Oppo Camp Other Games Rolling Thread (2023)

Ben King Struggled today, He kicked a lazy 5 and made McKay look ordinary for most of the game, just saying

The Carlton BF board is a magnificent read tonight. The dummy-spits and rants are truly life-affirming.

Particularly amusing is the view being widely expressed that they should have selected Ross Lyon as coach over Voss.

Firstly, anyone with more than a passing interest in footy knew that Voss was a sh!t coach before they hired him and, secondly, their elevation of Ross Lyon to coaching Sainthood is comedy gold! The bloke was persona non grata at Freo and essentially all washed-up until the Saints threw him a Hail Mary pass.

If they think either Voss or Lyon are capable to taking them to the promised land then they are more deluded than ever.

Lots of whining too about being members for 20+ years and having seen no success other than a couple of Browlows and Colemans.

IT. IS. GLORIOUS. I highly recommend a visit.

I hope Bruzzy spear tackles Stringer so hard some of his s**t tatts peel off. I don’t know what it is but I hate that flog

Could have been the turds he was putting in Boydy's locker, or the teenage footscray prostie he was rooting at her parents house, while his missus was pregnant. Suppose that's two reasons...
FMD MATE. Some of these blokes need to be delisted. First I've heard of this.
Boyd should have grabbed him by the neck and shoved his face into his own turd.

Hahaha, really?

29 x 1.05 m handballs?
Maybe he was playing pass the parcel?

FMD MATE. Some of these blokes need to be delisted. First I've heard of this.
Boyd should have grabbed him by the neck and shoved his face into his own turd.

Im going to take this opportunity to say thank f#$k you post here mate, because no matter how hard my day is, I always get a laugh from you 💖

I think anyone doubting the amount of quality on Carlton’s list is being somewhat disingenuous.

I personally would argue they probably have an overall better list than us.

It’s very easy to think ours is better because of how much better we look due to our coach. But let’s not forget that 2 seasons ago when Buckley was coaching us everyone was claiming our list was terrible (not me).

People are now doing similar with Carlton. People are underrating their list due to them having a terrible coach with no plan. If they had McRae as coach right now, they’d probably be chasing down back to back flags.

I think anyone doubting the amount of quality on Carlton’s list is being somewhat disingenuous.

It’s very easy to think ours is better because of how much better we look due to our coach. But let’s not forget that 2 seasons ago when Buckley was coaching us everyone was claiming our list was terrible (not me).

People are now doing similar with Carlton. People are underrating their list due to them having a terrible coach with no plan. If they had McRae as coach right now, they’d probably be chasing down back to back flags.
Agree. A Hill and a Ginni would help their cause.
Overall a great list.

Coaching very average.

Lots of quality. Fabulous core, but holes - they don't have the runners to apply as much pressure or move the ball as effectively as the teams playing the best footy at the moment.

I’m not suggesting their list is perfect.

Again, our list is almost identical to the one Buckley was coaching. No one wonders why we weren’t known as a quick, fit team back then?

Wade and McRae are why.

I’m sure the bits are mostly there. Just needs a better program around them I reckon.

In the end it’s ultimately a moot point. We should be wanting them to keep Voss as long as logistically possible. Much like I wanted them to hold onto Malthouse forever.

Every single Carlton supporter and most of the media pre-season were saying they had the best list, or at least were raving about it.

You’ve got it arse about.

I’m saying now and said last year that their list is not as good as what is being claimed. They have some total spuds getting a game and have too little pace and run.

To be fair, reading their autopsy thread and most of them have woken up and are saying what I’ve been saying since they appointed Voss

Great list with a shit coach

But this - like Richmond and Collingwood eventually realised, is the byproduct of running your club like it’s still 1987

“We need a big name coach. Helps if they’re a ‘Carlton person’ in some way”

This is the thinking Collingwood had for the longest time and even before Ed took over. Ed took it to another level too. Carlton will need the same total clean out we had before they can legitimately turn it around.

Personally hoping they never realise it.

Every single Carlton supporter and most of the media pre-season were saying they had the best list, or at least were raving about it.

You’ve got it arse about.

I’m saying now and said last year that their list is not as good as what is being claimed. They have some total spuds getting a game and have too little pace and run.

And Vossy is not the coach to turn spuds into potato gems

Breakdown their for us and compare it to ours - it would be an interesting analysis.

Absolutely, we need at least one of Cox or Cameron back soon. Cox will hopefully be back soon, which is exactly the point I was making…. Our talls aren’t out for significant periods that will undermine our season. We have the depth to cover, as long as we don’t get further injuries.

Get cox back, Frampton returns to full back, Murphy also returns, and the urgency for howe to return is less pressing.

When Cameron returns then there’s a selection dilemma about playing two rucks, and if so, how to fit Johnson in the 22.

Kreuger can hold the fort in the mcstay role for a month or so. It’s not as if mcstay has set the world on fire so far anyway.
Yep. Mihocek aside, there's not a big gap between our first choice ruck/forwards and our depth. Just need a ruckman back and Kreuger, Johnson and Mihocek to remain fit. In defence, need Murphy back and Frampton to hold up when we get the ruck back.