WRFL Division 1 - 2013

Offering money and paying money are two separate issues however money is no problem at Altona. They have heaps.

Strong rumour is Altona have paid Albion to clear them

Being a Albion man and pretty close to the Stephens boys its a bit disappointing they have left as they are the sort of players we need right now and could build a forward line around. James 24 and Sam 20 they both have BIG futures in the WRFL and I'm spewing it won't be with the cats

The Stephens boy's stuck it out as long as they could, at the end of the day they had to weigh up their future, go to a strong well run club or stay at Rabble. They will form strong relationships in a couple of weeks at Altona and Albion will not cross their thoughts again.
Hard to feel sympathy for Albion after they spruiked so hard after buying their flag a couple of years ago, mate that coach left without coaching another game, surely the warning bells must've been ring then

The Stephens boy's stuck it out as long as they could, at the end of the day they had to weigh up their future, go to a strong well run club or stay at Rabble. They will form strong relationships in a couple of weeks at Altona and Albion will not cross their thoughts again.
Hard to feel sympathy for Albion after they spruiked so hard after buying their flag a couple of years ago, mate that coach left without coaching another game, surely the warning bells must've been ring then

Youre got to be joking......they stuck there hands outs, thats the only thing!
They were the future of the club, Cats could of built a future around them but when the going got tough they took off (half way through last year)! In the end they were probably spewing they didnt leave with the rest of the merceniaries at the end of 2011! But in saying that, good on them and i wish them luck, if they told the Cattery they were looking at moving on and playing with mates at the end of the year, there would be no bad feeling between the club and the brothers. Could of left on good terms instead of disrespectful text msgs!!!

Now on the rabble part...which club are you from?? Wont get in a tit for tat about what club is better but aleast have some respect. Albion may have spent big to win a GF, which payed off on the intention but are also the first to put there hand up and say that it could have been dealt with a bit better!

Cats have been playing kids for the last 18 months, all of which will become good senior footballers in time. (Stephens brothers would of been a major boost to the team if they were playing, most say that they were the difference in the game against YC).

Will they get a regular game Altona? If so, who do they push out? Haven't seen them play for a while so its a legitimate question.

Hard to feel sympathy for Albion after they spruiked so hard after buying their flag a couple of years ago, mate that coach left without coaching another game, surely the warning bells must've been ring

Hahaha brought a flag, we had half that 2010 premiership side filled with home grown Albion boys mate
So which club are you from??

Should common sense have prevailed?
Michael Lindsay, a player of our club (Laverton), brought up though the Juniors and Seniors, was 3 seasons ago recruited by the then coach of the Albanvale FC, David Connell. ML wasnt keen to move to Yarraville in 2012 and played a partial season of football in the Riddell League. 2013 arrives and once again DC is keen to acquire his services to which ML signs a contract. On realising the commitment that would be required of a 1st division player ML decided not to pursue his career there. On getting itchy feet ML decides he just wants to have a kick with his mates back at Laverton.
Wind the Clock back just over 12 months and 2 Laverton players who had been courted by DC, decide that their time at Laverton had expired and made the move to Yarraville (without monetary or product compensation), with the clubs blessing, and go on to become Yarraville Senior Premiership players.
Not only that, due to Yarravilles lack of accredited trainers in the 2012 finals, a Laverton trainer was approached to give them a helping hand., which he happily did.
Now, for Yarraville to demand 8 new Sherrins for the release of ML from his contract to be cleared back to his original club, i personally think, it is an absolute disgrace and common sense should of prevailed.
Am i right or wrong?

Choofa, id like to give my spin on things if i could? Its great to be back after a bit of a stint in the dark, as it seems lost passwords arent that easy to re obtain. Firstly the party in question knew quite clearly of his requirements when he signed at yarraville. Like any normal human, verbal agreements, handshakes, contracts, are there to be honored, am i correct? You cant promise the world and deliver an atlas.
I was told personally, and along with the coaching staff, that football was no longer an interest and that his personal life was priority. To find him training back at merton st the very next week? If it had of been me calling the shots it wouldve been 20 footys and another 10 weeks. I was quite relieved when it all came about as i had limited faith he'd be an asset to our club going forward from the beginning.
As for the compensations, thats apparently the language of modern day local footy choofa, as you can see as of late with the altona, albion, stevens brothers saga. Its not un common. If my memory serves me correctly, my club actually found themselves in a similar situation with hoppers, whilst recruiting one of their players early doors, where footys were a part of the compensation to complete the transaction.
Getting to the other raised topic, i see your argument to a degree, but with all due respect, myself and the team mate in question, along with a former team mate from albion, decided to all play at yarraville off our own backs, for little and in my case no money, with minimal luring or poaching from the coach staff or committee. Myself mainly because it was/is my home and family club, and the other two for change and the chance of success. None of us had existing contracts, so getting clearances couldnt have been an issue. It was all straight forward, and very different to the situation of late.
As for the trainer in question, its no secret it was my doing, as he is a close friend of mine, and knowing he could do with the extra income being a student, so really if anyone is to blame, its me, one, for persuing the above players and trainer, and two, putting the ideas forward to the club.
Speculation can sometimes mislead people.

Weapons - are you still on your diet?

Karim13 - are you still sniping blokes from behind?

TTT

Choofa, id like to give my spin on things if i could? Its great to be back after a bit of a stint in the dark, as it seems lost passwords arent that easy to re obtain. Firstly the party in question knew quite clearly of his requirements when he signed at yarraville. Like any normal human, verbal agreements, handshakes, contracts, are there to be honored, am i correct? You cant promise the world and deliver an atlas.
I was told personally, and along with the coaching staff, that football was no longer an interest and that his personal life was priority. To find him training back at merton st the very next week? If it had of been me calling the shots it wouldve been 20 footys and another 10 weeks. I was quite relieved when it all came about as i had limited faith he'd be an asset to our club going forward from the beginning.
As for the compensations, thats apparently the language of modern day local footy choofa, as you can see as of late with the altona, albion, stevens brothers saga. Its not un common. If my memory serves me correctly, my club actually found themselves in a similar situation with hoppers, whilst recruiting one of their players early doors, where footys were a part of the compensation to complete the transaction.
Getting to the other raised topic, i see your argument to a degree, but with all due respect, myself and the team mate in question, along with a former team mate from albion, decided to all play at yarraville off our own backs, for little and in my case no money, with minimal luring or poaching from the coach staff or committee. Myself mainly because it was/is my home and family club, and the other two for change and the chance of success. None of us had existing contracts, so getting clearances couldnt have been an issue. It was all straight forward, and very different to the situation of late.
As for the trainer in question, its no secret it was my doing, as he is a close friend of mine, and knowing he could do with the extra income being a student, so really if anyone is to blame, its me, one, for persuing the above players and trainer, and two, putting the ideas forward to the club.

TTT
Its not an argument mate, its an opinion, (and of course you would click like)

Yeah
Its not an argument mate, its an opinion, (and of course you would click like)

Yeah youre right, and youre entitled to it. Thats cool mate. Its all water under the bridge at my end.
To add, i probably wouldve ended up supplying the footys myself to make sure the clearance went though. Lol I just wanted to clear the air and make it known that it wasnt anything other than business from the clubs perspective. As you have to understand, and you being a businessman yourself, that the loss of the player in question at that particular time of the year restricted us from potentially recruiting another player earlier on, and being able to offer the match payments secured in the current contract of the player mentioned. Personally i think it was about 250% more than what he was worth, but It wouldve been handy in my claw may i add as business times are tough due to the weather and health. Thats alot of steamed dimmies choofa.

Surely you and laverton magpies are mates again? :D

TTT

Yeah

Yeah youre right, and youre entitled to it. Thats cool mate. Its all water under the bridge at my end.
To add, i probably wouldve ended up supplying the footys myself to make sure the clearance went though. Lol I just wanted to clear the air and make it known that it wasnt anything other than business from the clubs perspective. As you have to understand, and you being a businessman yourself, that the loss of the player in question at that particular time of the year restricted us from potentially recruiting another player earlier on, and being able to offer the match payments secured in the current contract of the player mentioned. Personally i think it was about 250% more than what he was worth, but It wouldve been handy in my claw may i add as business times are tough due to the weather and health. Thats alot of steamed dimmies choofa.

Surely you and laverton magpies are mates again? :D

TTT
:footy::footy::footy::footy::footy::footy::footy::footy: :D no comment

TTT
Well said TTT. Very eloquently put. You certainly have come a long way the last few years my man.

Rabble? Love to know what club you're from?

Interesting that Altona paid Cash to get clearances for 2 players that Eames said he didn't even want....Especially when james hasn't played since injuring his knee and sam is out for the year....
Big problems in this comp with mercenary footballers.
More 50 goal floggings will destroy the comp and its reputation.

you might wanna pass this website onto you coach :p

http://www.foxfootyclubrewards.com.au/rewards

Thats very witty of you choofa, i expect nothing less from a man of great intelligence. Couldnt help but to lol. We are still two down after giving hoppers ten to complete a deal. So I have a proposition, give us another two, supply the beers and steamed dimmies and ill bring my expert skills and premiership winning experience down to training one night at merton street to give the group a bit of inspiration. Id be happy to sign jumpers and photos for the kids. Get back to me mate. ;)

Much love TTT

Heard some stuff coming out of Hoppers couple days ago and i was surprised even though some of the stuff that has gone down at that club in the last 5 years it was always going to happen one day.

I am surprised because it seemed the club was getting back on track and having the young blokes enjoying there time there which was not always the case.

Heard a fair few senior players will be leaving the club at years end.

People will come on here and defend them it will all come out soon but seriously the club in its financial position should be top 3 every body knows the problem with that club its the people running it and it will never change until these people leave.

Heard the same thing that Eames was not keen at all. Both quality players not quality blokes.
James is said to be working a more high profile player up the wrong way possibly paying alittle too much interest in a sibling??? More to follow????

Rabble? Love to know what club you're from?

Interesting that Altona paid Cash to get clearances for 2 players that Eames said he didn't even want....Especially when james hasn't played since injuring his knee and sam is out for the year....
Big problems in this comp with mercenary footballers.
More 50 goal floggings will destroy the comp and its reputation.

Can not believe ther is no talk about the Spotty v Deer Park game?

Surely match of the round & weather pending a great game for local footy & the WRFL.

Would love to watch this game. It's time for our league to get more professional and start identifying 5-6 blockbuster games for the year and playing them on a Sunday or Fri/Sat night. You could possibly play them at Werribee or Williamstown, charge $10 entry and reimburse home club for loss of canteen & bar revenue.

I'm not sure if this is achievable or if clubs would be willing to sacrifice a home game but it would be a good way to showcase blockbuster games and give all WRFL supporters a chance to see these games without having to miss their own clubs game that weekend.

On the Stephens bros issue, if Eames doesn't want them i doubt they'd be there. If Albion wanted them to see out their contract they shouldn't have accepted financial offer(supposedly) from the Vikings.

Would love to watch this game. It's time for our league to get more professional and start identifying 5-6 blockbuster games for the year and playing them on a Sunday or Fri/Sat night. You could possibly play them at Werribee or Williamstown, charge $10 entry and reimburse home club for loss of canteen & bar revenue.

I'm not sure if this is achievable or if clubs would be willing to sacrifice a home game but it would be a good way to showcase blockbuster games and give all WRFL supporters a chance to see these games without having to miss their own clubs game that weekend.

On the Stephens bros issue, if Eames doesn't want them i doubt they'd be there. If Albion wanted them to see out their contract they shouldn't have accepted financial offer(supposedly) from the Vikings.

Eames runs the show down there really anybody who thinks he would take players he doesnt want has rocks in there heads

It's a bit tough with the juniors on Sunday's using a lot of local grounds but I think early in the season there is room for it before the juniors start.

I do agree with your thoughts though. Perhaps a better option would be introducing a split round somewhere during the year so every team gets a week off - have 2 games played one week, and then 3 games are played the next. Other alternative is making use of Queen's Birthday weekend and if two clubs were bold enough they could play a stand alone game on that Saturday (which happens in the Eastern FL between Balwyn and Noble Park on that weekend).

Can not believe ther is no talk about the Spotty v Deer Park game?

Surely match of the round & weather pending a great game for local footy & the WRFL.

this is a ''CALL TO ARMS'' massive massive game for deer park ex players supporters jnrs jnr parents have been asked to get to spotty this week..........

smith(hand) and Lovett(broken leg) out but ayres and laverde were good for the run on the weekend

deer park are letting loose another outstanding recruit this week (ex vfl premiership player) to line up at chf........

word is that goldy is holding my man glenn Alison's reigns back so we don't make it a one horse race......ala BLACK CAVIAR.....

you can have your goat hearder cup......spotty are the club every club in this comp wants to be like(its aura its history is second to none).......cant wait for this one......

Eames does run the show at the Vikings and is a class act. He has openly discussed his disapproval of the process in which the Stephens boys left a legitimate contract, for no reason having been paid quote 'Overs'. They held Albion to ransom when they had lots of players walk at the end of contracts and had to pay significant increases to two brothers who claimed to be loyal and players for life.
They now turn up to Altona overweight and starting to rub well respected people up the wrong way.
We will see how this pans out.

Eames runs the show down there really anybody who thinks he would take players he doesnt want has rocks in there heads

WRFL Division 1 - 2013