• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

YVMDFL- Part 4

I listened to the last quarter of the Warby - Olinda game on the radio and it sounded like great game. If my memory serves me correctly, Warby kicked 2 goals in the last quarter as a result of 50 metre penalties. Are 50 metre penalties to harsh on the smaller grounds in the YVMDFL? Should we go the way of the EFL and make it a 25 metre penalty?

On a separate issue, when was the last time, if ever, Upwey dropped 4 in a row?

What do you mean by too harsh? The penalty is meant to be harsh to discourage people breaking rules. :confused:
If you mean the umps bugger it up too often and that makes it harsh then why have umps at all?
If the YVMDFL grounds were half the size of standard grounds, then it is ok to have half the distance. Since they are on average about 8% smaller than standard grounds down town, I reckon the 50 metres should be reduced to 46 metres. Thats fair.
But maybe not, because at Healesville 50m is hardly even noticed, but it can cross 2 lines on Belgraves marble rink. So all grounds should be assessed on their own with penalties set according to ground size. Tall players should have an extra 2m penalty and old bald guys and 1st yr senior players can apply for a 2m reduction.
All umps should carry tape measures and a spreadsheet table of the distances and exemptions to make sure that it is accurate and fair. :D

I listened to the last quarter of the Warby - Olinda game on the radio and it sounded like great game. If my memory serves me correctly, Warby kicked 2 goals in the last quarter as a result of 50 metre penalties. Are 50 metre penalties to harsh on the smaller grounds in the YVMDFL? Should we go the way of the EFL and make it a 25 metre penalty?

On a separate issue, when was the last time, if ever, Upwey dropped 4 in a row?
We lost 4 in a row in both 1985 & 1986 but lost 6 in a row (Rounds 12,13,14,15,16 & 17) in 2005

What do you mean by too harsh? The penalty is meant to be harsh to discourage people breaking rules. :confused:
If you mean the umps bugger it up too often and that makes it harsh then why have umps at all?
If the YVMDFL grounds were half the size of standard grounds, then it is ok to have half the distance. Since they are on average about 8% smaller than standard grounds down town, I reckon the 50 metres should be reduced to 46 metres. Thats fair.
But maybe not, because at Healesville 50m is hardly even noticed, but it can cross 2 lines on Belgraves marble rink. So all grounds should be assessed on their own with penalties set according to ground size. Tall players should have an extra 2m penalty and old bald guys and 1st yr senior players can apply for a 2m reduction.
All umps should carry tape measures and a spreadsheet table of the distances and exemptions to make sure that it is accurate and fair. :D

That's my point; an easy shot at goal from a 50 metre penalty on the half back line seems a bit disproportionate to the offence. I never mentioned that it's not meant to discourage players from breaking the rules, or umpires getting it wrong.

As for the rest of your drivel, I'll treat it as such.

Maybe you miss the point.
The 50m penalty is actually a penalty imposed when a 'Free kick' has already been given, but a further offence has occurred - 50m being a reasonable assessment of a kick's distance.
It seems that your concern is more about penalties being 'disproportionate' to the offences. But disproportionate to what? You didn't specify anything and there are a number of offences that can draw a 50m penalty. Similarly, there are number of offences that draw a free kick. If the beef is with perceived minor breeches, then identify them and put a case for changing those. The 50 metre distance is neither here nor there. It is simply a reasonable measure of a free kick's distance.
The remaining 'drivel' was just taking the micky out of your suggestion by pointing out that no two situations are the same and it is impractical to have a specific penalty for each. Take it any way you like.

new goal kicking record

Andrew Warburton 323747
Dylan Bingos 21
Dean Hart 21
Lukas Appleby 19
Grant Weeks 18

beats the bloke who got 42 the other week

bit dead on here lately. suprising given the number of big games in both 1st and 2nd divy and how the ladder is shaping up coming into finals!

Good game between seville and emerald on the weekend. Didnt know who was going to win until midway through the the last quarter which is rare for both teams. Looks like the double chance will come down to percentage...

Actually the Emerald v Seville result was one of the 1st I checked when the moby started beeping at 6.30pm Satdy evening. I have heard a continual push that Seville is the team to beat in 2011. It appears there is now a very genuine challenger. Or perhaps Seville have become the challenger ??

A BIG shout out for the Warby players & faithful for coming in the log cabin after the game. Not just staying for 1 drink but many. They have always have been a good bunch of blokes & ladies despite our hard fought battles on the field. It really added to the great atmosphere on a special day for the Hawkers with the 91 Reunion being celebrated. A great crowd in great weather enjoying country footy played at its best.
A thankyou also to the YVMDFL officials - present & past who attended as well. It was great to see Mr Ramage on the evening to present league medallions to the premiership side -he had a few crackin stories.

.... side note.... A few of us youngins always thought we were playing for a memorial trophy when we play Gembrook each year... OOPS:eek:

bit dead on here lately. suprising given the number of big games in both 1st and 2nd divy and how the ladder is shaping up coming into finals!

Good game between seville and emerald on the weekend. Didnt know who was going to win until midway through the the last quarter which is rare for both teams. Looks like the double chance will come down to percentage...

Totally agree Well Connected. Second division down to 2 real chances. With the pump up of Seville on this forum over the year i thought the would win i a canter. Are they overrated? Or are Emerald better than credited for?

With 4 games to go in 1st division it has 7 teams shooting for 5 places. I would think Monbulk and Olinda are safe (although Olinda has some tough games to come). The other spots could be a raffle. There could be a real chance that the two grand finalist from last year can miss the finals. Has that happened before?

There could be a real chance that the two grand finalist from last year can miss the finals. Has that happened before?

Not for 30 years. Mount Evelyn have a very difficult run home. Gembrook will probably need to win at either Olinda or Monbulk to make it. Upwey have four winnable games and are in the box seat for the double chance now. Olinda v Monbulk on the 20th of August could be interesting.

A BIG shout out for the Warby players & faithful for coming in the log cabin after the game. Not just staying for 1 drink but many. They have always have been a good bunch of blokes & ladies despite our hard fought battles on the field. It really added to the great atmosphere on a special day for the Hawkers with the 91 Reunion being celebrated. A great crowd in great weather enjoying country footy played at its best.
A thankyou also to the YVMDFL officials - present & past who attended as well. It was great to see Mr Ramage on the evening to present league medallions to the premiership side -he had a few crackin stories.

.... side note.... A few of us youngins always thought we were playing for a memorial trophy when we play Gembrook each year... OOPS:eek:
Harold very much alive, but the trophy is actually named for the 'Ramage Family', of which Harold is one elder statesman. A wonderful ornament of the game and Gembrook.
It was a truly great day and Warby, as always, passionate yet gracious.
The day did have its drama when a young Kooka was badly injured in a frightening accident. How is the boy, Humpa?

Hearing whispers that Gemmy are in some strife, could be their last legitimate shot at it this year. Coach leaving along with a number of key players, any confirmation on this? Only heard it through a mate of a mate.

The day did have its drama when a young Kooka was badly injured in a frightening accident. How is the boy, Humpa?

The young bloke got the all clear for any structural damage to his back. He had pinched a nerve in his lower back. A massive thumbs up to the trainers for how the situation was handled and Monbulk U18s for understanding the situation considering how close the game was.

Hearing whispers that Gemmy are in some strife, could be their last legitimate shot at it this year. Coach leaving along with a number of key players, any confirmation on this? Only heard it through a mate of a mate.

This may or may not be true but is it just me or do people worry about a person who finds the need to post on a internet forum at 4.30 am.:eek:

The young bloke got the all clear for any structural damage to his back. He had pinched a nerve in his lower back. A massive thumbs up to the trainers for how the situation was handled and Monbulk U18s for understanding the situation considering how close the game was.
A relief.
Best wishes to him - and his family, who would have had some anxious moments.

Totally agree Well Connected. Second division down to 2 real chances. With the pump up of Seville on this forum over the year i thought the would win i a canter. Are they overrated? Or are Emerald better than credited for?

Not much between the 2 sides. I was quietly confident seville would get up on the weekend given they looked like they were at full strength (maybe a couple out? mark holly was 1 of them) but Emerald showed that they are just as big a chance to go all the way. They looked quick and would be dangerous on the bigger grounds where finals are played.

The blues have to go back to the drawing board and maybe swing a few changes too add a bit of leg speed, I know they have the depth for it.

Its a great rivalry this year. Both clubs clearly have the best 1s, 2s and 18s sides in 2nd divy.

If we work on the assumption that Emerald and Seville are odds on to play in the GF and that either could pull it off depending how they are on the day, are there any thoughts on which one would cope better after being promoted to Division 1?

Wouldn't say they are in strife J6. Part of your whisper is true with the coach stepping aside at the years end citing family and promotion at work. He is staying on at the club in a reduced capacity though and no players leaving. I think with the brookers young list (have to be equal or close 2nd to Olinda) they will be in good shape for many years to come.

Having said that i think the flag will come from 4th or 5th place this year IMO. If Woori scrape in and get back their VFL boys (which they will) then look out. Same with Brookers - no one has got hold of them this year with all but two losses being under 12 points. 4 straight wins from 4th or 5th to take it out...Has it been done before Derby?

No, Upwey made the grand final in 2003 from the Elimination, but got unmercifully pounded by Woori. That was the first year of the final five, so it hasn't been in all that long. I don't know about Gembrook now. I reckon Shipp was the missing piece in the puzzle, but he looked like he could hardly walk on Saturday. Is he going to try and get back this season?

Wow, that was quick Derby. Thanks.

Shipp was on fire in the first 10 mins on sat with 3 shots at goal but suffered a new injury not connected to why he has been out. Hopes to still play this week though. No doubt about it - missing shipp has hurt us this year. He makes us a 4 to 5 goal better side.

Wouldn't say they are in strife J6. Part of your whisper is true with the coach stepping aside at the years end citing family and promotion at work. He is staying on at the club in a reduced capacity though and no players leaving. I think with the brookers young list (have to be equal or close 2nd to Olinda) they will be in good shape for many years to come.

Your bias surely blinds you RHT. Gembrook it would be fair to say have the oldest list in Div 1.