WRFL Div. 2 Season 2008 and Beyond Part III

Massive win Cain, well done.

I went down and had a look at Braybrook and Albanvale. Albanvale completely out played them all over the ground and probably stopped at three quarter time. Noticed there big ruckman sitting on the pine resting during last quarter as game was over.

I must admit i thought it would have beeen alot closer than 92 points, Albanvale looked good but couldnt see Braybrrok making the 5 based on that performance

i was told braybrook had 10 -15 1st players out

who are some of the young kids coming along?

nicko i dont really know there names or numbers... but a few of them were put throught the middle throughout the day... i think one played on the wing too. went in all day and ran hard. with some more development could become very handy senior players for coming years:thumbsu:

Old Knock about, you are correct. Alot of quality players missing out of the Braybrook team. The game wasnt a fair reflection of where we are at. We will be undermanned again this week, so wouldnt be expecting much again from us.
If braybrook drop to many games early it is really goin to make the finals out of reach, plus getting beat by big margins will hurt your percentagd

Yes i agree. But we will not be rushing our players back. We will be atotally different team 2nd half of the season. You would be a brave man to pick us to beat parkside this week. We are pushing s*** uphill this wkend

Old Knock about, you are correct. Alot of quality players missing out of the Braybrook team. The game wasnt a fair reflection of where we are at. We will be undermanned again this week, so wouldnt be expecting much again from us.

Actually it is a good indication. In A2's an indication of how your travelling comes right into play when your depth is tested as it is with every side. It's usually tested at least half way through the season though not this early.

I think everybody realises that braybrook dosent have alot of depth captain. I was merely stating that alot of out better players were missing from the albanvale game.

deer park v nth foots.........deer park by 4 goals.......

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh you crack me up weapons!:thumbsu::thumbsu:

we have a few big names out this week and you still will struggle like a fat kid in P.E:D

ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh you crack me up weapons!:thumbsu::thumbsu:

we have a few big names out this week and you still will struggle like a fat kid in P.E:D

anything wrong with being positive?....deer park to win....i believe nth to be a cocky bunch which comes with winning and not being on the losing end a hell of a lot and i also think we will have your measure in terms of goal scoring options......

i was skinny back then......:eek:

anything wrong with being positive?....deer park to win....i believe nth to be a cocky bunch which comes with winning and not being on the losing end a hell of a lot and i also think we will have your measure in terms of goal scoring options......

talking of skinny - heard rumuor he might be back as quick as this week if clearnace put in quick enough - any truth weapons???

also heard that only 1 Divvy 1 Reserve game is gettin field umpires a week. if they lose 2 or more umpires Divvy 2 seniors games will not all be covered. As WRFL policy says league umpires cant umpire with a club umpire it means 2 club umpires in some senior games - should be interesting - especially giving B and F votes. Seeing as clubs cant even get Cains goals correct hate to see the mess wiht the votes!!!!!!!!

How'd Luke Summers go? Is he fit or injured?

talking of skinny - heard rumuor he might be back as quick as this week if clearnace put in quick enough - any truth weapons???

also heard that only 1 Divvy 1 Reserve game is gettin field umpires a week. if they lose 2 or more umpires Divvy 2 seniors games will not all be covered. As WRFL policy says league umpires cant umpire with a club umpire it means 2 club umpires in some senior games - should be interesting - especially giving B and F votes. Seeing as clubs cant even get Cains goals correct hate to see the mess wiht the votes!!!!!!!!

was seen at training on tues night........

i umpired our 2's a couple of weeks back and didnt do any votes........surely the league goal umpires keep an eye on the votes

was seen at training on tues night........

i umpired our 2's a couple of weeks back and didnt do any votes........surely the league goal umpires keep an eye on the votes

It's only round 5, so a bit disappointing if Skinny has already thrown in the towel with the Cats.

As for the Lions knocking over North by 4 goals Weapons, I guess we will see what happens on Saturday. Your fitness is obviously a query so I hope your boys can keep up.

It's only round 5, so a bit disappointing if Skinny has already thrown in the towel with the Cats.

As for the Lions knocking over North by 4 goals Weapons, I guess we will see what happens on Saturday. Your fitness is obviously a query so I hope your boys can keep up.

hahaha no worries mate i just like stirring the pot......

good luck

also heard that only 1 Divvy 1 Reserve game is gettin field umpires a week. if they lose 2 or more umpires Divvy 2 seniors games will not all be covered. As WRFL policy says league umpires cant umpire with a club umpire it means 2 club umpires in some senior games - should be interesting - especially giving B and F votes. Seeing as clubs cant even get Cains goals correct hate to see the mess wiht the votes!!!!!!!![/quote]

dont u love what the wrfl dish up to the clubs that pay their way and do everything by their rules...u have to use our food and drink suppliers (who charge an arm and a leg), u have to buy jumpers thru our people (12 week wait on jumpers), u have to buy ur club shorts off us (8 week wait because they ran out of material...ha ha...what clothing manufacturer runs out of material???), u have to pay our way for umpires, u have got the highest club league costs in victoria, u have to play with our sponsors footballs (worst ball known to man), u cant question anything we do cos we wont give u an answer we will jnust punish ur club....aqnd even after all this they cant even provide us with the one thing we need to play our beloved game UMPIRES.....
we are the only league in victoria that has had fewer umpire numbers every year for the last 4 years..... wrfl is the only league that doesnt offer mediation resolution for clubs and players and umpires, all they throiw at us is we cant get umpires it is very hard in this area....heaven for bid anyone has an issue with their snag watchin umpire coach terry gunn,NO contact allowed cant say a word cos its to the detriment of the league and umpiring recruits....
why is it that every other league in this state can grow their umpire numbers and have consistant and improving umpires and young kid umpires but terry and his light fingered wrfl ,mates cant find any.......... not enough money towards early development and recruiting was one thing i was told....well terry why dont u give up some of your pay to put into finding them as if u look into ur original job description i believe that ur position like those of every other league is based on performance and numbers.... wrfl and terry pull ya head out of eacch others and the afl ass stop 'cookin the books' and start admitting that u have gone wrong somewhere in the last few years.......we dont care so much if it is not working but as long as we see that things are changing and there is processes in place for improvment then we can start from somewhere.

wrfl i have offered my help with penaluna years ago and things were lookin to be on the improve back then but turned to shit now....actually by the standard of umpires and boundary umpires and their knowledge of the rules now it is much worse, i have offered my help again early this week and the wrfl dont seem to think there is a problem...only from the way we as clubs or a club acts they say..... the ball is in your court wrfl.

just quickly guys too i may be wrong???? b ut i believe that if the league dont provide us with umpires then clubs would be entitled to that weeks share of their yearly league fees back as in the fees comes officiating charges????? just a thought

tribunal is an absolute joke.... unproffesional and hopefully sdomeone has the money and the balls to appeal their process cos the wrfl would be laughed out of court. where is our money going wrfl????

vales to be alot better this week to boys lol

dont u love what the wrfl dish up to the clubs that pay their way and do everything by their rules...u have to use our food and drink suppliers (who charge an arm and a leg), u have to buy jumpers thru our people (12 week wait on jumpers), u have to buy ur club shorts off us (8 week wait because they ran out of material...ha ha...what clothing manufacturer runs out of material???), u have to pay our way for umpires, u have got the highest club league costs in victoria, u have to play with our sponsors footballs (worst ball known to man), u cant question anything we do cos we wont give u an answer we will jnust punish ur club....aqnd even after all this they cant even provide us with the one thing we need to play our beloved game UMPIRES.....
we are the only league in victoria that has had fewer umpire numbers every year for the last 4 years..... wrfl is the only league that doesnt offer mediation resolution for clubs and players and umpires, all they throiw at us is we cant get umpires it is very hard in this area....heaven for bid anyone has an issue with their snag watchin umpire coach terry gunn,NO contact allowed cant say a word cos its to the detriment of the league and umpiring recruits....
why is it that every other league in this state can grow their umpire numbers and have consistant and improving umpires and young kid umpires but terry and his light fingered wrfl ,mates cant find any.......... not enough money towards early development and recruiting was one thing i was told....well terry why dont u give up some of your pay to put into finding them as if u look into ur original job description i believe that ur position like those of every other league is based on performance and numbers.... wrfl and terry pull ya head out of eacch others and the afl ass stop 'cookin the books' and start admitting that u have gone wrong somewhere in the last few years.......we dont care so much if it is not working but as long as we see that things are changing and there is processes in place for improvment then we can start from somewhere.

wrfl i have offered my help with penaluna years ago and things were lookin to be on the improve back then but turned to shit now....actually by the standard of umpires and boundary umpires and their knowledge of the rules now it is much worse, i have offered my help again early this week and the wrfl dont seem to think there is a problem...only from the way we as clubs or a club acts they say..... the ball is in your court wrfl.

just quickly guys too i may be wrong???? b ut i believe that if the league dont provide us with umpires then clubs would be entitled to that weeks share of their yearly league fees back as in the fees comes officiating charges????? just a thought

tribunal is an absolute joke.... unproffesional and hopefully sdomeone has the money and the balls to appeal their process cos the wrfl would be laughed out of court. where is our money going wrfl????

vales to be alot better this week to boys lol[/quote]

I see your a very passionate man and its good to see mate. Not sure your going to get far by getting on hear tho. The league is one i have played most of my football in and a league i love, but it is one of the worst run and i would just about agree with everything you said.

The footballs are an absoulte disgrace. A trades man never blames his tools but all A grade league should use the best footballs avalible. I have played in leagues that use Sherrins and it improves the game and skill level by atleast %20.

There better to mark, you can kick them 10 meters further, and you hit targets with alot more ease. These football they use are a disgrace and are rock hard, have pointy ends and move around in the air and dont travel anywhere as near as far as a sherrin.

The umpring is a diffucult one as the umpires i think do there best and have a diffucult job to do and we should do our best to work with them not against them. I know when the umpires are put under pressure they tend to get nervous and pay more silly free kicks.

I think the supporters and players in the WRFL give the umpiries to much grief and there needs to be more respect show towards all umpires in genreal. There a vital part of our game and they probally need better coaching and mentoring but at the end of the day both teams have to deal with them so my advice would be get in first for the football and u should genreally get a good go from the umpires.

I think giving league votes would be a diffucult job by the umpires. They really need acess to stats and goalkickers etc to really give an accurate 3, 2 and 1 vote on Saturdays matches.

Over the years i have seen some massive games by individuals where they where clearly BOG and recive 0 votes. One game i guy who played for us got 3 and was on the bench most of the game.

Clubs really need to lift there proffesionalism as well on and off the field. Yarra only started taking Stats and i cant belive that not all clubs do Stats. Its a vital part of Analising a team and indicidual performaces.

Most Div 1 clubs do Stats and also a few A grade clubs do Video Analisis which is the best form of player and team devolpment in my opinion. Video Camera are cheap and to get someone to tape the game is not hard at all.

I agree the umpiring is well below Par but dont think critising is the answer at all. Clubs should endevour to get along as best the can with Umps and treat them with respect and remember we all love this game, but its only a game.

Good Luck on the weekend hope to see the Vales with a Victory soon. On a another Note, Deer Park are a good team and there a developing team and i would suggest to all teams be on your game against them and if they beat a top 4 team i would not be suprised at all. :thumbsu:

actually by the standard of umpires and boundary umpires and their knowledge of the rules now it is much worse, lol

Evo, very passionate. I hope you can use that passion to get some changes in the way the league is run. I must admit that the umpiring in the 4 games that I have been involved in this season has been ok. There is a fair chance that that is due to luck rather than good management.

I also agree with the statement above. Here are 2 examples.

In round one when I asked the umpires before the game if some of the new AFL rules were in play and they didn't know. They said they would check and come back in and let me know... didn't see them again. How could they not know the rules that were being used?

In Round 2 an opposition player was called to play on from full back when kicking out. He walked the ball back over the line. According to the rules this is a ball up at the top of the square. The umpire just paid a point. I knew the rule and yelled out to the umpire. Unfortunately I made the mistake of swearing so the umpire then paid a 50 against us.

After the game I asked the umpire about it and to his credit he admitted that he had made a mistake and that the umpires had to pull therule book out at half time to check what the rule was:confused::confused: You would think that knowing the rules would be the minimum requirement for an umpire.

You cant expect a suburban umpire to know every rule otherwise if he did then he would be umpiring AFL or on his way. I assume you have a car license and like everyone that has there license I also assume that you got a perfect score on the road rules test. I would even go as far as saying you know ALL the road rules I mean you would think knowing the road rules are the minimum requirement for driving a car

The bottom line is that the umpires although not professional are being paid to do a job and they should know the rules. There are not that many rules to remember.

If that happened to your team when you were 2 points down with 30 seconds to go in a GF would you be happy to just say "Oh well you cant expect them to know everything"? I doubt it

I think giving league votes would be a diffucult job by the umpires. They really need acess to stats and goalkickers etc to really give an accurate 3, 2 and 1 vote on Saturdays matches.

Cain you really want them to rely on your stats man??? dint he rob you two goals other week??? ha ha ha. think when comes to games stats dont mean best - think Footy Confidential used to do a 5,4,3,2,1 from each coach to get best. Think this works best as they see game, have feel for game and can see a good job someone has done that outsiders might not notice. if someone keeps you to 3 possies in your next game i am sure both coaches would consider that a top game.

I know Stats are not a true indication of best players but in this league you have to earn your kicks and if someone has 30 plus times he would be in my opinion one of the better players on the ground(providing he is efficent).

I am just saying the umpires would have no idea who had had what possesion wise and alot of the time would be making calculated guesses in there aprasial of the 3,2 and 1 voteing system for league B&F.

Our stats man needs to stay of the piss and keep his eye on the game lol.:thumbsu: