Don't want, (or need) to start a new thread - still want to post it though

If you could be a Part of a Collingwood team of any era (irrespective of whether we won a flag in it or not), to be Premiers which team would you pick?

Nice one Marty. This will require true dedication. It is odd that a landlocked country has produced a few of the greatest swimmers of all time (Krisztina Egerszegi and Katinka Hosszu two of my faves), but Hungary has that record.

Early night finals and an 8 hour time difference mean the main action will be happening around 2-3am our time. Might have to concede defeat and watch on delay.

Nice one Marty. This will require true dedication. It is odd that a landlocked country has produced a few of the greatest swimmers of all time (Krisztina Egerszegi and Katinka Hosszu two of my faves), but Hungary has that record.

Early night finals and an 8 hour time difference mean the main action will be happening around 2-3am our time. Might have to concede defeat and watch on delay.

having driven around lake balaton in hungary in late summer with acres of traffic and people, i can tell you that half the country seems to go there to swim - probably a heap of germans too. The other thing I remember are a multitude of dentists who the germans go to.....so i'd expect there's a lot of hungarian dentists who are into doing laps...

Yeah the finals will be a struggle to watch live,and the US Open Golf is on at that time also.

watched most of carlton richmond and I'm interested in the michael voss effect at the blues. We know his reputation when he was playing and his initial coaching at brisbane. the narrative says that he has changed since then but you only have to see him conduct himself, to see that he doesnt tolerate players doing the wrong thing. The reason that i'm finding this interesting is that I think some of buckley's downfall relates to the players not enyoying the coach's expectations - even though he said that he was more concerned about growth etc. Playing for the coach is all very nice, but it cant go to the level where players are afraid of making a mistake. It will be interesting to see if voss can allow his players enjoy their footy or whether they freeze up...
The Blues are in all sorts. The way things stand they will start favorite in only 3 or 4 of their remaining games. 5 out of the 9 left are against the other top 6 teams. They are a massive chance to fall out of the 8. Vossy will get his chance to go psycho.

yeh its the scenario that might release his hidden monster. Evidently, he went bananas in a huddle last week. I've seen a few phone smash type things when the telecast do one of their endless monitoring the coaches shots. He's not the docile domesticated animal that he portrays most of the time. Not that a bit of passion is necessarily going to bust the whole thing up. I think a few successful coaches in very recent times have gone ape....but he brings a kind of physical imtimidation and his own historical expectations to the table, that is not dissimilar to buckleys. I wonder how the current generation of players will respond. A replay of his brissie years would be a welcome show to watch

All coaches turn into psychos. It just takes the better blokes a bit longer.

Bailey Smith gets 2 weeks, which I reckon is about right.
Remind me, what did our boys get again????

I used to think about coaches like Ron Barassi, about how hard it would sometimes be not to laugh at the old toss during one of his tirades. I like to imagine that I would've told Blight to go root himself if he tried to make me sit outside the huddle.

Voss is a different proposition. Genuine menace, the animal not far beneath the surface, I think that some Carlton blokes would be well frightened to make a mistake.

Whatever you think of JDG's "indiscretions" in Bali his points on the media causing anguish on peoples lives are valid.
I find it interesting on how the media has totally pushed back on them and doubled down in the case of Murdoch (shock horror). Their toxic reporting really is the worst of gutter journalism and Rudd's campaign to have a royal commission on them needs to come to pass. And not only Murdoch, on all journalism.

Whatever you think of JDG's "indiscretions" in Bali his points on the media causing anguish on peoples lives are valid.
I find it interesting on how the media has totally pushed back on them and doubled down in the case of Murdoch (shock horror). Their toxic reporting really is the worst of gutter journalism and Rudd's campaign to have a royal commission on them needs to come to pass. And not only Murdoch, on all journalism.
Toxic, malicious and careless reporting is with us for the long haul. The secret is avoid it by leaving no trace of your activities. Give them nothing and they have nothing to use on you.

Given they invent things with no repercussions, I don't really think this is the way to go.

just clicked into the NBA draft for a minute.... nice to see that the NBA is actually employing a visitor from another planet to announce the draft names....

I think that's very progressive