WRFL Division 2

and losses... Thommo... JB.. surely can't play ones again..

anyway, I don't like to bag clubs (unless it's Weapons or anyone from Deer Park)... so all the best to the Devils... but in my opinion anything better than week 2 of the finals will be Bonus for 07.

thommo is still playing unshore if he wants to plays 1s but when he sees us flying he will change his mind and join us. dont worry about that. thanks any way bangs!!! good luck 2 your boys aswell

but if u look at past players from the Western Magpies like Mark Keenan (spotty) , Craig Wells(sunshine) and Ayden Mcnally(west footscray) who r all quality players they have all moved onto other clubs with the cash ..

Ayden Mcnally played only under 10s there then moved to werribee then in under 16s he played 3 games then went 2 werribee under 19s so i wouldnt say is a lavo player just a lavo boy

Cmat you are pretty right about Heights because whilst they are paying $0 their will be no first division ever.​

Money might bring success but not all the time look at Glenorden they paid BIG $$$$ and still lost grand finals.Sunshine Heights will be the side to beat in the next 2or 3 years

k we have got 4 blokes from seamore 2 sign unshore of all the boys names!! ash lewis ex port colts 2s player a guy from willy c y jeff butts. greg mckenzie plus matty young is also a huge chance 2 sign with us!!

Tell us a bit about Ash Lewis. Do you think he will do well in A2 coming from Port Colts reserves. Did he play any seniors at Colts and do you know why he has gone down a division being a young guy. Was he not up to A1's or does he have mates at Nth.

You seem very confidant about Nth having never played for them. From my observations Nth have lacked a lot of spirit and passion the last few years. Would need a big turnaround in this department and also some real match winners into the side to give it a shake. Tommo will most likely play super rules and if you inject two players to make up for him and JB they would want to be good ones. Also it's probably time to stop relying on these two anyway. Correct me if I am wrong but real match winners are lacking at Nth. I see Eldridge if he is switched on and not distracted (which happens easily), Williams who is easily tagged by a pacey player and not much else. I do hope your new players and the ones already there do pick Nth up the ladder a bit as I have said before the more good teams the better.

My prediction for Nth would be 5th to 8th at this stage.

Cmat you are pretty right about Heights because whilst they are paying $0 their will be no first division ever.​

Money might bring success but not all the time look at Glenorden they paid BIG $$$$ and still lost grand finals.Sunshine Heights will be the side to beat in the next 2or 3 years

pretty confident there mate
1 thing against heights is that they get scored heavily against............

can the dragons rectify that..........

now that youve picked up a big f/ward will gretto's roll change he will be the key for u guys if he can play in the midield same as mallia is he going to be fit enough to play in the midfield??????

Tell us a bit about Ash Lewis. Do you think he will do well in A2 coming from Port Colts reserves. Did he play any seniors at Colts and do you know why he has gone down a division being a young guy. Was he not up to A1's or does he have mates at Nth.

You seem very confidant about Nth having never played for them. From my observations Nth have lacked a lot of spirit and passion the last few years. Would need a big turnaround in this department and also some real match winners into the side to give it a shake. Tommo will most likely play super rules and if you inject two players to make up for him and JB they would want to be good ones. Also it's probably time to stop relying on these two anyway. Correct me if I am wrong but real match winners are lacking at Nth. I see Eldridge if he is switched on and not distracted (which happens easily), Williams who is easily tagged by a pacey player and not much else. I do hope your new players and the ones already there do pick Nth up the ladder a bit as I have said before the more good teams the better.

My prediction for Nth would be 5th to 8th at this stage.

I reckon you might not be far off the mark TD. The Devils haven't done well the last few years, but are hoping to improve this year. I still think we are a chance to make the top 4 but am not getting carried away. Ash Lewis would have played more ones at the Colts but as you know they are very well off in the ruck dept. Ask the Port guys and I am sure they will rate him. Few of the Seymour guys look handy but I guess we will wait and see. Not sure about JB playing due to work commitments. I think he will play and is still a very handy forward pocket. Thommo is getting old and may play seconds (not playing superrules). He finished 3rd or 4th in the B&F last year so while no longer a super star, has still something to offer.

WRFL Club of the year in 2005 and 2006 so while we need to do better on the ground, are obviously a decent institution.

I reckon you might not be far off the mark TD. The Devils haven't done well the last few years, but are hoping to improve this year. I still think we are a chance to make the top 4 but am not getting carried away. Ash Lewis would have played more ones at the Colts but as you know they are very well off in the ruck dept. Ask the Port guys and I am sure they will rate him. Few of the Seymour guys look handy but I guess we will wait and see. Not sure about JB playing due to work commitments. I think he will play and is still a very handy forward pocket. Thommo is getting old and may play seconds (not playing superrules). He finished 3rd or 4th in the B&F last year so while no longer a super star, has still something to offer.

WRFL Club of the year in 2005 and 2006 so while we need to do better on the ground, are obviously a decent institution.

I think club of the year relates to paying things on time and attending meetings, so obviously a well run place.

Tommo is still a handy player and in your best. He has said he wasn't that keen on playing for a few years and always does so it would be no surprise. Funny a while back I rated Tommo and JB as two of the best blokes from the opposition over the years and both are from Nth. I think Brett Hinge has JB worked out as he does with Steve Lane. Damo no. 4 for Heights has Tommo sorted with tagging. If you have seen the two on each other it looks like a cartoon with them being a metre apart all game.

WRFL Division 2 - Masters

I know this isn't really the folder, bu any player turning 35 this and want to play footy for fun, have a few beers and great social side, come down and play with Werribee Masters.

Werribee (est 25 yrs) have joined the Metro comp this year and are looking at having a real shot in there first season giving the 3th division a real shake. Werribee have two other teams competing in Country masterss and a new comp for older players (aged 47 plus).

Don't knock masters until you have tried it.

For more info listen to 88.9 FM at 12.45 Saurday morning and hear from the club coach.

Training is Thursday night at Chirnside Park Watton St Werribee starting at 6.00 pm.

Ayden Mcnally played only under 10s there then moved to werribee then in under 16s he played 3 games then went 2 werribee under 19s so i wouldnt say is a lavo player just a lavo boy

Excactly right about McNally, but look at where Wells and Keenan has gone,to Div 1 Clubs.

I think club of the year relates to paying things on time and attending meetings, so obviously a well run place.

Tommo is still a handy player and in your best. He has said he wasn't that keen on playing for a few years and always does so it would be no surprise. Funny a while back I rated Tommo and JB as two of the best blokes from the opposition over the years and both are from Nth. I think Brett Hinge has JB worked out as he does with Steve Lane. Damo no. 4 for Heights has Tommo sorted with tagging. If you have seen the two on each other it looks like a cartoon with them being a metre apart all game.

It is not easy for Thommo. As he is getting older he is not being tagged as much, but the guy has had a shadow most weeks for the best part of 10 years. That Damo guy is young and fit, but has poor skills and not that much to offer. He may have restricted Thommo's output of recent times, but SHeights are only one club in the comp. Thommo played well the first time against Heights kicking 2 or 3 quick ones in the second half to bring us back into the game. I think he was playing on a Kiwi or Islander guy who showed him no respect. I remember Bomber screaming at the guy to watch the little man.

Brett Hinge is a terrific defender and I am real fan. JB still kicked goals against top sides this year, so while he has to rely more on craft (not that he was every really athletic) he is still a handy foil. If he is playing forward pocket and Heights are pumping us (like you did late in the season), it is going to be difficult for him to shine.

Brett Hinge is a terrific defender and I am real fan. JB still kicked goals against top sides this year, so while he has to rely more on craft (not that he was every really athletic) he is still a handy foil. If he is playing forward pocket and Heights are pumping us (like you did late in the season), it is going to be difficult for him to shine.[/quote]

JB gun player never came back as good after breakking his ankle while playing at Willy.Probably Best years were at West Newport nearly unstoppable back then. But in saying that still had many go years at Nth.

Ive seen Brett Hinge play b4 he plays well for an old guy i heard that when he kept lane goal less he didnt even train and didnt train all year

It is not easy for Thommo. As he is getting older he is not being tagged as much, but the guy has had a shadow most weeks for the best part of 10 years. That Damo guy is young and fit, but has poor skills and not that much to offer. He may have restricted Thommo's output of recent times, but SHeights are only one club in the comp. Thommo played well the first time against Heights kicking 2 or 3 quick ones in the second half to bring us back into the game. I think he was playing on a Kiwi or Islander guy who showed him no respect. I remember Bomber screaming at the guy to watch the little man.

Brett Hinge is a terrific defender and I am real fan. JB still kicked goals against top sides this year, so while he has to rely more on craft (not that he was every really athletic) he is still a handy foil. If he is playing forward pocket and Heights are pumping us (like you did late in the season), it is going to be difficult for him to shine.

You are quite wrong about Damo not having much to offer. Probably a 5 to 6 out of 10 for kicking but everything else is first class. I suppose he is one of those players you need to see week in week out to appreciate. Has come top 5 b and f the lasr 2 years, has tagged many top players and ofter plays on the opposition wing and is rarely beaten on a one on one. Very hard player puts his body over the ball for a small build. Very highly respected at Heights

Yeah Tommo played well, I think they gave both Damo and Tommo a break from the tagging, as the coach is good friends with Tommo. The islander was his first game of football ever so didn't really know what he was doing.

That doesn't sound like Bomber screaming. I believe the coach and the assistants this year are moulding themselves on Paul Rooos and are taking a valium before the game. They are passionate which is good but it gives me a head ache at times.

Who have you played on from Heights Red Devil and what are their good and bads sides to their game.

JB gun player never came back as good after breakking his ankle while playing at Willy.Probably Best years were at West Newport nearly unstoppable back then. But in saying that still had many go years at Nth.[/quote]

He has had some ripper seasons at Nth don't wory about that. Won many games off his own boot. Still a handy forward pocket if it can be worked he has the 3rd or 4th best defender. Has slowed down a lot since his a r s e hs tripled.

Ive seen Brett Hinge play b4 he plays well for an old guy i heard that when he kept lane goal less he didnt even train and didnt train all year

Spoke to Brett a month or so ago. He is playing his customery 6 games to qualify and is definetely playing against West. Look out Stevie Lane who not only finds it hard to score a goal against him but finds it hard to get a possession against him at all. He trains about once every 2 years but having the respect he has at the club we are rapt when he can play.

JB gun player never came back as good after breakking his ankle while playing at Willy.Probably Best years were at West Newport nearly unstoppable back then. But in saying that still had many go years at Nth.

He has had some ripper seasons at Nth don't wory about that. Won many games off his own boot. Still a handy forward pocket if it can be worked he has the 3rd or 4th best defender. Has slowed down a lot since his a r s e hs tripled.[/quote]

He has always had a big arse...

Re: WRFL Division 2 - Masters

I know this isn't really the folder, bu any player turning 35 this and want to play footy for fun, have a few beers and great social side, come down and play with Werribee Masters.

Werribee (est 25 yrs) have joined the Metro comp this year and are looking at having a real shot in there first season giving the 3th division a real shake. Werribee have two other teams competing in Country masterss and a new comp for older players (aged 47 plus).

Don't knock masters until you have tried it.

For more info listen to 88.9 FM at 12.45 Saurday morning and hear from the club coach.

Training is Thursday night at Chirnside Park Watton St Werribee starting at 6.00 pm.

Mate, I suggest that you get in contact with the Deer Park Football club. I beleive that they have at least 10 candidates that would be perfect for you.... might even have a few for the masters!!!

now that youve picked up a big f/ward will gretto's roll change he will be the key for u guys if he can play in the midield same as mallia is he going to be fit enough to play in the midfield??????

Both of then are flying at the moment... Nick has trimmed right down he hasn't looked like this since he was 16.... except for the beard and Tattoo down half his arm.

If that is the case with Nick,look out oppisistion sides. At 16 Nick was as good as it gets in regards to being a "draft chance" way back when sides could take 17 year olds. Lets hope he can string together a number of games and re-produce he's best form.

Agree with that Obe1.. best player in the comp without question. Hasn't done a pre season or played a full year for 4 years due to work and travel.. has done the whole pre season and dropped 8 - 10 kg's.... Give him the Smith Medal now.

That would be well deserved if it were to be the case, long way to go yet however, if he's form is as good as we speculate it could be, perhaps I could poach him to the colts....lol

You have as much chance of Nick playing for Colts as we do of having Rock play for heights lol. Seriously he has only played enough games to qualify in the last few years and hasn't trained. All going well he will play many games and be a major influence. Like a bonus new recruit really on top of last years team. Goes bang the comp medal might be a bit much as we know anything can happen in football. I think just let him go about his business as low key as possible as he is that sort of guy and wouldn't ever pump himself up. However it's very exciting watching him train.

Obe1 can you tell a little about Ash Lewis. Did he play any seniors at Colts and if not was he close. How old is he. Could he have become a senior regular at Colts in time or just not up to it.

Interesting about the night comp. as we are still looking to find another praccy. Have asked previous thoughts on playing an A1 club and receiving a thumping. Could it demoralise or as I think would do good seeing how top players operate and see where players are at as individuals playing wise and fitness wise. Your thoughts?