Oppo Camp Finals - The Other Ones

Every coach fumes, gets exasperated and looks petulant from time to time.

These seem to be the permanent settings for Dimma Hardwick. Along with his tendency to have a verbal sook, it makes him an annoying and unlikable guy.

Watching Richmond lose a final is great
Watching Richmond lose a final by 2 points is fantastic
Watching Richmond lose a final by 2 points in highly controversial circumstances is..

Stick Around Bob Ross GIF by Originals

Lol loving the salty tears coming from their board! Finally we don’t have to deal with them anymore this year. Now to knock out Geelong!

I dislike Lynch and Zorko evenly. Was hard to choose. But glad the Tigers are out.

Lynch is paid the big bucks to kick that and had it in his own hands to win it , dont blame the score review for that

That being said , they need to fix the farce that is the review system , its 2022 not 1993 , invest in it on the main grounds
Focussed spotties in the tops of the goal and point posts. Laser's wouldn't be allowed.

I don’t disagree with Dimma though

It’s baffling to me that the AFL still hasn’t invested in the proper cameras required to have a proper review system

They need full HD cameras that record at 120 (or 240) frames per second for goal line decisions and they need a GoPro at the top of each post pointing to the sky

That would cost them f**k all in the grand scheme of things but it would also ensure at least 99.99% accuracy in the review system

The stupidity of it is, they have cameras that record at the required frame rate and they use them for promotion fluff bullsh*t

I don’t disagree with Dimma though

It’s baffling to me that the AFL still hasn’t invested in the proper cameras required to have a proper review system

They need full HD cameras that record at 120 (or 240) frames per second for goal line decisions and they need a GoPro at the top of each post pointing to the sky

That would cost them f**k all in the grand scheme of things but it would also ensure at least 99.99% accuracy in the review system

The stupidity of it is, they have cameras that record at the required frame rate and they use them for promotion fluff bullsh*t
It was a behind…don’t get how they over turned it. But you could tell from Lynch’s reaction it was a behind. If anything I thought the umpires were trying to stitch up Brisbane in the last quarter

Yeah, very poor look.

His season is on the line with 2 minutes left on the clock, and his highest paid player takes a set shot 5 meters out from goal and kicks it over post height to force an ARC review.

And he wants to blame the ARC?!?

+ somebody needs to teach BT and Hardwick how basic trigonometry works. When the ball goes over the post the ARC operator is not looking for a “definitive angle” because there is no such thing. They are simply looking to see if the ball is directly over the post in one angle, and if the ball is also directly over the post from a different angle, then the ball is deemed to have hit the post. Pretty basic really. Any Year 8 Trigonometry student would know that. And the ARC operator did explain that quite clearly.

Yes.

Every coach fumes, gets exasperated and looks petulant from time to time.

These seem to be the permanent settings for Dimma Hardwick. Along with his tendency to have a verbal sook, it makes him an annoying and unlikable guy.
If the decision was a goal BNE would have been irate. So the papers/media would still have been full of protest about the folly of technology.

No win situation when you really think about it.

I’m over this BS about getting rid of the technology. We arguably lost a GF when technology would have actually confirmed Rocca’s kick was a goal.

When it comes to fewer mistakes the technology wins every time.
There should be no talk of getting rid of the technology, it should be about investing in it properly to avoid instances like this. The multitude of UHD camera angles we see in other pro sports compared to ours is ridiculous. Look at the slow-motion, super zoomed in footage present in the NFL, or the F1.

They need sharks with freakin’ laser beams atop the posts and firing vertically into the sky. Then if a ball goes over the top, it will come back down cut in half like Obi Wan cleft it in twain with a light sabre. Behind!

Yeah, very poor look.

His season is on the line with 2 minutes left on the clock, and his highest paid player takes a set shot 5 meters out from goal and kicks it over post height to force an ARC review.

And he wants to blame the ARC?!?

+ somebody needs to teach BT and Hardwick how basic trigonometry works. When the ball goes over the post the ARC operator is not looking for a “definitive angle” because there is no such thing. They are simply looking to see if the ball is directly over the post in one angle, and if the ball is also directly over the post from a different angle, then the ball is deemed to have hit the post. Pretty basic really. Any Year 8 Trigonometry student would know that. And the ARC operator did explain that quite clearly.
Basic Trig uses factual figures not approximate eye site. There is no possible way that can be called anything more than probable certainly not definitive. Conclusive evidence is required in this situation. The only evidence that was Conclusive was Lynch's face. It was the wrong call despite getting the right decision

It was a behind…don’t get how they over turned it. But you could tell from Lynch’s reaction it was a behind. If anything I thought the umpires were trying to stitch up Brisbane in the last quarter

I'm not necessarily arguing the accuracy of the decision

Just speaking to the system's obvious inadequacies as a whole

Lol some melter on the Richmond board complaining about the behind using an image that shows exactly why it was called a behind.

View attachment 1496965

Here, I'll help ya out buddy...

View attachment 1496963
TBH I'm more than happy that the decision went against the flogs - but I still dont know how it got overturned (meaning Goal umpires goal call was in correct) from looking at a TV screen from an absurd angle - if it was the Pies we would be furious.

Inconculsive means the goal umpires call is always the best option.

I was watching the presser Dimma did where Tom Browne said his "sources" told him that the ARC does look at player reactions as evidence.

Surely that is not true
I reckon that would not be an official thing.

It's a pretty good indicator though - not one Tiger player celebrated that kick.

Questions: Can the goal umpire make a non call? Say to the field umpire…I’m not sure either way…let the ARC decide?
Can a field umpire give his input…I thought it was or was not a goal?

The only clear angle would be from an array of camera’s mounted on the Grandstand behind the goals (lining up kicker, ball & posts).
I was actually surprised the goal umpire called a goal…from my lounge chair 6,000 km from the Gabba, it was obviously a point.

Oppo Camp Finals - The Other Ones