Society/Culture Woke. Can you tell real from parody?

Merely pointing out the clever marketing by Woollies to outrage the bogans to get attention from everyone.

Everyone claiming 'twas just a commercial decision' dismissing the 'broad political views' quip is either incredibly stupid or willfully ignorant.
How exactly did they go about getting all this attention from everyone? Okay, first step, stop stocking the merchandise that wasn't selling. When did they start doing that? What did they do to publicise it?

Genuine question. Did any posters change their shopping habits in favour of Woolies after they went woke?

So you’re just gonna ignore the logical and obvious point here that this was a business decision.

The sign of a true “centrist”. lol

So you’re just gonna ignore the logical and obvious point here that this was a business decision.

"There has been a gradual decline in demand for Australia Day merchandise from our stores over recent years," a spokesperson said.

"At the same time there's been broader discussion about 26 January and what it means to different parts of the community."

The bold sentence is an attempt to play it off as something more than a business decision, and that's repeatedly ignored by LW posters here for some strange reason. I still do most of my grocery shopping at Woolies btw.

"There has been a gradual decline in demand for Australia Day merchandise from our stores over recent years," a spokesperson said.

"At the same time there's been broader discussion about 26 January and what it means to different parts of the community."

The bold sentence is an attempt to play it off as something more than a business decision, and that's repeatedly ignored by LW posters here for some strange reason. I still do most of my grocery shopping at Woolies btw.

So you think it was a false flag event?

"We don't make money on it and it's a bit contentious anyway, so we decided against selling seasonal tat."

Did you get this upset back when Woolies dudded employees for $300mil in stolen wages?

"We don't make money on it and it's a bit contentious anyway, so we decided against selling seasonal tat."
...but we're happy to sell you real Aussie merchandise from our liquor arm at a discounted true blue rate for our Australia day specials.
Did you get this upset back when Woolies dudded employees for $300mil in stolen wages?
We should all be concerned with wage theft. Nice red herring though.

Anyway, I think this topic has been done to death and I'm ready for something new. Let's see what I can find.

We should all be concerned with wage theft. Nice red herring though.
Yes but WERE you at the time? It's a much more serious issue.

Point being you seem much more upset about some plastic tat than you are about actual people.

Anyway, I think this topic has been done to death and I'm ready for something new. Let's see what I can find.
Given up on this rubbish? Good.

Yes but WERE you at the time? It's a much more serious issue.

Point being you seem much more upset about some plastic tat than you are about actual people.

Given up on this rubbish? Good.
Of course it's a much more serious issue, but there's no point discussing something that everyone agrees on. I'd much rather discuss and debate topics that we see from different angles than show my virtue on the internet.

That's the whole point, you're silent on matters that are important, but virtue signal on stuff that pretty much everyone in this thread agrees is virtually meaningless.

You are so desperate to turn the tables and label normal people as virtue signallers who purely are happy with the status quo is pretty lame, we all understand the woke are the virtue signallers but keep pushing that barrow if it makes you feel better.

Of course it was a business decision, using virtue signaling in combinatoin to get attention to Woollies.

But nah, let's dismiss that, it was purely 'coz we aren't selling any' even though 'broad community views' < yeah nah, we didn't mention that.

Of course it was a business decision, using virtue signaling in combinatoin to get attention to Woollies.

But nah, let's dismiss that, it was purely 'coz we aren't selling any' even though 'broad community views' < yeah nah, we didn't mention that.
It's so obvious, yet the woke fail to see it. Is reality too traumatic for them?

You are so desperate to turn the tables and label normal people as virtue signallers who purely are happy with the status quo is pretty lame, we all understand the woke are the virtue signallers but keep pushing that barrow if it makes you feel better.
So if you do it it's good, if someone else does it then it's bad? You must be a parody account, nobody could be that blind to their own hypocrisy.

That's not very proactive if they were going out of their way to generate outrage, is it?
Woollies aren't about feels man, If you think they used the 'broad community views' quip coz they're sympathetic then you're being terribly gullible.

They did it this way to garner attention, doesn't matter if it's proactive or negative, it gets attention from the media and the gullible froth 'Wot! no merch! unpatriotic woke bastards!'

And here we are.

Thought it was a pretty simple equation myself.

Now are you gonna continue the 'but but it was only a commercial decision' line?