• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

WRFL Div. 2 Season 2008 and Beyond Part 4

I dont think Parkside will implode as they will have unfinshed buisness next year.....
And who was the last team in divi 2 to come from 4th to win the flag?
And will Deer Park go up next year?

The guys on the radio today said that no side ( div 1 or div 2 ) has ever come from outside the top 3 in the history of WRFL to win the flag ?

Not sure if true or not, thats just what was said on the radio show

Well done DP, great effort.

well done deer park today you took what i said on board juegan played right in to your hands he couldnt get a kick in a bruce lee movie but he stayed on the ball all day and Benny the (DOG) crook and dont forget the other the DOG the pres keenan wouldnt take him of the ball they must be scared of him how can a bloke put his hand up when his never had a kick in a big game be it A grade or B grade

Mate dont know what you were watching, but i listened to some of it on the radio and at 3/4 time Juegan had 31 touches ?

bit harsh grizzley now i reckon if the parkside boys know who u are then u got no hope of ever walkin foot in nthe club again.... give them a break they are a great side and have just lost a grand final....it doesnt matter how much money they have spent or who is doing what...obviously they are doin something right as they were at least there and that is a position that 8 other clubs would have loved to be in. they have great numbers and starting to get good juniors and have the best ground and fascilities this side of melbourne...maybe u r just a has been that couldnt get a game in either of their sides....for your info jueagan had 37 touches 23 kicks and 14 handballs.... did ok for a man that cant get a kick...ur a tool grizzley.

congrats deer park on the win and well done to robo who played well...great to see the underdog get up and win lets hope u go alright in div1 and show that us div2 sides are better than they think. the silly season starts now boys........everyone is fair game hahahahaha

juegan got 37 touches????? well if he did i was watching the wrong game......how many were effective then and how many did his oppenent rack up???? what i do know is when he really needed to kick a goal to keep parkside within touch he missed from bout 40meters out.... davis played for free kicks every time the ball was coming his way... the only player from parkside i thought played well was 18...

for dp the big men really stepped up taking grabs all around the ground... and the medallist number 22 was everywhere..... thorouglhy deseverd bog...

great to see pakside couldnt even buy a premiership.... surely they wont pay all those so called great players the same amount of cash when they cant even win the only game that counts.....

bit harsh grizzley now i reckon if the parkside boys know who u are then u got no hope of ever walkin foot in nthe club again.... give them a break they are a great side and have just lost a grand final....it doesnt matter how much money they have spent or who is doing what...obviously they are doin something right as they were at least there and that is a position that 8 other clubs would have loved to be in. they have great numbers and starting to get good juniors and have the best ground and fascilities this side of melbourne...maybe u r just a has been that couldnt get a game in either of their sides....for your info jueagan had 37 touches 23 kicks and 14 handballs.... did ok for a man that cant get a kick...ur a tool grizzley.

congrats deer park on the win and well done to robo who played well...great to see the underdog get up and win lets hope u go alright in div1 and show that us div2 sides are better than they think. the silly season starts now boys........everyone is fair game hahahahaha

Parkside were out-coached today-simple as that!!! Juegan might have gathered a few touches, but they were not all that damaging. Maybe he should have spent a bit more time thinking about some counter active moves to make rather than worrying about his own stats.
Deer Park had the key men covered and when the game was slipping away from Parkside, (most noticeable from late in the 3rd quarter) they kept the status quo. They couldn't relieve the pressure from their half back line, they were predictable down the middle and Duggan just stopped everything coming his way. And how he didn't get best on amazes me!
When kicking against the wind in the crucial 2nd quarter, and also in the last (when they needed to consolidate early) Deer Park played the grandstand side of the ground where the wind was nowhere near as much of a factor...smart coaching again.
For Parkside it will be always the one that got away-and can never get back!
For Deer Park, their committee now needs to unexpectedly prepare themselves for divy 1 footy. Congrats.

evo your a good stats man and thats all you will ever be if that cat had 37 p's i'll hang me self no hard ball gets and his man won the medal what game were you watching.When he did get it he turned it over but its always hard coach and say go hard ,tackle and put your head over the ball when you wont lead by example just sit back and watch the place self destruct well done deer park the better side won,parkside were out played and out coached

i also heard the radio and the stats they gave were what has been mentioned. But 50 stats in a losing team is still not gonna make any parkside supporter happy.

on a more interesting note - I have heard that Deer Park have already decicded NOT to go to A grade. So does that mean Parkside go up or the relegated team stays in??? I think with how difficult it is for a first year promoted team they should get the choice to stay. Does anyone know the ruling ???

i also heard the radio and the stats they gave were what has been mentioned. But 50 stats in a losing team is still not gonna make any parkside supporter happy.

on a more interesting note - I have heard that Deer Park have already decicded NOT to go to A grade. So does that mean Parkside go up or the relegated team stays in??? I think with how difficult it is for a first year promoted team they should get the choice to stay. Does anyone know the ruling ???

they have to step up wrfl rules

apparently rules are that only have to step up if win second year in row.

league phoned both clubs through week to ask their intentions if they won. they were informed then.

it is considered in best interest of the club

PARKSIDES FAV SONGS TONITE

Dont leave me this way

Down hearted

shannon noll -LIFT

Johnny diesel -crying shame

and to finish off mariah carey -HERO i could of should of

league phoned both clubs through week to ask their intentions if they won. they were informed then.

That rule was brought in when Altona kicked up a stink about going up to div 1 and went through to win 2 div 2 flags in a row.

CONGRATS to Deer Park. An great effort all day and a well deserved victory.
I along with everyone else at the ground thought in the first 30 seconds when krueger kicked it out of the middle and parkside scored that it was going to be a one sided affair but credit to deer park who stuck to their guns and showed that determination and willingness to win will always prevail.

IMO Deer Park would be mad not go up. The first couple of years might be tough, but a once proud A grade club with good juniors and more people moving into the area, now has good clubrooms and facilities and should be in A grade. Flags arent easy to win and you never know if you will win another one.

thats really got to hurt to go through the whole year pretty much smashing every team and then losing to a team that didnt make the top 3. i wonder how much finger pointing and talk of if this bloke did this or didnt do this was said last night at the parkside footy club, im tipping alot. i heard juegan was spruiking on thursday night that parkside will make history having the seniors and the reserves winning the flag underfeated , well you might of just made it by losing.

Nathan Juegan - 2 parkside grandfinal appearences = 2 losses

ahhhhhhhhh who give a rats arse lets celebrate.........NOT WILL we got the cup **** use all............

soory if i offended any 1.........

ive been at the club since 1989...........gee whizz been on the recieving end of a couple of grany losses in the last 10 years or so.........we are a proud div 1 club and will only look out for the long jepordy of the club.........to go up now/next year/year after..........dont care froffies is what im all about.......:D

i will say 1 thing though,............. how shit the beer tasted at parkside last night........ahhhhhhhhhhh

woot woot........ahhhhhhhh

great win......not sure whats happening about div 1 savour the win and as i said my club knows how to deliver against parkside.........herd that parkside had t-shirts and hats made up.......underfeated premiers......ahhhhhh stacks

when it counted on the big stage the team that played as a team won the big 1 to come from 4th was an amazing effort........parkside had a geat year all the best to them........

life's tough when your a loser........though the move to put fenton into the middle in the last half was instramental in the win.....jnr harro not a bad player......

oh well suck it up good luck next year lads......time for some heavy beer;)

I think your spot on Weapons

Game turned around when Fenton when on the ball, He needed to do something cause i think jis abit over rated didnt show much through out the year. but sure did a great job on the big stage when it counts the most.
Thought harrison was lighting, just shows you need youth and pace its not all about experience.
Mackie must be the most improved player this year, prob not the best tap ruckman but gives 100%.
Duggan got to be pick up of the year, was clear 2nd best on ground.

As for Parkside, i personally thought Jurgan was solid, kicked a great goal just on half time. His disposal isnt the best at times but solid player.
On another note maybe playing coach is not a good idea.
I think parkside ran out of legs due to F@rK all rotations.
27- Tanbel
13- Lika
33- Orchard
9- Chett

Would of played 20 mins combined- alot of splinter pulling during mad monday for them
when they did make a change they brought off there 2 best players in Khartibal who looked dangerous early and the youngster # 6 Muntrone who has pace.

Personally thought out coached and more determantion won it for Deer Park

Well thats my summary and know Comp B&F time, could ppl post there top 2 chance and there club B&F results

Personally thought out coached and more determantion won it for Deer Park

Well thats my summary and know Comp B&F time, could ppl post there top 2 chance and there club B&F results

There was a lot of discussion on coac of the year - few ppl said premiership coach automatically gets it - i dont think that it should be premiership coach but it clearly shows that the best coaches dont always have to be the obvious ones. Jamie Madigan has coached a less recognised squad than few other clubs and won flag so desrrves praise. Does this mean Juegan is not good coach just had good side???? I think this brings some credit to sides that have improved undre a coach - therefore Evo, and clubs like wymdamvale, laverton should get some recognition for coaching and not just having big budget and big names.

Also brings up the issue of playing coach - can a coach really play and have ability to make changes when needed too??? good debate topic - my thoughts are only if he has an awesome assist on sidelines who he has empowered to make changes as he sees fit. Which really makes it a dual coaching role.

thoughts?????

Firstly I wish to congratulate Deer Park on a great win. When you have a team during the year go undefeated and only a few games separating 2nd to 6th then the comp is fairly even, and as with Grand Finals, everything that had happened early counts for zero.
IMO:
Juegan was in Parkside 3 best players.
Parkside appeared to take the "worry about our own game" theory to far and payed some DP players no respect (9, 45, 22 and 23) and let them run free and dominate.
Sir going onball allowed uncle fester to roam free around the back half and even sneak forward for a goal (often 3rd man up on Davis)
DP ruck combination looked to try to keep the ball in close where Parkside seemed to hit the ball into space but a different direction every contest.
DP were more physical, and by the end of the game it really opened up for them.
DP did all the things teams need to do, play in front, put body on the line, run hard and straight and didn't wait for someone else to do it It was a good game to watch as far as a contest goes, not alot of people there though.
Oh and it was a pity one of the umpires left his contacts out, he was terrible both ways, but he was consistently bad.
The Parkside bench was not used at all well, and some on their showed their dismay at not being on the ground at times, which can be infectous

There was a lot of discussion on coac of the year - few ppl said premiership coach automatically gets it - i dont think that it should be premiership coach but it clearly shows that the best coaches dont always have to be the obvious ones. Jamie Madigan has coached a less recognised squad than few other clubs and won flag so desrrves praise. Does this mean Juegan is not good coach just had good side???? I think this brings some credit to sides that have improved undre a coach - therefore Evo, and clubs like wymdamvale, laverton should get some recognition for coaching and not just having big budget and big names.

Also brings up the issue of playing coach - can a coach really play and have ability to make changes when needed too??? good debate topic - my thoughts are only if he has an awesome assist on sidelines who he has empowered to make changes as he sees fit. Which really makes it a dual coaching role.

thoughts?????

The last 3 A Grade G/F's at least have had playing coaches both teams

I think your spot on Weapons

Game turned around when Fenton when on the ball, He needed to do something cause i think jis abit over rated didnt show much through out the year. but sure did a great job on the big stage when it counts the most.
Thought harrison was lighting, just shows you need youth and pace its not all about experience.
Mackie must be the most improved player this year, prob not the best tap ruckman but gives 100%.
Duggan got to be pick up of the year, was clear 2nd best on ground.

As for Parkside, i personally thought Jurgan was solid, kicked a great goal just on half time. His disposal isnt the best at times but solid player.
On another note maybe playing coach is not a good idea.
I think parkside ran out of legs due to F@rK all rotations.
27- Tanbel
13- Lika
33- Orchard
9- Chett

Would of played 20 mins combined- alot of splinter pulling during mad monday for them

give a tick to fenton........
give a tick to mackie.....
give a tick to duggan........
give a tick to jnr harro

give a special tick to the kid that got hit hard(no 14) in the 3rd 1/4 an got up and kept going.....

mackie..........gee whizz what a game booga duggan........

i look at the blokes who have lost grannys in the past.......the robos the wardens the rizzo'a the rocky's the skinny's.........stuck around good on them.......again how shit was the taste in the beer last night at parkside.....:eek: