Roast Club Propaganda & Media Censoring

A few of us have been saying it for years, even against the fanbois on here who go on about how much great depth we have, but we have poor depth and spread of experience.

We have heaps of depth of flakey flankers who look good when things are going well, but our list management and recruiting staff have a poor record on building the correct depth and spread of experience of KPDs, KPFs and Rucks. We are good at recruiting talls who are really flankers, but we aren't good at recruiting key talls.
We had this exact same issue in 2015/16 when we all thought we had great depth in Aaron Young, Sam Gray etc and they were flash in the pan flankers like what we have now. Young had one really good year then was gone, same as countless others from that era. Our depth wasn't good enough then same as it isn't now.

So two or three list builds later we have the same list issues we had in 2015/16. This time the list is a lot older, and the only way out of it is to rebuild properly through the draft not through the trade period. Someone at the club has to make that call and stick to it. Not try and make finals to make up numbers and not bottom out. The eternal 6th-11th finishes achieve nothing. It keeps us barely relevant but also keeps us out of the running for the elite talent in the draft. Which is what we need.

We all knew coming into this year our list wasn't good enough to win a Premiership pre the injuries to Dixon, Aliir, Fantasia and co. We knew that because we got smashed by 71 points in a home preliminary final. The list gap between us and Melbourne, Brisbane and the Bulldogs who would be the top 3 contenders pre season is they all have elite midfielders and a game breaker like Petracca, Bontempelli etc and we don't. Plus those sides have a gameplan that they know holds up under pressure, Brisbane haven't got to the Grand Final yet but they're a lot closer then we are. Also we had two year with a golden chance to win at least one, maybe two flags with barely any hub stays or disruptions but we couldn't handle the pressure while other clubs like Richmond & Melbourne thrived under the pressure. Mentally our group isn't as tough as those two and the Bulldogs and the results speak for themselves. In the trade period we added another flaky forward flanker in Finlayson and targeted Sinn in the draft. Sinn looks like he'll be a player in time, as long as he's given the time. But we needed a elite midfielder who could break the lines, and use the footy something we didn't target.

Where we sit this year isn't a great surprise, the ass fell out in the preliminary final and those wounds are still there. Only Hinkley and co didn't want to act on it and ignored all the signs and now we sit 0-3 with likely 10-12 sides passing us in one pre season.

Circling the wagon and ignoring criticism from outside the inner circle is classic corporate thinking that you only focus on yourselves and block out all the negativity. The Tony Robbins type stuff but more corporate consulting stuff as Robbins only looks at individuals.

It also comes from the big international sports clubs. But they are privately owned and they don't really give a stuff about their season ticket holders - they don't have members (Green Bay Packers are somewhat of an exception as they have shareholders who have season tickets).

Although Euro soccer clubs more than North American sports do listen to the noise from season ticket holders and sack coaches quickly and it's an accepted part of the culture of the sport and coaches find jobs quickly elsewhere, rather than the restricted market sports.

We are supposed to be a membership club, not owned by an individual or group of individuals, but when the going gets tough, we are treated like season ticket holders too often.
I wonder what Tony Robbins thinks a reasonable time is for a coach in afl to reach the GF.

Time for Ken to

810GxjhaO+L.jpeg

I kind of agree with the sentiment on flakey flankers... but I think our flakey flankers are shit. They don't even really do that much when the going is good - Bonner, Burton, DBJ have all been mediocre over the journey (barring one year from DBJ) - at least compared to some of the best small defenders in the league.

I'm thinking Houston and Amon as wings so am leaving them out, they've improved as outside mids.

If only there was an easy way to offer hope to the masses and buy time to get things right.

Something like sacking the coach.
If you look at it as a whole sacking Hinkley aside the club has offered us the members and supporters absolutely nothing, and continues to do so.

Since that preliminary final the club has changed the membership set up to digital, caused how many issues for people with it, barely get back to people on it to help with their issues. They've just taken the money and gone silent. I understand they're not running a full staff due to covid but it's not acceptable, any other business did it with their customer service you'd take your business elsewhere. It's deplorable. People are still waiting for membership packs in round 4, like it's a chore for the club to provide them. Yet celebrities are getting gift packs and hand written notes from Richo and co because they're more important then us according to the club. We don't matter to them now, anything they say is just lip service to placate the happy clappers.

You go to post the preliminary final, they've actively hidden Hinkley for the majority of the pre season. They wouldn't even post a picture of him as they know the backlash it will cop with the fans angst which is warranted against Hinkley. We know as a fact post the preliminary final Hinkley sought out Kane Cornes and Tredders to have a go at them about how they covered that debacle. Like the home truths hit a bit to hard for Hinkley. We know Kane is again back in line with Ken, his weekend nonsense proved that. I'd love to know how the same chat went with Tredders who wouldn't take Ken's BS and is known to want him gone or isn't a fan of him at all.

We've got Koch and his bullshit with the financial side of it. His AGM performance makes no sense in relation to how we made off field moves in regards to our assistants and football department spend. Something stinks there.

Then you get to the actual footy side of it and we are a debacle. The Brisbane game I could live with the result as injuries had a bearing on the outcome, but signs from that game showed themselves in the Showdown loss, which as David King put this morning is as down to utter poor coaching as it is player execution. The Hawthorn game when honouring our greatest ever player was a utter embarrassment to the club and everything it stands for. Now we have players telling us to get in line with Ken or piss off basically. Which is utterly disgusting and disgraceful. I tried to con myself into being optimistic for season 2022 but deep down like everyone else I knew what was coming. We'd seen it all throughout Ken's reign, and I've seen this post the 2007 GF, we made the same mistakes now as we did back then.

It's not a good time to be a Port Adelaide supporter, we are being shat on by the club and expected to take it so as we don't hurt the players and coaches feelings.

If you look at it as a whole sacking Hinkley aside the club has offered us the members and supporters absolutely nothing, and continues to do so.

Since that preliminary final the club has changed the membership set up to digital, caused how many issues for people with it, barely get back to people on it to help with their issues. They've just taken the money and gone silent. I understand they're not running a full staff due to covid but it's not acceptable, any other business did it with their customer service you'd take your business elsewhere. It's deplorable. People are still waiting for membership packs in round 4, like it's a chore for the club to provide them. Yet celebrities are getting gift packs and hand written notes from Richo and co because they're more important then us according to the club. We don't matter to them now, anything they say is just lip service to placate the happy clappers.

You go to post the preliminary final, they've actively hidden Hinkley for the majority of the pre season. They wouldn't even post a picture of him as they know the backlash it will cop with the fans angst which is warranted against Hinkley. We know as a fact post the preliminary final Hinkley sought out Kane Cornes and Tredders to have a go at them about how they covered that debacle. Like the home truths hit a bit to hard for Hinkley. We know Kane is again back in line with Ken, his weekend nonsense proved that. I'd love to know how the same chat went with Tredders who wouldn't take Ken's BS and is known to want him gone or isn't a fan of him at all.

We've got Koch and his bullshit with the financial side of it. His AGM performance makes no sense in relation to how we made off field moves in regards to our assistants and football department spend. Something stinks there.

Then you get to the actual footy side of it and we are a debacle. The Brisbane game I could live with the result as injuries had a bearing on the outcome, but signs from that game showed themselves in the Showdown loss, which as David King put this morning is as down to utter poor coaching as it is player execution. The Hawthorn game when honouring our greatest ever player was a utter embarrassment to the club and everything it stands for. Now we have players telling us to get in line with Ken or piss off basically. Which is utterly disgusting and disgraceful. I tried to con myself into being optimistic for season 2022 but deep down like everyone else I knew what was coming. We'd seen it all throughout Ken's reign, and I've seen this post the 2007 GF, we made the same mistakes now as we did back then.

It's not a good time to be a Port Adelaide supporter, we are being shat on by the club and expected to take it so as we don't hurt the players and coaches feelings.
good summation mate.

The coaching panel and changes within are hugely underwhelming and even when last year was Covid affected, I am sure we were spending a truck load more in there. Voss and Schoey gone replaced with Kelly. No one else? Then, McKeown gone too and another internal promotion. We are being told that the dept is fully funded. Seems to me they are significantly lacking not only in numbers but quality too....

Mate, this is absolutely 💯

Listening to Dixon berate Port supporters was pretty much the straw that broke the camel's back for me. The most un-Port Adelaide thing I've heard... cRowie was loving every second of it

Boak kicks the goal and we might scrape past one of the worst sides of all time. Then go on our merry way to get smashed in the weeks after anyway.

good summation mate.

The coaching panel and changes within are hugely underwhelming and even when last year was Covid affected, I am sure we were spending a truck load more in there. Voss and Schoey gone replaced with Kelly. No one else? Then, McKeown gone too and another internal promotion. We are being told that the dept is fully funded. Seems to me they are significantly lacking not only in numbers but quality too....
Something stinks with it. They claim our football department is fully funded, but as you say we only promoted from within and in assistant coaching ranks we only gained one from the Giants in a development role off the top of my head.

Something doesn't add up. Some people have claimed the club is saving money for the Hinkley payout but I don't buy it. In it's current guise I won't give the club that credit for being that forward thinking. It doesn't match up with the current MO as I stated in my previous post.

The club used to be transparent with its dealings. At the moment it seems to me that it isn't. I maybe a tad cynical here with what's happening on and off field as I've lost faith in the direction the club has taken, but to me something doesn't add up.

I don't pretend to understand the AGM financial proclamations, that's out of my wheelhouse. REH is better informed to explain it then anyone but something is off in my opinion.

A month is a long time in football

Port Adelaide CEO Matthew Richardson: "If you look at our first nine rounds as a starting point, it’s very easy to be excited about our 2022 campaign.

I also like where these heck wits giving Ken gobbies in the media are somehow able to forget the last 9 years. If Boak kicks that goal.... like it was just that one failure. Boak kicks that goal and we fall over the line against a team of spuds, and the cracks are papered over once again. Do one you morons.

And how did that hold up last year you ******* pelican?

This pisstake honestly starting to get baffling

Really starting to dislike these entitled w***ers
Players can say what they want to.

None is going to blast the coach. They'd never be picked again 😕
I don't worry too much about such public proclamations.

What they say and think behind closed doors is open to conjecture and not necessarily one and the same thing 🤔

Roast Club Propaganda & Media Censoring