Worst area you have been to?

Late 2000

Hollywood Blvd, rolled into at about 9pm at night into the dodgiest hostel imaginable, quite an eye opener.

I also stayed in Harlem, found it ok, had to go out night to get some laundry done, whilst sitting waiting for the machine to do its business getting some looks form few black people, gave them a smile and a "g'day" then once they realised i was aussie it was cool had a good chat to them.

We did one of those hop on hop off double decker bus tours of New York where they take you to all the major tourist spots around town and you can hop off at one of the tourist spots and then hop back on one of their other buses coming through later on.

At all the tourist spots like Times Square, Empire State Building, Central Park etc there would be quite a few people getting off and then the bus went through Harlem where just about everyone there was black with some of them were shooting evils at us whitey tourists.

We then had a stop in Harlem and the tour guide said "So does anyone want to get off here?", no one budged lol.

Quite surprising that they take those tourist buses through Harlem as the locals don't seem too keen on the idea from what I could tell.

Manila would have to be the biggest shithole I've had the pleasure of gracing.

I know many US cities are dangerous cesspools, but I somehow managed to survive totally unscathed in three months there last year despite wandering through many downtown areas drunk in the early hours. Although I did turn back half way walking across the Franklin Bridge from Philly to Camden, thought better of it juuuuust in time.

Went to Cambodia earlier this year and took a tuk tuk out to the killing fields. On the return journey the driver took us back a different way on tiny little ****ed up roads where we are barely moving beyond walking pace. We were never threatened but the looks we got were interesting.. Especially after just doing the tour around the fields and knowing what had happened there so recently.

Have spoken to people who had been to Phnom Pehn in the early to mid 90s and can't imagine how that would have been, especially after dark.

Most depressing places Ive been

Elizabeth, Adelaide
Detroit, Michigan, USA
Port Hedland, WA
Newman, WA
Olympic Dam, SA
Karratha, WA
Roy Hill Minesite, WA
Altona, Melbourne
Noble Park, Melbourne
Kwinana shopping centre, Perth
Midland train station, Perth
Maddington shopping centre, Perth
Not really sure why Olympic Dam is in there, it's a mine site and work place that houses a lot of very rich people.

Not the worst but was surprised how crappy it is... downtown Los Angeles/Hollywood. Wow, what a dump.
Drove past Hollywood High School, and our guide told us they were one of the first schools in the US to get metal detectors for the entrance, such was the violence. I couldn't believe the price of some of the absolute dumps there as well, and the land sizes weren't anything to write home about. 3 days was enough for us, certainly not a place I feel the need to visit again.

Lol, if you actually think otherwise you haven't done much travelling
Aren't you the guy who said Maddington was the worst area in Australia? Australian 'shitholes' have nothing on anything overseas, if you disagree you're either incredibly deluded or you haven't travelled much at all.

Haven't been to a great number of places overseas and nothing here has been too bad but Hollywood Boulevard was absolutely horrid.

Felt on edge the whole time I was there (just a few short hours). The blokes in dress ups hassling you for dollars were bad enough, but the amount of sketchy looking homeless people and the lack of people on certain parts of that area made things scary. Particuarly after entering the McDonalds where about five nutcases on gear walked in.

Drove past Hollywood High School, and our guide told us they were one of the first schools in the US to get metal detectors for the entrance, such was the violence. I couldn't believe the price of some of the absolute dumps there as well, and the land sizes weren't anything to write home about. 3 days was enough for us, certainly not a place I feel the need to visit again.

I was in LA a week after the riots in 92 and couldn't tell the rioted areas from the non-rioted areas. Absolute hole of a place.

I had a mate staying at Manhattan Beach during the riots, he was travelling around the states for a year.

I knew he was in LA while the riots were happening so one night / morning coming home off the piss at 3am, I thought I'd give him a call, catch him up on events, I thought a familiar voice might cheer him up. Just a quick 5 or 10 mins.

I spoke with him for almost an hour. He was staying in an apartment above a row of shops owned by Koreans. As I was talking to him, I could hear gunfire going off in the background. My mate said it was the Korean shopkeepers protecting their businesses.

Needless to say, he was packing darkies.

Phone call cost me almost $100.

Haven't been to a great number of places overseas and nothing here has been too bad but Hollywood Boulevard was absolutely horrid.

Felt on edge the whole time I was there (just a few short hours). The blokes in dress ups hassling you for dollars were bad enough, but the amount of sketchy looking homeless people and the lack of people on certain parts of that area made things scary. Particuarly after entering the McDonalds where about five nutcases on gear walked in.

yeah we ate at the maccas on Hollywood bvld had a few homless guys staring at us whilst we ate hoping for some scraps, ended up giving them my fries and getting the F out of there...

Worst area you have been to?