Yarra Valley - Mountain District FL Forum 2

Ahh, great memory Sid. 1994 was the year, Queens Pk was the venue. Olinda won the match but I think lost the fights.
The Healesville gents of the day were very good to us afterwards, particularly "Horsey" Hay. I think he felt sorry for me as my face was slightly larger and not quite as straight as when I first arrived at the ground (lol)
That particular bloke (league delegate I believe) copped an absolute pasting for his runner that night. Its a long drive from Olinda to Healesville to Olinda to Healesville.
I also seem to recall the same happening by another Olinda favourite, 'Uncle Someone" but at least that was only from Emerald.

Take it from me boys and girls, whether you're home or away, organise a brief case or some kind of bag to be locked away with all your valuables with a Team Mgr etc for the duration of your games. You never know who'll walk in off the street and have a wander through.

In the 20 years we've done it, we've never had 1 item ever go missing !!!

did i play in that game or was i the said runner:confused:

Sid, can't remember.
The said runner was not yourself but his surname has something very relevant to where we live (ie; mountain, hill he he)
I'm thinking you might not have been playing either, possibly with your back open at the3 docs and on a morphine drip ???
Ringing any bells ???
Or, you'd had the Op, bought the drip with you to Queens Pk and had the best day ever ???
Good times.

Olinda v Healesville, always a very special occasion for me ! (and Tooley)

Sid, can't remember.
The said runner was not yourself but his surname has something very relevant to where we live (ie; mountain, hill he he)
I'm thinking you might not have been playing either, possibly with your back open at the3 docs and on a morphine drip ???
Ringing any bells ???
Or, you'd had the Op, bought the drip with you to Queens Pk and had the best day ever ???
Good times.

Olinda v Healesville, always a very special occasion for me ! (and Tooley)

must of been part of that 3 years that seems to vanished from my memory.....:confused: lucky i didnt add it to my curriculum vitae LOL:D

Posting can be quite compelling,
But beware of the outrage that's welling!
It isn't the text
That get's 'em all vexed,
It's usually just the poor spelling!

You're right! Normally the 2 divisions rotate year to year for Sunday finals.
Since the staggered start/finals, both GF's have been able to be held on successive Saturdays. In div 1, Prelim F winner gets only 6 days break from the Sunday to the following Saturday of the GF. Good system.
I wonder if it's a slip up or to avoid a clash with AFL?:confused:

This is Crap Sunday Grand Final. I thought we had sorted these things out after the initial couple of years teething problems. This is our ShowCASE as a league, play it on a Saturday when all in the district & surrounds expect it. I think the numbers for attendance over the last 4 years (even in the crap pouring rain at Woori) show this is the best option.
Steve & Graeme were the clubs consulted on this?
Finally those complaining previously about a 6 day break after the prelim - suck it up, it doesnt mean a pinch of $hit at our level.

This is Crap Sunday Grand Final. I thought we had sorted these things out after the initial couple of years teething problems. This is our ShowCASE as a league, play it on a Saturday when all in the district & surrounds expect it. I think the numbers for attendance over the last 4 years (even in the crap pouring rain at Woori) show this is the best option.
Steve & Graeme were the clubs consulted on this?
Finally those complaining previously about a 6 day break after the prelim - suck it up, it doesnt mean a pinch of $hit at our level.

Perhaps their rationale is that they won't be playing on the same day as the AFL preliminary finals and the EFL first division GF - and that we'll get a bigger crowd as a result.

Posting can be quite compelling,
But beware of the outrage that's welling!
It isn't the text
That get's 'em all vexed,
It's usually just the poor spelling!

No one is vexed,
Just a little perplexed,
Why Catpower and Moin,
Wont be a show'in,
At the end of the season,
For some:eek: silly reason,
One couldn't spell,
And the other thinks Woori is hell

Perhaps their rationale is that they won't be playing on the same day as the AFL preliminary finals and the EFL first division GF - and that we'll get a bigger crowd as a result.

Thats rolling the dice for mine. Stick to Saturday, the masses love footy on Sat arvo in the burbs & country = more numbers. If its Melbourne teams in the prelim my money is on the AFL playing them under lights for ratings Fri & Sat evening at the G!

Yes, you are right about the AFL finals. But not being up against the EFL might be some kind of factor. Actually, the only two Sunday grand finals this century were 2001 and 2004. Upwey lost both of those after having won the second semi finals. That might be an omen for you.

Anybody else noticed how the Big Footy forum has gained a big head and is now trying to force posters to sign up for a yearly fee? Trying to get to the forum sends up a not too convincing announcement that the site is too busy and you can get straight there by paying the fee! You can sneak in a back way, but why bother.
Would've thought the advertising revenue was good enough and I'm not sure if that even it is going to be maintained when no-one visits the site.
Looking for another place to run a League site.

**** UPDATE!
Just had the following reply from Big Footy.

"There is a problem with the servers which we're working on. The general public will have full access again soon. Sorry for the inconvenience in the meantime.
Chief"

Reminds me of a time long long ago when I had some money invested in a small internet provider-we had plenty of servers but very little bandwidth-we used to pull the same stunt telling our users that our servers were down but if they went onto a higher plan they could enjoy unlimited access.When we got enough punters to do this we then went and purchased more bandwidth from Telstra-Worked a treat allowed us to gain more users and of course to put more money into our hip pockets.The company concerned is now one of Australias biggest providers and no longer has to resort to such tactics

Hey CatPower,

I'm trying to do some research on the Silvan team last Satdee vs the side that won the GF last year but can't find last years GF team on any website.

Here is the list of the side from last week:-

Rhett Newell
Sam HillsJames ArundaleDean CarswellJustin CuzzupiKenneth MurphySteve McgradyThomas CoyBrent GuglielmiBrendan HingstonSam CoenAndrew VolpettiBen HaynesDaniel RodgersStephen AndrewsMark MathesonDavid ShortRory KavanaghCraig WoodDaniel NormanTrent Matthews

How many of those blokes won the flag last year????

My sources also tell me that a few blokes also played both 2's and 1's. That can't be good...

Hey CatPower,

I'm trying to do some research on the Silvan team last Satdee vs the side that won the GF last year but can't find last years GF team on any website.

Here is the list of the side from last week:-

Rhett Newell
Sam HillsJames ArundaleDean CarswellJustin CuzzupiKenneth MurphySteve McgradyThomas CoyBrent GuglielmiBrendan HingstonSam CoenAndrew VolpettiBen HaynesDaniel RodgersStephen AndrewsMark MathesonDavid ShortRory KavanaghCraig WoodDaniel NormanTrent Matthews

How many of those blokes won the flag last year????

My sources also tell me that a few blokes also played both 2's and 1's. That can't be good...
According to to the team sheets submitted no one played two games.

Could you post the team in positions if you have it available to you ?
Nice work Gatesy, fair honour !

no worries its

YJFC Team of the century 1909 -2009

B: Brian Felim ..........Harold Hetherton............Paul Kendall

HB: Geoff Cardilini.....Bob Burrows..................Ron pollington

C: Laurie Isaac.........Ewan Gardner................Greg Mitchell

HF: Barry Long.........Roy Schipper.................Ivor Witnish

F: Alf Hetherton........Jason Long...................Peter Fletcher

R: George Steiner (Capt/Coach) Jeff Cole (VC) Norm Long

I: Con Long, Justin Gates, Jack Shalders, Bernie Lewis

E: Colin Burrows, Harry Betteridge, Reg Witnish, Norm Mitchell

Trainers: Ike Cooper, Pat Batten, Norm Cole