Time to relax
Ando - any truth WRFL have approached you & Yarraville about coming up & reverting back to a 2 graded comp?
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Even
Even 2 Wongs don't make a side. They will need more than that to compete with the top sides. They have lost the coach and their other gun, so they are coming from a fair way back, to compete with Yarra & Norf.
Even
Even 2 Wongs don't make a side. They will need more than that to compete with the top sides. They have lost the coach and their other gun, so they are coming from a fair way back, to compete with Yarr
No they haventAndo - any truth WRFL have approached you & Yarraville about coming up & reverting back to a 2 graded comp?
Self promotion. Doesn't do the club any good. Don't see the point.
Give me a spell majority of side on good dollars ,why didn't he take up challenge coaching in division 1? And build club into a viable division 1 club.Jumped ship to coach west only to pull pin when finances weren't available . Hopefully yarraville and north Footscray have plans in place to negotiate jump to division 1 next year,maybe recruit players that want to play a higher grade is a start
I tend to agree with most of this, as there are to many clubs in the area. Yes maybe plenty of kids in this catchment but not enough senior players to fill all sides and have them competing I reckon. His right in that players tend to chase cash and move to div3 but this just goes around in circles. Older area and older facilities also don't help.. Not sure how it can be fixed and they might be gone for good.
Think Diker did a great job but was it sustainable??
It does show how good a club like Laverton is doing. Playing in a lower grade with minimal success over the years but they continue to keep going. Must be plenty of loyal people working behind the scene.
They cannot force teams up
It's part of the Governing bodies rules and regs that teams cannot be forced up to higher leagues without the clubs consent
Parkside and Tarneit will both say no if asked and why shouldn't they. Both have a chance at a flag in Div 3 but none in Div 2 this year. They wouldn't be uncompetitive but still a bit off the top of div 2
Not sure I agree with this. The new Wyndham clubs have all been in existence for at least 2 seasons and all clubs in the area have managed to field full teams during that time. So why the sudden lack of players now? Wyndham keeps growing in size.
It comes down to clubs making their club an attractive place to play football, a club that can gender a spirit that manages to keep and recruit players whilst keeping an eye on the $. Just hope the Hawks can keep going.
Yeah great points.
Wasnt my intention to sound as if I was comparing wrfl to Ammos. Just stating that if a side offering no coin and having zero juniors can find a way to generate interest and keep its list despite local clubs, as you correctly mentioned offering dollars to their players, is a credit to them and something a few clubs could probably learn something from.
Shocking to see an iconic local club fall apart. Even Evo wouldn't be happy with this.
Same system we had at Hampton and Laverton when I coached there... Best way to do it... Sorts out the real reasons want to play footy... Playing superrules as I do now, blokes still play and for zero $...Parkside would definitely be competitive in div 2, so really apart bragging rights in div 3 and the flag that they pretty much have locked in , you would think they would benefit more being in div 2 with the money they would be paying ou
food for thought : my father played for a club years ago not Wrfl ,all payments were incentive based it was the top 5-7 players each round , money presented on Thursday nights . $200 best on. $150 2nd best on, down to the $25 , every player had their chance of getting the top dollar for the hard work they put in week in week out , they didn't just turn up for an easy dollar , the culture was always great . if every club in div 2 and 3 ran with this kind process the league would be a much better place .
because all these so called super stars would be told to piss off to div 1 if they want to demand the big cash and would stop them Raping the system
Same system we had at Hampton and Laverton when I coached there... Best way to do it... Sorts out the real reasons want to play footy... Playing superrules as I do now, blokes still play and for zero $...
Let's be honest, we would all play footy for nothing if the money wasn't there...
Exactly , any money made and or paid out should be to the all the volunteers , be it canteen , bar , team managers , they're the ones who do all the hard work to get blokes on the park , yet clubs are throwing out money to these self proclaimed superstars to play a game they love .Same system we had at Hampton and Laverton when I coached there... Best way to do it... Sorts out the real reasons want to play footy... Playing superrules as I do now, blokes still play and for zero $...
Let's be honest, we would all play footy for nothing if the money wasn't there...
Any Praccy matches played this weekend, or any upcoming? And if played, how did they go?
North by about 6 goals at the end I so was impressed with Tarneit if they can pick up a tall forward they will have a big year in div 3Seen 1st Half of Tarneit V Nth Footscray. Tarneit i'm sure were just up. Tarneit looked quicker around the ground. Wind a bit blowy,Nths tall boys wernt having an impact at that stage....Don't know the result of the 2nd half.
I didn't realise it was that far apart in the end. I felt it to be closer. Tarneit looked like they would fit in to Div 2 quite easily. According to a few of the Tarneit players I was speaking to, they had about 9 out, I'm sure North did also, but the way they played was very similar. Tarneit were there or there about.North by about 6 goals at the end I so was impressed with Tarneit if they can pick up a tall forward they will have a big year in div 3
Hey Ando, Did hear this rumour of Wong heading to Newport pre Xmas but just didn't believe it. If true he will kill it and kick about 150 this season. His a top level metro/country full forward.
Hey Turbs old mate.
The Wong appeal has been denied by the AFL governing body. Shepparton and Newport convened with them tonight. At this point he is still a Shepparton player.
Hey Silver, thanks for that mate.
Usually clubs do a deal however in this situation I can't see Newport having the finances to offer up a deal. They are a new senior club and don't spend much coin on players..
Maybe Newport could head up to Shep and run a spit to raise some money. Or they could offer Shep a taxi driver to take some Melb players up to the games each Sat in return for Wongs clearance. Lol
Looks like april 22.....Looking at the clearances Yarraville capt Gareth Newton wanting to go to SpotswoodSo what is the date of the new start to the year? Is it 4 weeks later than Div 1 and 3?
Guys who are playing Div 2 and take it seriously could well be persuaded now to look elsewhere to get extra footy.Looks like april 22.....Looking at the clearances Yarraville capt Gareth Newton wanting to go to Spotswood
No disrespect to west,storm,Cobras,power don't begrudge a player from wanting to play a higher standard good on him ,not like some mercenaries in the pastLooks like april 22.....Looking at the clearances Yarraville capt Gareth Newton wanting to go to Spotswood
Anybody else heard that the league is contemplating joining div 2 and 3 together and doing the mid year split again ? Just something I've heard a couple of times