Game Day Round 1, 2023: St.Kilda v Fremantle *PHILLIPOU, CAMINITI DEBUT*

With all our outs I'm expecting a loss but still hopeful of a win.

Melbourne showed last night that you can still win with good players missing if everyone out there plays hard committed footy and has a good system.

We aren't as good as them yet but that's what we should be aiming for and hopefully we can show some signs today that we're taking steps to get there

You would hope not, it's not like we had to get in a bidding war to get him, the Dogs probably would have delisted him and no one else wanted him.
Our injury problem is the missing of one type of player from the same area.

Has NWM signed yet. Was assured it would be before R1.
Are they setting up the card table in the centre square as pre match entertainment for him SoS, Lethers and his manager can sit and sign the contract as per WWE?

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Hannebery, Hill, Ryder, Howard, Jones, Crouch and Higgins came in through that period

Obviously Hannebery and Ryder gone.

We find out at the end of the year how much Lyon values the remainder of that bunch.

Especially in the context of his comments this week regarding our salary cap being the same as Geelong's but without the flag.

I'd be certain he was sending a message to his list with that comment.

Jones, Gresham, Billings probably soaking up a fair bit of cash, maybe Cordy too?

Maybe Coff, Hunts? Probably not but will be expected to deliver this year.

Billings and Ross got low balled last contract. Jones, Hill, Howard, Snags and Butler all would have had to be tempted across. We also extended King, Coffield and Clark which would have been generous. Crouch and Marshall on above average wages too. Steele got a generous contract as well.

Doesn't take much to push the TPP out.

I haven't had this little positive anticipation about a season in a long time. My year-by-year anticipation:

2018 - fell in a heap at the end of 17, but we've got a young side and we're on the way up. Two young guns picked in the top 10.
2019 - terrible 2018, but we picked up Hanners plus Wilkie, Parker, Hind. Max King at 4. A slider (Bytel) later in the draft. Things are looking up.
2020 - doubled our wins in 2019, foreign legion will drive us into finals.
2021 - we won a final. Next stop, top four.
2022 - we weren't fit enough in 2021 and had lots of injuries. Will rectify that and rise back up the ladder. 2021 was an aberration.
2023 - 2020 was an aberration. We have a poor list. Most of our first round picks have failed, and the only good one can't kick straight. Injuries through the roof, everyone (including the coach!) learning a new game plan. This is gonna be ugly.
Paddy had a huge influence on the team in his first season with us, and once his effectiveness dropped off, so did we, as we had no real backup plan and poor old Ratts had to try and invent a different game plan. Lyon will be starting all over again today- I just hope a few players have big games.

Billings and Ross got low balled last contract. Jones, Hill, Howard, Snags and Butler all would have had to be tempted across. We also extended King, Coffield and Clark which would have been generous. Crouch and Marshall on above average wages too. Steele got a generous contract as well.

Coffield and Clark weren't overs, they haven't done enough. King was ok but not huge, Crouch 600k is only average now
Do agree it is easy to Max out the credit card, but we have not done this. Had enough for an 800k plus offer to DeGoey and big $ for either Mackay or TDK.

Couple that with the cap relief we will get trading Gres, Clark, maybe Ross and we had a decent SC position.
However if we don't use FA, and trade properly, our list will be up the creek.

It would be fine is my guess. Unless we have a terrible person doing the cap.

Coffield and Clark weren't overs, they haven't done enough. King was ok but not huge, Crouch 600k is only average now
Do agree it is easy to Max out the credit card, but we have not done this. Had enough for an 800k plus offer to DeGoey and big $ for either Mackay or TDK.

Couple that with the cap relief we will get trading Gres, Clark, maybe Ross and we had a decent SC position.

We are trading gresh and Clark?

If you have to off load Gresham to pay for the others I'd say it's not that good. DeGoey would have put us in a pretty inflexible position but would have at least meant GOPs weren't earning star wages.

I want to be surprised today. I want my fears to be based on long term St Kilda neurosis, not because we don't have reason for hope. My pre-game anxiety is ridiculous, it's only a game, it's just sport, it's irrational to feel this degree of emotional investment in a footy team. Sunday arvo drinking is not an appropriate adult response, but it'll have to do!!

If you have to off load Gresham to pay for the others I'd say it's not that good. DeGoey would have put us in a pretty inflexible position but would have at least meant GOPs weren't earning star wages.
The cap is fine. There is no stress or pressure on it.

It has room for one Gun player to come in and top it.

The Clark/Gresham/NWM etc talk is that come the end of this season.

We will be at a cross roads. Hopefully we get great clarity and can make decisions to successfully contend off the back of it.

With all our outs I'm expecting a loss but still hopeful of a win.

Melbourne showed last night that you can still win with good players missing if everyone out there plays hard committed footy and has a good system.

We aren't as good as them yet but that's what we should be aiming for and hopefully we can show some signs today that we're taking steps to get there

You would hope not, it's not like we had to get in a bidding war to get him, the Dogs probably would have delisted him and no one else wanted him.
Dogs offered him a 2 year deal so no I tuey wouldn't have delisted him

But he was always going to just be a fringe player there so there would have been no bidding war. We offered an extra year though

I want to be surprised today. I want my fears to be based on long term St Kilda neurosis, not because we don't have reason for hope. My pre-game anxiety is ridiculous, it's only a game, it's just sport, it's irrational to feel this degree of emotional investment in a footy team. Sunday arvo drinking is not an appropriate adult response, but it'll have to do!!
I say drink and drink heavily just like when gambling always gamble beyond your means. I’m in the bar at the moment. Should have had enough before the game to not remember the game.

Interested to see how our defence holds up today. No excuses there really. All our first choice defenders are in, our inside mids are mostly available and our small pressure forwards are all in the team. Whatever defensive structures Lyon has in store shouldn't be affected.

Us kicking a winning score, well that's a different story.

Have to be in the office tomorrow and at this stage it's not looking good. Few scotches, couple of homebrew beers, feeling great feeling good how are you