MRP / Trib. Yeo offered a week

Problem is it's high contact and medium impact; nothing will change those 2 criteria, especially since Webster went off with the blood rule. As soon as an act is high and above low impact, there's no chance of escaping at least a 1-week suspension unless you contest the legitimacy of the act.

So we'd have to make a case to change the classification from 'careless play' to 'in the contest; acceptable'. Baffled that so-called experts at the MRP have a completely different opinion of this act to multiple umpires on spot during the game who saw it as part of the contest. I'd be interested to know exactly how much time was between the mark and the contact, and the angle at which Yeo's arm made contact with Webster - both players had eyes and trajectories for the ball.

Essentially, to be fair, this is bullshit

I hope Gerard or Robbo have a go at the MRP on 360 tonight - no doubt they would if it was one of their love child's in Hodge or Selwood.
Nope, they didn't have a problem with it. What a surprise.

Its clearly a biased decision. The two other incidents are deliberate strikes and yeo is a careless attempt to spoil the ball. Fine at the most.
Campaigner Victorians.

Happy to appeal and go to court and get an injunction if the appeal fails. The law recognizes precedence.

The AFL doesn't.

Especially the MRP.

They stuff up so often so precedence would kill them week in week out.

Merret last year clobbered someone late and gets off as it was 'in a spoiling motion'.

But now it's worth 2 weeks down to 1?

Hurn jumped up and broke Cameron's nose three weeks ago and got zero but now it's two weeks down to one?

Chook lotto here for another week.:confused::mad::oops::cry:

Problem I have is it's irrelevant. It's like Hannerbury last year with Hurley, it is all irrelevant because it was at the contest (he bumped him forcibly to the head but both were in a contest for a ground ball), therefore the rest is a moot point. It's like (loose hyperbole) if a player tried to smother a ball and broke his nose. Nobody is at fault, the injury is irrelevant because it was part of play within the rules, not a suspense worthy event.

Yeo missed the ball by mere cm's, how good do they expect him to be?

If the saints player had a tiny bit softer hands to absorb the mark it would have come loose because Yeo's fist was right there.

I think we generally go ok with our trips to the tribunal. Glass was suspended for polaxing some portf flog and got off. Lynch destroyed some north bloke in the back in the 2012 final was suspended and got off.

Watson on Talking Footy "Webster comes off with some blood and never returned to the field of play, the MRP takes into account the medical report".

Just let the BS continue...

Watson on Talking Footy "Webster comes off with some blood and never returned to the field of play, the MRP takes into account the medical report".

How can these ********* continue to utter pure lies and have nobody call them up on it? Is the tribunal so incompetent that they can't form their own decisions, review FACTS and make a call?

Also, when will they get a commentator / someone in the media who isn't afraid to call out the unintelligent on pure lies?

This convinces me that the MRP have blamed Yeo for the concussion. Just show the MRP Richardson's press conference.

As much as the result disgusts me- I'm a little bit in the "let's not challenge" camp.

We can't afford to be without him for two weeks, iMO. These next two weeks will be crucial to consolidate where we sit at present.

Already the talk about us is how we've only beaten the lower tier sides, and our win against the Giants was against a "young side". On the other hand, they praise Richmond for their performance against port. We need to win this week to make everyone take notice.

I would much prefer that all players and staff cop of a 5k fine each and tell the media how disgusted they are with the decision.

Also, in a side note, Gary Lyon was asked how he thought we were going. He had to admit how confident we were playing, and how organised we were. The hate in his eyes was very evident though. What on earth did we ever do to him???

He does the sport on 7 news as well, think he'd have some idea of the game.
His son was juiced up to the eyeballs and he didn't know/care/stop it.

has NFI

This convinces me that the MRP have blamed Yeo for the concussion.
They couldn't have, Webster came back on after the yeo spoil .
Webster couldn't have come back on if there was any sort of concussion symptoms . If he did and there was symptoms saints doctors would be sacked !

They couldn't have, Webster came back on after the yeo spoil .
Webster couldn't have come back on if there was any sort of concussion symptoms . If he did and there was symptoms saints doctors would be sacked !
I didn't say it was a correct summation from the MRP. They've seen the hit, then seen he was concussed on the medical report, then made the assumption the two events are related.

A blood nose is not 'medium impact', a slight concussion however...

I can't even fathom how the MRP can assume he was subbed out from the hit, it's their duty to be diligent and assess each situation properly.

If you watch "Charged" on the AFL app you'll see the guy on the left who runs through it has lost all faith in the MRP, he suspects the Eagle have grounds to challenge and also skeptically explains the McViegh "Tackle theory" of the MRP.

Looks like he wants to say a lot more than he does, poor guy. Wish he'd just come out and say it.

Hurn opened up Jeremy Cameron's nose a few weeks ago in a marking contest

There are times where I think clubs need to challenge the ever growing audacity/sanitisation from the MRP

I think we are all happy to see incidents like Hodge go, and king hits behind play - however the "in-play" accidents that occur in footy being penalised is getting ridiculous.

MRP / Trib. Yeo offered a week