Toast Your memories of 1996

Have you still got the Port?

Yeah, unopened. Doubt if it was good quailty booze, just cashing in on Premiership success.

That looks like Stevo's signature, SonofSamsquanch?

Now that I think of it, I think you could request any player to sign it for the extra $20. I think it was a special members offer.

Hahahahaha defo 1 of my faves! I was living in London at the time but quite obviously got up early to watch the game on the tele. 1 of my housemates, a richmond supporter, also got up to watch the match. Anyway, this other fella sat there smugly cheering for Sydney until Glen Freeborn went bang bang bang, then he got up with a huff and went back to bed! Funny thing I may not have mentioned, is that he was dead set dirty on me because I had got some sneaky lovin' in with a girl that he fancied and knowing that I had been there, he just could not bring himself to follow suit. Anyhoo, the kangas won and I got the girl :-D

I just moved back to the States in February of 96. For a number of years, the Grand Final was always shown live in the United States. However, for some reason, in 1996 no network wanted to show the Grand Final live. So, a bunch of fans across the country worked with pub owners to arrange for a private satellite feed, which would be paid for by cover charges. It all fell together at the last second. For most of the week leading up to the game, I thought I wasn't going to be able to watch it. So I was just relieved that I was going to get a chance to watch the game at all!

My favorite memory, by far, was when Ian Fairlely snuck down to the forward pocket, marked, and kicked a goal. Actually, I think it was the last goal of the game, if I recall correctly. Fond memories!!!!
Ian Fairley kicked a goal with his last kick to go with the four goals that he kicked with his first four kicks in AFL(against WCE I think).Not many members of that exclusive club.

Don't remember that much as i was only 6-7 yrs old.
I do remember having the family car decorated in North colors though.

I remember 99 a bit more as i attended the prelim against Brisbane.

Ian Fairley kicked a goal with his last kick to go with the four goals that he kicked with his first four kicks in AFL(against WCE I think).Not many members of that exclusive club.
He kicked four on debut as an 18 year old against Hawthorn in round 7, 1983. Also kicked four in the prelim that year. Not a bad effort in an 86 point loss.

Before: Got an early train, only about 3 people in footy gear. Walked 2 laps of the G, just soaking it in before the ressies.

During: had great seats, but a couple of flogs with their Ralph Lauren pullovers folded over their shoulders who were barracking for Sydney because "it would be good for football" compounded my frustration early on.

No joke, at one stage in the 2nd quarter I said "this has Optus oval written all over it". I was talking to the friends I was sitting with, but about 20 North fans from the rows in front turned and agreed. (Ardent Roo I'd love to know where you were sitting!)
It was extremely tense.

Started to really enjoy it after the third Freeborn goal. Didn't believe we'd won it until Flossy nailed the last. His last kick in football was the last goal kicked in the first 100 years of VFL/AFL. Sweet record.

Caught the train back to Arden St. A packed carriage with 95% of passengers singing Join In The Chorus on loop from Jolimont to Nth Melbourne was an absolute highlight.

Still one of the best days of my life.

was playing in a golf tournament in 96 but finished my round in time to watch it. I reckon I was the only one supporting the roos in the entire club which made it more satisfying. Freeborn's 3 goals when we looked gone was the highlight and having Carey and Freeborn over for a supporter group function pre season 97 with the gold cup was fantastic. People were bringing life size cardboard cut outs of the roo boy promo for Carey to sign and when Carey and Freeborn were having kick to kick with the kids the kids. Carey at the bottom of the pack with 20 kids piled on top of him was hilarious

The lead up:-
Was working in Norther Territory early part of 96 and missed most part of the season and returned late July /early August.....and during the earlier finals was with my footy friends ...... traveling home after each game on the train ( Northern Suburbs ) was a blast. Remembering offering a kid (roughly 14 yrs old) his "Club 10" bib of Wayne Carey for $20 where he knocked it back........The euphoria on those train rides home were the best !!
We fronted up again in the prelim ( Brisbane ) for another win and sure enough met the same kid again on the train ....... well I couldn't finish my offer again when he quickly answered yes ( so there must have been a discussion with mum or dad after my initial offer ) so gladly bought it much to the amusement of those around us and promised to wear it for the grand final.

Game Day:-
I couldn't get a ticket sitting with my crew and it was a free for all but scored my ticket without any drama, right hand pocket, punt rd end and ended up sitting next to Corey McKernans grandad as it turned out and respectively had a great day chatting to him regarding history of the club etc ( he played for the club early days or his brother from memory but don't quote me). Explained to him the story about the bib and remember the day was a perfect sunny day........
Remember running into Ricky Nixon who actually sat out on the outer not far from me, quite surprising I thought when at the time he was the hottest player manager who just started the club 10 concept......who knows, maybe he was rubbing up the establishment the wrong way back then?

After we won :-
I made the pilgrimage to Arden st where we did the normal thing with the rest of the pack on the ground.........I then found out my neighbour was the bouncer on the door and he allowed me up stairs with all of the players.....was up there mingling for about 1.5 hours before making my way home.
Memories for life !!

edit :- Remembering telling Freeborn that he won it for us those 3 goals before half time swayed the game our way.

I was 6 at the time.
Had to watch it at home with my cousin as we were considered a bad omen.
Brutal upbringing lol

Story is, we begged and begged to be taken to the footy but due to playing Friday Night so frequently it was too cold or too late to take kids.

Lo and behold a beautiful sunny afternoon came along and we were playing Sydney at Princes Park.
My first game of footy was Paul Roos' milestone match and Lockett destroyed us.
Worst day at the footy ever.
Have hated Plugger and Roos since.

Didn't go to another game for the rest of the year however I do remember being at a restaurant on Keilor Road in Niddrie watching Sydney play Essendon
As Lockett took the mark it was gonna be a rematch of 1st vs 2nd.

Kids were staying home lol

Id worked in a remote location, overseas on an offshore construction vessel for 3 months prior to the prelim final. I was due off the friday before the prelim with 3 months pay of over $50k due to be paid on the Friday i got off.

I called the HR and payroll department a week before i got off to confirm my money would be paid into my account the day I got off. Home Friday i had several hundred dollars on me so spent the Friday and Saturday drinking partying and watching the prelim final. I go to atm at the G/F ticket line to get the cash for my my ticket and the atm tells me no funds available. Call the bank told no funds in the bank account. Call the payroll department to find out whats happened to my $50k and told payroll has a few days off so no one can help.

Finally get a call Thursday from payroll telling me sorry we forgot to transfer your money it will go in the 1st Friday of October; the week after the G/F.

I spent G/F day watching the game on some dodgy tv at a pub in Port Melbourne drinking water knowing i should have been at the game!

I can't remember if it was 96 or 99?But the last training session at Arden St. Beautiful spring day, thousands of supporters, the smell of sausage sizzle, the triple M tent, playing music and in particular Lucky Man by the Verve, sticks in my mind as one of my top life memories.

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk

Toast Your memories of 1996