Analysis Hawks 2022 Hypothetical trades (read the pinned post)

Firstly, the "No Kane Cornes" Rule is back

Last edited by a moderator:
I can’t believe no one’s mentioned Jack Graham….he is exactly what we need and only 24. Richmond had him penciled in for their next captain 🤯
Doesn't he have 1 year left and held in high regard, reckon tigers will want something decent for him if a trade was to happen

If we get 7 and say 42 and 47 for mitchell (equates to 27) would lions take 24 42 47 for 15’and a future 3rd say 51 to help with McCabe as I figure we lose f2 for pick 7. Use 49 and 61 on meek. Taking 6, 7,15 to the draft with Amon bowes and meek in plus Lawrence. Also is there a possibility of draft sanctions against hawthorn as a result of this investigation? If so surely it couldn’t affect the 2022 draft but would potentially impact how we value our 2023 picks

I can’t believe no one’s mentioned Jack Graham….he is exactly what we need and only 24. Richmond had him penciled in for their next captain 🤯
He might be a strong leader but he is an average footballer from what I’ve seen.

A struggling Worpel is still a better footballer than him.

Option 1
Wardlaw/Tsatas/Sheezel/Cadman + Hollands/Hewitt/Phillipou (may slide)

Option 2
2 of Clark/Humphrey/Jefferson

And you'd select Option 2?
Sam would take option 1.

Very hopeful hypothetical best 22 for next year.

FB: J. Sicily J. Blanck B. Hardwick
HB: W. Day S. Frost J. Scrimshaw
C: K. Amon J. Newcombe C. Jiath
FOL: N. Reeves J. O'Meara T. Mitchell
HF: D. Moore J. Gunston C. MacDonald
FF: L. Breust M. Lewis C. Wingard
INT: L. Meek. H. Morrison J. Ward F. Maginness
EME: C. McKensie S. Butler L. Bramble C. Nash

Geez that team is bloody good. Although there are only 3 new faces it still feels like a much stronger side. A strong off season could change everything.
Just swap out Frost for DGB.

Will come down to Bowes preference though won't it? He's contracted and doesn't have to go anywhere other than his preferred destination.
You win that battle then I think you win the war

Very hopeful hypothetical best 22 for next year.

FB: J. Sicily J. Blanck B. Hardwick
HB: W. Day S. Frost J. Scrimshaw
C: K. Amon J. Newcombe C. Jiath
FOL: N. Reeves J. O'Meara T. Mitchell
HF: D. Moore J. Gunston C. MacDonald
FF: L. Breust M. Lewis C. Wingard
INT: L. Meek. H. Morrison J. Ward F. Maginness
EME: C. McKensie S. Butler L. Bramble C. Nash

Geez that team is bloody good. Although there are only 3 new faces it still feels like a much stronger side. A strong off season could change everything.
DGB?? Not even an emergency

I get the feeling that given Sam is seeking to learn and knows the list needs to execute his game plan, I suspect he and McKenzie would be reasonably aligned?
It was tongue in cheek mate because Sam like Clarko before him would have a say in who we drafted. But i still maintain we would stay with 6 and 7. I understand the urge for pick 2

Apologies! I’m terrible at picking it up over messages! 😂😂

IMO - either would be an amazing hand so wouldn’t be worried either way!

We have to convince Bowes to come. I'd even look at taking on Atkins contract too if it helped.

Convincing Bowes to join us would completely remove any of the disappointment of missing out on Bruhn and O. Henry. It really is THE trade of this window without a doubt.

I know we are all keen on that pick, but let's not forget that Bowes is a good player and an excellent kick. He could completely free up Day or CJ, or be rolling through the middle. His 2021 season was really impressive.

I think we could turn our pick 6 into their pick 5 too, giving us 5 and 7.

I've read (in here) that he's got 2x years @ $700k owed to him.

I could see a club actually offering him more than that, to get him to select them & get hold of that Pick 7!

Imagine being unable to get a game, having your club pay another club to take you & then being paid even more by the new club - not because they necessarily want you - but to secure the Pick you come with!
…..and he was a top 10 pick (in 2016).

Which also applies to the following who were picked from 5 - 10 years ago.

NB: not fair to analyse 2018 and beyond as insufficient time in AFL system / COVID impact.

2013 - Boyd (61 games - ret.), K. Kolodjashnij (80 games - delisted), Scharenberg (41 games - delisted), Freeman (2 games - delisted)

2014 - Jarrod Pickett (17 - delisted), Marchbank (41 - crippled with injuries), Ahern (22 - delisted), Cockatoo (49 games - VFL mainly)

2015 - Schache (71 - VFL mainly), Francis (54 - VFL mainly), Weidemann (59 - VFL mainly)

2016 - Ainsworth (88 - but clear B grader), Setterfield (36 - injuries but also B grader), Petrevski-Seton (107 - traded, but can’t make an impact at WCE), Brodie (48 - only finally flicked the switch at 24 years of age with a change of club), Bowes

2017 - Dow (59 - mainly VFL player), Stephenson (74 - flashy space cadet), Clark (60 - injuries, looking to move?), Coffield (52 - injured now but yet to cement AFL spot), O’Brien (53 - mainly VFL player)

So there’s a fair few misses in the above list. Yet so many here talk as if Bowes is the steak knives as picks 6 and 7 will be “midfield / list transformative.”

Seriously?

How can we be certain?

Answer: no-one can.

They will just be another talented junior who may or may not make it. Rayner was supposed to be the bees-knees in 2017 and frankly he has only just started to show something this season. Ditto LDU. Yet Brayshaw and Naughton have been awesome for their clubs.

As for us, we’ll IMHO our best recent midfield entrants in Moore and Newcombe…….came from the “bargain basement bin”.

Footy is played 90% above the shoulders, and that hasn’t changed in the past 100 years. We want players with the desire to improve, work hard and put their shoulder to the wheel to drag us up the ladder.

Recent history is littered with heaps of top 10 picks who failed in the regard.

We have to convince Bowes to come. I'd even look at taking on Atkins contract too if it helped.

Convincing Bowes to join us would completely remove any of the disappointment of missing out on Bruhn and O. Henry. It really is THE trade of this window without a doubt.

I know we are all keen on that pick, but let's not forget that Bowes is a good player and an excellent kick. He could completely free up Day or CJ, or be rolling through the middle. His 2021 season was really impressive.

I think we could turn our pick 6 into their pick 5 too, giving us 5 and 7.

Bowes has missed 2 seasons worth of football in 6 seasons.

Do we really make plans around him?

Pick 7 is the main game in that trade.

Bowes has missed 2 seasons worth of football in 6 seasons.

Do we really make plans around him?

Pick 7 is the main game in that trade.
Bowes isn't even the steak knives...he is more like the butter knives hence GC have selected to move him and largesque salary with a highly sought after prize to free up the books.

There will be more devil in the detail. GC will want something back.

On Nokia 6.1 using BigFooty.com mobile app