WRFL Div. 2 Season 2008 and Beyond

weapons have to agree with others on here. i would not consider blooding the kids thru the 2s. they would play a better standard of footy in the 16B or even Cs then in the magoos. older players tend to take advantage of the kids' and try to hurt them on occasions. seniors is definitly the way to go if they have th ability, and i dont think necessarily the ability to be in the absolute best 21 for that week but show enough potential to be a gun for the club in a few years time.

did i just post that if they are good enough let em have a crack..........in the one's........????? ruby jane you post once every week you are from albanvale i just hope your not the ressies coach.........????just stick to that.........i say......
any way im sure the players in the ressies would stand up for the young blokes.........yer we dont get the umpire's in the ressies and if something did happen all players would get up the opposition player who is out of line........

how old is that borg who played in your 2's 16???? there we go.........

did i just post that if they are good enough let em have a crack..........in the one's........????? ruby jane you post once every week you are from albanvale i just hope your not the ressies coach.........????just stick to that.........i say......
any way im sure the players in the ressies would stand up for the young blokes.........yer we dont get the umpire's in the ressies and if something did happen all players would get up the opposition player who is out of line........

Borg is 19 mate, first year out of under 18s.

Firstly weapons, I didnt think there was a certain amount of times you needed to post per week. I only feel the need to post when I have something to say.
You are partially right in regards to being from Albanvale but not ressies coach although I do follow the 2's as I have a mate in there ressies.
Catania and Brooks are the only under age kids there and I dont think either have played in the 2's

Firstly weapons, I didnt think there was a certain amount of times you needed to post per week. I only feel the need to post when I have something to say.
You are partially right in regards to being from Albanvale but not ressies coach although I do follow the 2's as I have a mate in there ressies.
Catania and Brooks are the only under age kids there and I dont think either have played in the 2's

well worry about your club and what its doing and ill worry about mine........you guys are the pretenders of the wrfl div 2..........

partialy......what about what i said about the older guys sticking up for the younger kids........im sure it would happen at your club.......would at ours........plus to be honest there aint much thuggery going around now in the ressies any way.......these kids would be too quick and skillfull at div 2 res level.......

you only seem to reply to me............go bother shepherd me............
then your coach was telling porky pies the night we all rocked down........

i mentioned it a few months ago. Sunshine heights picked up a talent in Scalzo. People questioned his game against the big spider last time they met, but the BIG SCALZ delivered big time being named in the best with his direct opponent being big spider. DaVinci knows talent. Wait til finals come around and we get to se him on the big stage!

yeah big scalz has been a big plus for us this year. its taken some time for him to get some fitness under his belt and get used to the way his new team mates play, but he is getting better and better and will be a key player come finals time.

Whats going on with Parkside, they still have some good players running around?

They certainly do. Davis, Tyrell, Juegan and a young bloke named Eason-Jones. Unfortunatley the other 17 are not up to scratch.

I also think that alot of Div one people underestimate the level of the top 2 or 3 teams in Div 2. North Footscray, Sunny Heights and possibly Albanvale would be competitive with Altona and Glenorden and beat West and Yarra by 10 goals.

Parkside were the standard of Yarraville last season and have not improved which puts them in the middle of Div 2.

*Apologies to Ali Taleb. Saw him play about 3 weeks back and although he is nowhere near his best he has a big heart and is still servicable

Dark day for the Deer Park Football Club yesterday.

I know they were undermanned - Rocky, Dipper and Madigan didn't play but they were absolutely pathetic in the reserves and seniors.

Basically gave up from the start. Difficult to put in words as you probably had to be there to witness it.

In the magoos, they basically tried to chip it around. Even when they were 80 points down were kicking backwards, time wasting etc. Refused to kick to contests and try and place some pressure on. Not sure if they were playing for percentage, but it was woeful.

In the seniors, it was probably even worse. The wind had died down slightly from the earlier game, but DP were kicking to the scoring end. What did they do? Played with only two forwards and put two men loose behind the ball. Not sure why they wouldn't have a crack. They have to beat SHeights or North Footscray to make the finals so why not try. You would rather lose by 100 at least attacking and trying to score, rather than do a 'Joel Bowden' and on about 5 occasions.

The North Footscray crowd were booing DP for their negative attitude and refusal to 'play'. I have never seen such a dismal effort from a WRFL club. Shame DP shame.

Best for North IMO were Hayden Phillips, Mick Drew and Gary Gath.

They certainly do. Davis, Tyrell, Juegan and a young bloke named Eason-Jones. Unfortunatley the other 17 are not up to scratch.

I also think that alot of Div one people underestimate the level of the top 2 or 3 teams in Div 2. North Footscray, Sunny Heights and possibly Albanvale would be competitive with Altona and Glenorden and beat West and Yarra by 10 goals.

Parkside were the standard of Yarraville last season and have not improved which puts them in the middle of Div 2.

*Apologies to Ali Taleb. Saw him play about 3 weeks back and although he is nowhere near his best he has a big heart and is still servicable

this guy has been an absolute gun for parkside over the years was one of the best on ballers in div 1 for a long time and instrumental in parks flags over the last 10 or so years, great effort to stick around through a tough period for his club along with juegan and davis :thumbsu:

Ladder After Round 16
1 NORTH FOOTSCRAY 16 14 2 0 0 0 2340 976 239.75 56
2 SUNSHINE HEIGHTS 16 14 2 0 0 0 2441 1029 237.22 56
3 ALBANVALE 16 12 4 0 0 0 1989 1197 166.17 48
4 DEER PARK 16 8 8 0 0 0 1646 1523 108.08 32
5 COBURG DISTRICTS 16 8 8 0 0 0 1579 1473 107.20 32

6 PARKSIDE 16 8 8 0 0 0 1614 1529 105.56 32
7 BRAYBROOK 16 7 9 0 0 0 1807 1600 112.94 28
8 WESTERN MAGPIES 16 7 9 0 0 0 1337 1488 89.85 28
9 NORTH SUNSHINE 16 1 15 0 0 0 906 2291 39.55 4
10 WYNDHAMVALE 16 1 15 0 0 0 471 3024 15.58 4

Last Uploaded : Sun 27-Jul-2008 18:33:46

Next weekend games include Wyndhamvale vs Nth Foots, West Magpies vs Albanvale, Sunshine Heights vs Deer Park, Parkside vs Nth Sunshine and Coburg vs Braybrook. I think winner of coburg and braybrook will finish 5th as deer park wont beat heights and parkside will defeat north sunshine. Braybrook are hurting from wasted chances on Sat and will come out and defeat coburg for a spot in the 5.

Dark day for the Deer Park Football Club yesterday.

I know they were undermanned - Rocky, Dipper and Madigan didn't play but they were absolutely pathetic in the reserves and seniors.

Basically gave up from the start. Difficult to put in words as you probably had to be there to witness it.

In the magoos, they basically tried to chip it around. Even when they were 80 points down were kicking backwards, time wasting etc. Refused to kick to contests and try and place some pressure on. Not sure if they were playing for percentage, but it was woeful.

In the seniors, it was probably even worse. The wind had died down slightly from the earlier game, but DP were kicking to the scoring end. What did they do? Played with only two forwards and put two men loose behind the ball. Not sure why they wouldn't have a crack. They have to beat SHeights or North Footscray to make the finals so why not try. You would rather lose by 100 at least attacking and trying to score, rather than do a 'Joel Bowden' and on about 5 occasions.

The North Footscray crowd were booing DP for their negative attitude and refusal to 'play'. I have never seen such a dismal effort from a WRFL club. Shame DP shame.

Best for North IMO were Hayden Phillips, Mick Drew and Gary Gath.

i was waiting for your reply.......
hahahaha......i would like to say 1 thing.......can some 1 put us out of our misery......beaten by a total of 35 goals the last 3 weeks and still have gone up 1 spot on the ladder........hahahahahaha

funny you say pathetic in the seconds......it was our 4th's side........cant wait till we play you's again in the finals if we do im tipping it might be a bit different....as albanvale are your bogey side when it comes to finals........nth scored 9 in the first 1/4 and 9 to 5 after 1/4 time........we had a crack dont worry about that.........after 1/4 time......yes too late but can definately say we had a dip.......and didnt put blokes behind the ball........we didnt switch on to all your hang outs earlier enough which cost us........33 41 hangout specialists.......

GOOSE OF THE DAY.........AFRO MAN WILLIAMS........WHAT A DILL.......HOPE HE GETS 3 OR 4.......and love the spray he got at 1/2 time.......

another thing from what i witnessed heights would've smacked the team we had out on the park by 50 goals.......nth are soft and dont like it when it gets a bit physical.......mint was dissapointing turning the ball over at every oportunity.......young bloke 39 was your best easily........

I think i may have to agree with Weapons to some extent..

We have been blooding our under 18's all year through the ones and twos and i think it has paid off. Last year we blooded some of the better under 18's in the seniors and they were ready for it this year. What im saying is that previous experience does help the under 18's as im an under 18 myself and have played some games in the ones i think its great and a good experience.

But also then again i would say the skills in the under 18's are better (believe it or not) than Division 2 seniors. Seniors is just more physical and more of a scrap which takes a bit of adjusting.
Div 2 football is a joke. But to say the skills in 18c football is better - that a bigger joke! fair dinkum the better teams that I have seen in the 16As would wipe the floor with ANY 18c team.

hahahaha......i would like to say 1 thing.......can some 1 put us out of our misery......beaten by a total of 35 goals the last 3 weeks and still have gone up 1 spot on the ladder........hahahahahaha

funny you say pathetic in the seconds......it was our 4th's side........cant wait till we play you's again in the finals if we do im tipping it might be a bit different....as albanvale are your bogey side when it comes to finals........nth scored 9 in the first 1/4 and 9 to 5 after 1/4 time........we had a crack dont worry about that.........after 1/4 time......yes too late but can definately say we had a dip.......and didnt put blokes behind the ball........we didnt switch on to all your hang outs earlier enough which cost us........33 41 hangout specialists.......

GOOSE OF THE DAY.........AFRO MAN WILLIAMS........WHAT A DILL.......HOPE HE GETS 3 OR 4.......and love the spray he got at 1/2 time.......

another thing from what i witnessed heights would've smacked the team we had out on the park by 50 goals.......nth are soft and dont like it when it gets a bit physical.......mint was dissapointing turning the ball over at every oportunity.......young bloke 39 was your best easily........

yeah i agree mate - had an ordinary day out. First Q was good i had alot of it and all was effective but the next 3 were very bad by my standards. Thanks for noticing:eek:

couple of things here weapons. Williams didnt get a spray at half time. The whole team did because we had a very ordinary day we were told that we have bigger things to worry about.. and this brings me to my second point..

I have played a lot of football in both div 1 and div 2 across many leauges and i can tell you that there is a big difference between HARD FOOTBALL and DIRTY FOOTBALL.

North are by no way soft. every player in that side will go in and get a hard ball.. some do get pushed aside because of there youth but they still go in for the nut. North do NOT play DIRTY FOOTBALL. Just because our players have no interest in fighting or throwing punches in packs DOES not make us soft. we have bigger things that we are trying to achieve other than tryng to punch on with people on the ground.... its alot harder to get the nut than hooking blokes..hence the difference between HARD and DIRTY football.

as for dale williams ... how can you say he deserves what he gets ? the DP people were spruiking off all day over the fence and your players were trying to throw them at him from the start of the game.. he let it go and i broke it up a couple times .. then your players in their wisdom try and punch him up and he stands his ground and now his a dog ?? you cant have it both ways dude.. first were soft and now we stand our ground and we are dogs ??

yeah i agree mate - had an ordinary day out. First Q was good i had alot of it and all was effective but the next 3 were very bad by my standards. Thanks for noticing:eek:

couple of things here weapons. Williams didnt get a spray at half time. The whole team did because we had a very ordinary day we were told that we have bigger things to worry about.. and this brings me to my second point..

I have played a lot of football in both div 1 and div 2 across many leauges and i can tell you that there is a big difference between HARD FOOTBALL and DIRTY FOOTBALL.

North are by no way soft. every player in that side will go in and get a hard ball.. some do get pushed aside because of there youth but they still go in for the nut. North do NOT play DIRTY FOOTBALL. Just because our players have no interest in fighting or throwing punches in packs DOES not make us soft. we have bigger things that we are trying to achieve other than tryng to punch on with people on the ground.... its alot harder to get the nut than hooking blokes..hence the difference between HARD and DIRTY football.

as for dale williams ... how can you say he deserves what he gets ? the DP people were spruiking off all day over the fence and your players were trying to throw them at him from the start of the game.. he let it go and i broke it up a couple times .. then your players in their wisdom try and punch him up and he stands his ground and now his a dog ?? you cant have it both ways dude.. first were soft and now we stand our ground and we are dogs ??

good reply.........

it goes both ways with the spruiking and booing dont u think? i thought the nth crowd was dissapointing as we had nothing to cheer about...........

it was just a push and shove at first lets be realistic and him throwing the first punch hence why he was reported started the little melee our blokes were just flying the flag which i cant ague with........end of the day he should know better cause yes you guys do have alot to play for.......

never said and never will call any 1 a dog cause its a low act........

p.s.......you did alright it would have been hard and frustrating to find the footy with the game plan we (tried) to implement..........

cheers

Speaking of dogs - watched the Cobras V CD - Number 4 and 16 CD were the dirtiest players ive seen. its a shame these guys dont get reported. Every time a cobra went in a pack No:4 CD would be pulling hair and giving them cheap ones - then big unco ruckman 16 would throw himself on and lay some too. Gonna get caught one day.

Weapons...seriously mate....have just spilled my coffee over the keyboard with some of the dribble you carry on with. Go away and wipe your chin!

Soft? We won by 20 goals! What does that make Deer Park?

Soft is not having a crack and trying to win a game. That is what the entire DP football club did on Saturday.

Williams was stiff and hopefully he will get off. No.80 from DP had about 10 swings at him (and somehow didn't get reported). People love to get into him because of his hair and statue, but he is actually a quiet, reserved young guy.

Speaking of dogs - watched the Cobras V CD - Number 4 and 16 CD were the dirtiest players ive seen. its a shame these guys dont get reported. Every time a cobra went in a pack No:4 CD would be pulling hair and giving them cheap ones - then big unco ruckman 16 would throw himself on and lay some too. Gonna get caught one day.

Yep no worries tool .. were you watchin through you cobra glasses were you .. the cobras did ok themselves out there and the number 4 you speak of prob retaliated after he took the cobras number 14's elbow out of his face !!!

Make sure you watch properly before you start calling people dogs on here you blowfly ... :thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

You wanna take your rose-coloured glasses off ? As for dirty players tell me what Wingy and Adam Borg where doing most of the day.....yeah thats right dishing it out....what goes around comes around

There is no doubt that Wingy is the dirtiest player in the comp. He used to be a hard at it player that occasionally went the man but since coming back this season has turned into a sniper. Often runs past the ball to try and clean up players and always leads with the elbows. Also shirks the issue when it is his turn to keep his head over it.

I am sure that Karm will disput this but Iam also sure that there will be plenty of thers on here that will back me up

There is no doubt that Wingy is the dirtiest player in the comp. He used to be a hard at it player that occasionally went the man but since coming back this season has turned into a sniper. Often runs past the ball to try and clean up players and always leads with the elbows. Also shirks the issue when it is his turn to keep his head over it.

I am sure that Karm will disput this but Iam also sure that there will be plenty of thers on here that will back me up

To say that he is the dirtiest player is a big call. I believe opposition clubs have an oppinion of him as being dirty due to his hardness, by that I mean when he tackles you he tackles you with everything an when he lays a sheperd he throws everything into it as a coburg player would still be feeling from Saturday but everything was tucked in and nobody came to remunstrate as it was fair.
I think your oppinions would be different if he was playing at your club.

To say that he is the dirtiest player is a big call. I believe opposition clubs have an oppinion of him as being dirty due to his hardness, by that I mean when he tackles you he tackles you with everything an when he lays a sheperd he throws everything into it as a coburg player would still be feeling from Saturday but everything was tucked in and nobody came to remunstrate as it was fair.
I think your oppinions would be different if he was playing at your club.

Not relly. Used to be known as a hard player but now has a reputation as a dirty sniper.

Anyone else care to weigh in with an opinion?

Wingy's just angry full stop, cause his got red hair, or as they say strawberry blondie.
Other than that plays it hard then enjoys having a beer with you after the game.

Weapons...seriously mate....have just spilled my coffee over the keyboard with some of the dribble you carry on with. Go away and wipe your chin!

Soft? We won by 20 goals! What does that make Deer Park?

Soft is not having a crack and trying to win a game. That is what the entire DP football club did on Saturday.

Williams was stiff and hopefully he will get off. No.80 from DP had about 10 swings at him (and somehow didn't get reported). People love to get into him because of his hair and statue, but he is actually a quiet, reserved young guy.

hope you didnt burn yourself........

he wont get off.......with the tribunal being the way it has this year.......we wont be helping him out......cause he is a dill.........
lets be honest we were with the team we had out on the park were never going to win the game....both side's....is that being soft.........? i think its being realistic.........and our ladder possie hasnt changed so it work a little........dont know about this week though.........

heights for premiers by 10 goals.........