News NMFC & Tassie (the mass debate re our future there, the academy, attending advice)

No argument from me - but people thinking that we add games and suddenly attendees come out of the woodwork is naive. The only real way is to build the entire base.
I don’t think anyone thinks attendees will suddenly come out of the woodwork but it will create the opportunity to commence building on some momentum by having consistent home games to attend.

It’s a joke at times how long you have to wait to attend a home game.

Some wins would help too….

Should play games in rural Victoria. Wangaratta, Albury/Wodonga, Shepparton, Bendigo ect places like this . 🤷🏻‍♂️ seems like a logical option . Any opinions on this ?
It'd be great to play interstate sides at an outdoor, small stadium. The AFL has failed to deliver a much needed small/boutique ground in Melbourne for these types of games. So country Vic could work depending on the $$.

The AFL and AFL media said how great Gather was including at Norwood in front of around 10,000 fans. Hypocritically, they'd both criticise us if we only drew 10,000 to games at Marvel. Fairly or unfairly it's a bad look playing games in a 20% full Marvel and it's a rubbish atmosphere live and on TV.

Should play games in rural Victoria. Wangaratta, Albury/Wodonga, Shepparton, Bendigo ect places like this . 🤷🏻‍♂️ seems like a logical option . Any opinions on this ?

Shepparton

Celebration Sparkling GIF by DreamWorks Spirit

Well she said in the letter that they are considering where our "Next Generation Academy recruiting and fan development zones will be" so I would imagine that very thing is what's being investigated, I can't really think of any interstate markets still available to play games in so surely it would have to be in Vic/lower end of NSW(where we should actually have a fanbase).
How’s this for an idea let’s get 30k+ to 40K+ to all games at Marvel instead of continuing pimping ourself south like a cheap Ho

I reckon we’ll play one of our home games against Tassie at Launceston

Good idea and I'll go further on this, but firstly, I for one am thrilled that there will be a Tasmanian team. They should have had a Tasmanian team in long before the GC and the GWS.

Having said that, I am far from happy about constructing a 25000 seat stadium in Hobart for the unbelievable cost of $700 plus million. Instead surely
  1. They could spend a lot less upgrading and extending Blundstone and UTas stadiums.
  2. Then they could split home games between Hobart and Launceston.
  3. I know the AFL has said they will play games here, there and everywhere in Tasmania, but why wouldn't they in the nearer term only play their 11 home games in the hugely costly ground to build in Hobart?
  4. Sounds like economic madness to not fully utilise - ie all 11 home games - at this "wonderful" new (not big enough) facility in Hobart.
  5. Now I have always understood that there is a real North/South rivalry between Launceston and Hobart.
  6. How will the good people of Launceston feel if they eventually see maybe the odd token game in their city, or none at all?
  7. I venture to say that they might be a bit like Adelaide and Port Adelaide - hate each other to the extent that they barrack for other teams ahead of their hated rivals. (For the record I hate both Adelaide teams, but nowadays I hate Port far far more for some reason or other. :rolleyes:)
  8. Which I think might provide an opportunity to North and Hawthorn.
  9. Clearly money might be the big barrier to this, but imagine if North and Hawthorn got together and said we will each play 3 home games at Launceston, two of which might be home games against Tasmania, and give the people of Launceston a choice of club to follow., being
  10. Support those a*******s in Hobart or either of our teams, being North or Hawthorn or both.
  11. Yeah I know, I live in fantasy land, but what the heck.
Moving on from that crazy idea, I have said it before and I will say it again. We should adopt Kardinia Park as our second home and play 3 to 4 home games there after we lose Tassie. It will soon have a capacity of 40000, subject to someone coming up with some good quality steel to complete the new "collapsable affair" they are constructing there at the present. Geelong only gets to play 8/9 home games there, when it should be 11 every year, but that's another story.

Despite some of our supporters saying it is too hard to get to Geelong, it is an excellent venue around which Geelong has built their recent success. It is not hard to get there; I have been, for many, many years, travelling regularly, far far further beyond Geelong and if we can find a way to generate some of the cash that Geelong generates, I think it is the way to go.

Just my opinion.

Opinion of someone who understands that the league doesn't need another team due to the following reasons

• Depth of talent
  • Funding of clubs like GWS and Gold Coast already a drain on the league, this another one that will need to be drip fed
  • A bye round, further dilutes the fixture unless its changed to everyone playing each other once
  • Sponsorship dollars, where is it coming from? Further dilution of this as well
  • Where has another sporting team worked in Tassie? Don't sight the NBL, their stadium holds 4,800
  • Lack of support for teams playing down there now, the crowds both North and the Hawks get are embarassing, hardly a town screaming out for a footy team, Canberra gets more and has a larger population

There is zero need for this team other than nostalgia and "oh yeah Tassie play it they deserve one" everyone in the media, including Taswegians (none of which live there anymore) can come up with one reason why this is needed other than "Oh they deserve one"

Can you give me a better reason?

Mainlander opinion?
BruisedPersonalAmericanpainthorse-size_restricted.gif

I just posted about this earlier today.

I wouldnt mind a split such as

8 Marvel
2 Albury/Wodonga
1 Bendigo

That would work well
I didn’t mean to take your thunder mate but yeah it’s a go for me .

Where is this magical room coming from?
I reckon they should take out the median grass strip and parking on McAuley Road and reduce it to a normal sized 2 lane road. That would free up enough room to build a small grandstand. The time to do it would be while all the redevelopment is happening.

News NMFC & Tassie (the mass debate re our future there, the academy, attending advice)