Opinion Commentary & Media V

The kicker for me was that she was actually trying to play down the fact that the club CEO was investigated for getting pissed up at a Xmas function and making sleazy comments to female attendees. Could you imagine if Amarfio did that? She'd be calling for the death penalty.
Yeah and I heard her on AW pre game yesterday and she was saying “ it was eight years ago” as if it excuses sleazebag behaviour.

Dunstall just have TT a clip on bounce...

On SM-G991B using BigFooty.com mobile app
b6bb05a2968e3d11e3544d39cb3c6ac6

Send him this one of his mate after he ran through the back of Robbie Flower

For what ? That tackle ?
Nah, TT put a ball under his jumper before the game and walked around with it, Dunstall chirped something like "if he could get his hands on it he'd be a lot better" or something along them terms.

Tongue in cheek, but not, if you know what I mean...

Nah, TT put a ball under his jumper before the game and walked around with it, Dunstall chirped something like "if he could get his hands on it he'd be a lot better" or something along them terms.

Tongue in cheek, but not, if you know what I mean...

I despise these variety footy shows, unfunny people with brain dead opinions

Good on Garry for pointing out the elephant in the room, but I do want to correct him on his rub of the green comment. I’m sure I saw the Umpires rubbing the ***** of Melbourne players, so unless they all have some weird STD there was no green in site. In saying that Clayton Oliver’s head looks like something you would expect to see after a copping a bad dose of herpes. F10B9B1C-5227-46F7-870E-AB76AB6DE6A5.png

I went back to Friday's RSN interview with Boomer after seeing his comments re Stevo.

Link:

1min in - Boomer could be inducted into the AFL hall of fame
6-12mins :His comments about Stevo/ AFL player standards/ games being gifted to players who don't deserve it.

I hate to agree with Cooney on anything but I do agree on this (albeit COVID is still a big issue). I don't have an issue with umpires not being abused by players or spoken to poorly, interpreting arms up or disappointment as dissent is going to have the opposite impact intended though.

Fundamentally the AFL as an organisation seems to have some oddly bipolar views at times. For a comp that seems to believe that the aesthetics of the game itself are more important than fairness it is strange that they are regularly implementing rules that fans - typically on both sides of the free kick - simply do not like seeing in the game. They need a reality check that they are not bigger than the game. Protection of players and umpires is fine, no issues whatsover. But the trend of cheap 50m's and free kicks (over the last 1-2 decades) for such things as deliberate, dissent, being too close to a player or twitching a leg whilst on the mark are simply not rules that respect the viewer / spectator. People want to see games won and loss by skill, physicality, hard work and tactics - not by the equivalent of lawyers free kicks. It is the opposite ethos of a blue collar based game for goals - and wins - to come from these types of decisions.

I hate to agree with Cooney on anything but I do agree on this (albeit COVID is still a big issue). I don't have an issue with umpires not being abused by players or spoken to poorly, interpreting arms up or disappointment as dissent is going to have the opposite impact intended though.

Fundamentally the AFL as an organisation seems to have some oddly bipolar views at times. For a comp that seems to believe that the aesthetics of the game itself are more important than fairness it is strange that they are regularly implementing rules that fans - typically on both sides of the free kick - simply do not like seeing in the game. They need a reality check that they are not bigger than the game. Protection of players and umpires is fine, no issues whatsover. But the trend of cheap 50m's and free kicks (over the last 1-2 decades) for such things as deliberate, dissent, being too close to a player or twitching a leg whilst on the mark are simply not rules that respect the viewer / spectator. People want to see games won and loss by skill, physicality, hard work and tactics - not by the equivalent of lawyers free kicks. It is the opposite ethos of a blue collar based game for goals - and wins - to come from these types of decisions.
Gil is a toff.

They are naturally authoritarian, defer to rule makers and have nfi generally.

Gil is a toff.

They are naturally authoritarian, defer to rule makers and have nfi generally.
Reckon you're spot on, the organisation itself has this issue though as well.

It's just baffling though when you take a step back and look at it in isolation. Player / Umpire protection makes sense. What person anywhere that enjoys football was thinking a year ago - I know what we need, players should get a free 50m penalty if their opponent moves an inch to the side whilst on the mark. It is absolute nonsense and offers nothing to the spectacle or aesthetic of the sport at all.

It's also kind of ironic given they happily bend the rules at the MRP for the right kind of players or teams to manufacture results.

Reckon you're spot on, the organisation itself has this issue though as well.

It's just baffling though when you take a step back and look at it in isolation. Player / Umpire protection makes sense. What person anywhere that enjoys football was thinking a year ago - I know what we need, players should get a free 50m penalty if their opponent moves an inch to the side whilst on the mark. It is absolute nonsense and offers nothing to the spectacle or aesthetic of the sport at all.

It's also kind of ironic given they happily bend the rules at the MRP for the right kind of players or teams to manufacture results.
Entitled w***ers with no clue ruining the sport?

It looks like it from here.

Could have even just made that stand law one where you don't move off your mark till the kick or play on but they just go full fascist about it. Wave your arms wrong or fart loudly and its 50. Crazy stuff.

Numbers are down everywhere (not just AFL games) compared to pre-covid numbers. People have gotten used to not going out.

I know plenty of people who used to never miss a live game but since being stuck watching on tv they've decided they like it more and have continued (unless it's a marquee game).

Numbers are down everywhere (not just AFL games) compared to pre-covid numbers. People have gotten used to not going out.

I know plenty of people who used to never miss a live game but since being stuck watching on tv they've decided they like it more and have continued (unless it's a marquee game).
Ive been to most of our melbourne games thus far, bar the game on Saturday. It was election day and I had bags. 🤷‍♂️

Caro on Nine news says that we are the subject of many conversations at AFL due to our standard of play and crowd numbers dragging down the competition. When pressed a little by Chompers she said its about priority picks and more. Chompers asked relocation? Caro said - I didn't say that.

Caro on Seven news says that we are the subject of many conversations at AFL due to our standard of play and crowd numbers dragging down the competition. When pressed a little by Chompers she said its about priority picks and more. Chompers asked relocation? Caro said - I didn't say that.
She basically said Nobes had lost the players and she wouldn’t be surprised if their was a new coach next season.