, and passed it off as 'this is what everyone thinks' without consulting everyone.

Yeah of course no one cares about the merch, except the bleeding hearts sooking about the existence of flag waving bogans, and the flag waving bogans about Woollies 'wokeness'

It's very clever marketing, create a stir about aus day merch and watch the attention come in!

The point is that a lot in here (and in msm and other socials), including you are making it a very simplistic 'ONlY 4 comMerShL pURposes' and dismissing that Woollies actually stated 'broarder discussion'

Like, 'nah we didn't say that, it was just for money, money only!'

Suuurreee it was.

View attachment 1894363
You know that's a stretch, you're not likely to get that.

EDIT. It's nice how Woollies have assumed that everyone has ditched the 'thong' (read ditch the 'straya' notion)

Thanks for thinking for others Woollies, coz you know and others don't:thumbsu:

'Broader discussion' obviously alludes that there's differing opinions on the date / day. That's what Woollies used to justify not stocking aus day merch, and passed it off as 'this is what everyone thinks' without consulting everyone.
Or - "We aren't going to get any kudos for doing what we'd need to do to boost sales, nor would it work as a loss leader".

Did you have a go at Woolies for their wage theft issues?

So you're accepting that 'broader discussion' is a reality, well can't disagree.

Not the point.

Yeah of course no one cares about the merch, except the bleeding hearts sooking about the existence of flag waving bogans, and the flag waving bogans about Woollies 'wokeness'

It's very clever marketing, create a stir about aus day merch and watch the attention come in!

The point is that a lot in here (and in msm and other socials), including you are making it a very simplistic 'ONlY 4 comMerShL pURposes' and dismissing that Woollies actually stated 'broarder discussion'

Like, 'nah we didn't say that, it was just for money, money only!'

Suuurreee it was.
Woolworths made no announcements about anything until they were asked, and then stated that it was a commercial decision and also acknowledged that there is a wider discussion about the merits of the day.

And for that Dutton wanted everyone to boycott them, because he clearly must think that they should stock stuff that doesn't sell and that there shouldn't be any conversations about Australia Day. That's overreach on his part and should have caused far greater outcry than the lack of plastic flags and colourful thongs.

Woolworths never tried to stir anything up, it was feigned outrage from same old cultural warriors on the right.

And for that Dutton wanted everyone to boycott them, because he clearly must think that they should stock stuff that doesn't sell and that there shouldn't be any conversations about Australia Day. That's overreach on his part and should have caused far greater outcry than the lack of plastic flags and colourful thongs.
Who cares.
Woolworths never tried to stir anything up, it was feigned outrage from same old cultural warriors on the right.
Then they didn't need to mention 'broader discussion among the community' when asked did they. Could've just said 'purely a commercial decision'

If they did the latter then you'd be all 'but but then spud would've said' and 99 people out of 100 would've replied to you 'Who cares'

Who cares.

Then they didn't need to mention 'broader discussion among the community' when asked did they. Could've just said 'purely a commercial decision'

If they did the latter then you'd be all 'but but then spud would've said' and 99 people out of 100 would've replied to you 'Who cares'
You know that people would have said it was a woke decision which they are lying about.