• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Yarra Valley - Mountain District FL Forum 2

How come Silvan are so keen to fly the coop now that they are being beaten most weeks. They were happy to sprout their worth when it was them doing the beating every week. Now we are hearing they want to leave the league and go to the EFL also going around is they have asked to be put back to 2nd div. Every club for the last two or three years has had to put up with being beaten by Silvan nearly every week so i think they should suck it up and just come out next year in div 1 and have a crack at it. No point sooking now!

Good post. Agree and VCFL has to make a stand on clubs swapping leagues and make it harder. Too easy to move when it doesnt suit. If you dont like the direction of the league, get involved and get on the committee and make your vote. Otherwise wait for the cycle to turn and your turn to win again. Not every team every year can have a successful year and turning average years into good years and winning is more enjoyable when you are challenged.

And if one supporter of Silvan gets on here and says we cant survive in this league, thats something that should have been addressed 5 years ago when your business was booming.......................failing to plan is planning to fail.

something that should have been addressed 5 years ago when your business was booming.......................failing to plan is planning to fail.
Arab This should be addressed also to those who think this about the league - things are not broke dont fix it!

Good post. Agree and VCFL has to make a stand on clubs swapping leagues and make it harder. Too easy to move when it doesnt suit. If you dont like the direction of the league, get involved and get on the committee and make your vote. Otherwise wait for the cycle to turn and your turn to win again. Not every team every year can have a successful year and turning average years into good years and winning is more enjoyable when you are challenged.

And if one supporter of Silvan gets on here and says we cant survive in this league, thats something that should have been addressed 5 years ago when your business was booming.......................failing to plan is planning to fail.
We cant survive in this league! There i said it, what happens now?

Arab This should be addressed also to those who think this about the league - things are not broke dont fix it!

You have your agenda, I am convinced a move to the divisions as you have insisted is not going to create a sustainable League, and in fact will ruin it.

All this talk about local derbies is just rubbish, hate to think how much Upwey and Monbulk would beat Belgrave and Emerald by, who would want to go to the game to see that.

Change for change sake is not healthy, whatever happens has to be properly investigated and planned, and as we go into the finals I think we will see some great games to prove all is not bad

You fold unless you find a way. Same as any club. Moving to a stronger league isnt the answer and if its not allowed what do you do?

Are the people involved in Silvan FC happy to let their local team fold? If the answer is yes then you are treading water moving to another league. Death will come just a matter of how long you can hold your breath if things dont change.

Why can a club survive in one league and not another?
Complete myth. If the club is structured correctly it survives.
The thing that disappoints me more than anything in the YVMDFL is that when the going gets tough everyone wants to leave. Instead of getting on with the issues at hand we have all these people saying if OUR club isnt happy we will leave. CRAP and to be perfectly honest has anyone missed Sth Belgrave this year? Fair enough they moved on and good luck to them but to think that everytime a decision is made that the old chestnut of "were not happy and we want in to the EFL"
How many divisions can the EFL sustain?

Silvan have dragged the standard of the game and players up 5 notches and now everyone else has gone and activively recruited GUNS to compete. Where is that harm in that? Silvan have to now suck it up the same way every other club did for 3-4 years whilst they were unbeatable.

and just one last point. Apart from Balwyn no other club has come into the EFL in higher than Div 4. How would the people from Silvan feel about that. Step up? Please! and let me know how that is sustainable?

The issue has been raised as the league has evolved from a small country league to one of the largest country leagues in VIC. Clubs will want to join based on what the league can offer. Not every club that wants to join will be able to but as the league evolves every club should be heard.

When a league is disbanded as is going to happen with BDFL clubs need to find the most appropriate fit for their club in a league that suits. Clubs wanting to join should be seen as a badge of honour. The league cant plan for this but they can for potential new clubs and target clubs as well.

Would the posters on this forum be happy with maybe starting another league one called Yarra Valley and the other Mountain District. Divide it and have 1 league per comp. No relegation no promotion.

If not clubs will have to abide by whatever the league comes up with, simple as that.

Why can a club survive in one league and not another?
Complete myth. If the club is structured correctly it survives.
The thing that disappoints me more than anything in the YVMDFL is that when the going gets tough everyone wants to leave. Instead of getting on with the issues at hand we have all these people saying if OUR club isnt happy we will leave. CRAP and to be perfectly honest has anyone missed Sth Belgrave this year? Fair enough they moved on and good luck to them but to think that everytime a decision is made that the old chestnut of "were not happy and we want in to the EFL"
How many divisions can the EFL sustain?

Silvan have dragged the standard of the game and players up 5 notches and now everyone else has gone and activively recruited GUNS to compete. Where is that harm in that? Silvan have to now suck it up the same way every other club did for 3-4 years whilst they were unbeatable.

and just one last point. Apart from Balwyn no other club has come into the EFL in higher than Div 4. How would the people from Silvan feel about that. Step up? Please! and let me know how that is sustainable?

Noble Park entered into Div 1 but they had a much stronger position both on and off field than Silvan to help make it happen and they campaigned for years. No Chance of Silvan coming into the efl anywhere but Div 4 if at all.

I cant understand how moving to EFL helps Silvan if their troubles are financial. Sure the travel is an advantage (not as big an issue in div 1 anyway) but it is more expensive to run a club in the EFL ( only slightly) and it will cost more to be competitive on field if they dont have a good local talent base.

Cagga, For most 1st Div clubs, nothing is broken, but there are issues with some other clubs, particularly in 2nd div and we need to watch it. The league has grown (Northwards) in the past few years and this does impact on the planning needs for the competition. With the continued expansion of the league boundaries comes new problems. The trick is to be able to balance the often conflicting needs of clubs in differening circumstances. Not an easy task! Still, we need to keep looking at it.
The Mornington league appears to be basking in the success of their regionalisation program, but it is still early days. I still have a concern for the u18 comp which is the lifeblood of most clubds. Travel is an issue with the dew kickers. Regionalising the comp - at least at that level - may be a possibility in the near future. Or, as has been discussed before, running twilight games for the kids in front of local crowds.
Tough questions are looming and the league has a big task to come up with solutions that will suit the majority. Not all can be satisfied.

I just put the local radio on to hear the result between Kinglake and Seville. You reckon the commentators (and I use that term very loosely) would know how the finals system works. The winner of this game, Kinglake, plays Olinda in the SECOND semi final and the loser, Seville, plays Yarra Junction in the FIRST semi final.

To be honest Totallytrue, the younger bloke commentating was actually outlining the correct finals system until Billy spoke over him and re-corrected it.

What's everyone think of the commentary? Billy can be bloody hard to follow sometimes.

To be honest Totallytrue, the younger bloke commentating was actually outlining the correct finals system until Billy spoke over him and re-corrected it.

What's everyone think of the commentary? Billy can be bloody hard to follow sometimes.

I remember the days when we didn't have any radio coverage - I much prefer having what we've got now, even if the commentators sometimes ramble on a bit. Bill seemed to be in a bit of a mood today. He kept interrupting the young fellow and flatly contradicting him. It sounded like it was a bit of a chore for them this afternoon.

You have your agenda, I am convinced a move to the divisions as you have insisted is not going to create a sustainable League, and in fact will ruin it.

No Agenda just a topic for discussion. As Monniehawk simply put it Divi 1 clubs such as Monny & Upwey dont have issues we love the current system. Personally I think its great. I have always loved the promotion / relegation. But all I hear from our neighbouring towns in div 2 they face large problems internally due to the travel. Maybe Arab has it correct they are not successful clubs because of their club structure etc & they use the travel or greener pasture excuse too often instead of getting their house in order.
I like the idea of the regions but I am happy to hear all points & find a great solution. It is a problem.

"How would Upwey & Monbulk go attracting players / coaches for each of the grades if we had to travel the way 2nd divi sides have to?" I think we can honestly say we would not have the same playing & coaching list we have today.

Great day of cricket.... started off with that great English song Jerusalem before play started followed up with freddie flintoff thinking he is freddie mercury in the middle of the day and ended the days play with The Song Remains the Same.....Nice:D

I WAS WRONG :mad::thumbsdown::(

Personally, I thought it went brilliantly. We had our full playing list helping which we couldn't have done without. We had overflow carparks at the Golf Course and Rhododendron Gardens as required. We were all pretty knackered by last night.

Netball (all 4 games went well), we utilised the hall next door for Umpires and Netball changeroom facilities. Ground was in good nick and all 3 games were pretty hotly contested.

Of course my opinion is disgracefully biased, so anyone externally of Olinda who was involved yesterday, please feel free to comment, good or bad feedback appreciated.

TS

Personally, I thought it went brilliantly. We had our full playing list helping which we couldn't have done without. We had overflow carparks at the Golf Course and Rhododendron Gardens as required. We were all pretty knackered by last night.

Netball (all 4 games went well), we utilised the hall next door for Umpires and Netball changeroom facilities. Ground was in good nick and all 3 games were pretty hotly contested.

Of course my opinion is disgracefully biased, so anyone externally of Olinda who was involved yesterday, please feel free to comment, good or bad feedback appreciated.

TS

It went pretty well yesterday at olinda would've been spot on except for the ice wind.

More importantly the canteen was dishing up some quality food. compare this to the substandard warby canteen on saturday where the hotdogs looked like the were from last year and the pie i had was stone cold in the middle.

Can anyone explain the criteria for selecting finals venues?

Without wanting to upset anyone sensitive about their own clubs facilities, I am surprised that 1st division finals are being played at Yarra Glen.

We were there for the juniors earlier in the year, and the ground was in poor condition at the time. I realise it was subjected to some vandalism just prior to that, but overall it was very poor.

Has it improved, or is it just tough luck- every ground gets a turn?

went to olinda yesterday to watch seville i was very impressed with the set up food carparking ground good condition well done

What a game between Kinglake & Seville!! Thought it was all over at half time with Seville having a big lead & playing alot better football, after half time it was like both teams had changed jumpers as it was Kinglake who came out of the blocks against the wind to have a 1pt lead at 3qt time, then with the wind in the last quarter ran away with it. It will be a hard task against Olinda as they are the team to beat but finals footy is a whole different game, hope it is a good game of footy to watch though?

yes was a great game...
rumour has it sandy carpenter from kinglake will be out with a knee injury. will be a huge loss for the lakers
any thoughts? didnt he kick the winning goal against olinda

Umpires are also reaching the business end of the season and looks to be a fair mix of youth and experience running around this weekend across the senior games.
I know Moin is always keen to see how the lads are travelling and the usual suspects will be popping there heads up this week in the seniors.

Great to see a few young fellas in the mix too.:thumbsu: