Mega Thread Non-Freo AFL Discussion 2023

ANNND they pay megabucks extensions to TKelly, shuey, yeo and Oscar so they have no cap space (still) even after NicNat, McGovster and Darling are gone.

Everyone smashes Freo for our drafting, have the Toast really been that much different?
Our drafting has been great recently, by and large.
They drafted well in 2017 getting Allan and Ryan, and also plucked Barass in 2015 with pick 43 or so.
Other than that, a hell of a lot of burned picks though by them.

When did they sign Gaff? Wasn’t it around 2018/19 after his suspension, for 6 years on pretty big money to stop Norf sniffing around? That’s gotta be one of the worst deals of all time. He rescinded into a complete crab. This would be the sort of thing Kornes would be all over surely, he needs to be called out
Some of their awful salary deals (especially as they are all back end loaded, which is now catching up to them extra hard) include TKelly, Gaff, NicNat 1 and NicNat 2 - amazing given his knee history, Darling's second deal, Kennedy's second extension (great player but they had bugger all space so set it all up as last year $ basically), McGovern, Yeo's first deal and add in minor hits like Mitchell, Vardy and Jayden Hunt that just exhaust any spare cash.

Sylvia, Hogan and McCarthy's deals each had us in very similar exposed spots at various points, but we managed it via restructures for Mundy, Sandi and Pav plus redoing McCarthy's deal and booting Sylvia at the first chance we had. Hopefully Fyfe and Luke Jackson show similar flexibility in the phasing of their contracts. Would be funny if Toast lack the cash to get McDonald when he is a restricted free agent...

One common thread with West coast supporters is they overate their young players and put very high expectations on them , Sure supporters tend to do this but West coast tend to be much worse .
Ginbey is the next Petracca/Oliver , Long Just this weekend reminds the poster of early Butters (as if), Chesser all last year was touted as best 22 out before he had even played a game .
I think Ginbey will be a good player But for two weeks in a row he has had 0 kicks to half time tends to hand-pass and tackling is a main strength he tends to be second to the ball is my main criticism, Hence the high tackle rate.
To be honest the kid has had a baptism of fire playing as an inside mid with the biggest bunch of softies in the League.

Not all Eagles are down at the moment, this is good from their board.

973c1d19-c8fd-44d5-9a6d-99307d891390-jpeg.1693031

That's what will be left of him after spending a year with their S&C.

'Ranking the myriad problems of the Eagles is inexact science. But among the mix is: the too-long retention of ageing greats on massive deals, questionable trades, equally questionable drafting, highly questionable fitness programs, stale decision-making in football and administration, a weak board.'

Man this is dire.

if you look at this list from the top who would your really want to keep until you got to Coby Burgiel?

McGovern and Cripps for some seniority.
SPS has been decent. Jermaine Jones has been decent.

Williams because he’s young and injured
Culley too
I wouldn’t keep another player until I got to Burgiel….

Christ on a bike

West Coast really needed to buy Luke Jackson last off season when they had pick #2. So many of their issues stem from the opposition ruck looking at the WC ruck's girlfriend, right in her eyes, as he pulls down her boyfriends pants every contest.

I would have pushed for pick #2 for Luke Jackson and #14 - maybe they play with some later selections but even though Ginbey and Hewitt were both picked (by WC) prior to what would have been WC's new first pick, I think they would have been able to get one of them anyway.

Either way, they have the most damaging and biggest midfielder/key forward/ruckman in the competition to build their side around.

West Coast really needed to buy Luke Jackson last off season when they had pick #2. So many of their issues stem from the opposition ruck looking at the WC ruck's girlfriend, right in her eyes, as he pulls down her boyfriends pants every contest.

I would have pushed for pick #2 for Luke Jackson and #14 - maybe they play with some later selections but even though Ginbey and Hewitt were both picked (by WC) prior to what would have been WC's new first pick, I think they would have been able to get one of them anyway.

Either way, they have the most damaging and biggest midfielder/key forward/ruckman in the competition to build their side around.
The probably tried, but the problem they have is that despite Jackson being a bit of a space cadet, it's still obvious to him they're a total basket case and he didn't want to go there.

Guarantee that Reid was cheering HARD for West Coast to win today.

Man this is dire.

if you look at this list from the top who would your really want to keep until you got to Coby Burgiel?

McGovern and Cripps for some seniority.
SPS has been decent. Jermaine Jones has been decent.

Williams because he’s young and injured
Culley too
I wouldn’t keep another player until I got to Burgiel….

Christ on a bike
You know the worst part for them though?
Not only are they smashed for salary cap space for the playing list for this year and next season, BUUUUUTTTT...

They just extended Simpson for three years. With the soft cap rules, after the Simpson extension, if they sack him at any point during the next three seasons they have to pay out the full remaining balance of his salary. Which is $1m per season.

The soft cap is about $7m this year and around $7.2m in 2024.

Each club has to get the ENTIRE off field footy ops (S&C, head coach, footy ops, list management, assistant coaches) - plus the mandated minimum spend within that $7m on things like player welfare, mental health, women's team support etc. Even before the Simpson extension, Toast could barely get their ops under the soft cap, especially once they went into AFLW.

Which is a big part of why their awesome assistant coaches include Matthew Knights (midfield), Jarrad Schofield (strategy and stoppages), Daniel Pratt (backs) and Luke Webster (forwards). The development coaches Jacob Brennan (development coordinator), Mark Nicoski (forwards) and Kyal Horsley (midfield). Only Knights has any coaching pedigree to speak of and let us just say that isn't getting him heaps of offers at high wages.

Even with the bargin basement coaching crew, they are so exposed to Simpson's contract that it is laughable. If he is sacked at any point, they have to pay out the $1m per year remaining - which puts them well past the "soft cap" in each of the years remaining on his contract. Of course, there is a reason it is a "soft" (nearly flaccid) cap. Clubs can exceed it. Butttt... (wait for it, wait for it, wait for it, this bit is good...)

should you exceed the soft cap, you pay "taxes" to the AFL of as much as 400% of the amount you exceed the soft cap by.

400%.

No wonder the AFL can afford to help pay for a Tassie stadium.

I can’t like this enough.

West Coast played funny buggers with Jackson - “Well, if he wants to come home, we’re in WA too” - but they knew they were no chance.

And Jackson was absolutely the player they needed for their rebuild.

Sucked in, you schmucks.

I like how they’ve managed to avoid accepting mediocrity.

By going straight past mediocrity to a whole new shade of shit.

Not only are they smashed for salary cap space for the playing list for this year and next season, BUUUUUTTTT...

They just extended Simpson for three years. With the soft cap rules, after the Simpson extension, if they sack him at any point during the next three seasons they have to pay out the full remaining balance of his salary. Which is $1m per season.

Each club has to get the ENTIRE off field footy ops (S&C, head coach, footy ops, list management, assistant coaches) - plus the mandated minimum spend within that $7m on things like player welfare, mental health, women's team support etc. Even before the Simpson extension, Toast could barely get their ops under the soft cap, especially once they went into AFLW.

Which is a big part of why their awesome assistant coaches include Matthew Knights (midfield), Jarrad Schofield (strategy and stoppages), Daniel Pratt (backs) and Luke Webster (forwards). The development coaches Jacob Brennan (development coordinator), Mark Nicoski (forwards) and Kyal Horsley (midfield). Only Knights has any coaching pedigree to speak of and let us just say that isn't getting him heaps of offers at high wages.

Even with the bargin basement coaching crew, they are so exposed to Simpson's contract that it is laughable. If he is sacked at any point, they have to pay out the $1m per year remaining - which puts them well past the "soft cap" in each of the years remaining on his contract. Of course, there is a reason it is a "soft" (nearly flaccid) cap. Clubs can exceed it. Butttt... (wait for it, wait for it, wait for it, this bit is good...)

should you exceed the soft cap, you pay "taxes" to the AFL of as much as 400% of the amount you exceed the soft cap by.

400%.

Simpson doesn't have to do anything, he knows it, so he doesn't..

400%.

West Coast might be lacking in football ability, decent players, coaches that know what they're doing.....but they ain't lacking in cashola.

It could be a 10,000% tax on the excess and they could afford it.

West Coast might be lacking in football ability, decent players, coaches that know what they're doing.....but they ain't lacking in cashola.

It could be a 10,000% tax on the excess and they could afford it.
Nahhhh, it isn't just a payment to the AFL goons, the tax reduces the amount you can spend the following year on soft cap.

Apart from the mandated mental health/medical/player welfare minimums, the rest of the footy spend get slashed.
Toast with no S&C / no list managers / no Assistant coaches??

Probably bring back Worsfold on a charity basis to coach for free?
Maybe the Carrot Farmer takes the job for bonus water rights on his properties?

Really weirdly awful consequence is it means their upcoming young kids get less and less and less footy ops and coaching support.

Look out for the Toast to seek an exemption from the soft cap in the next 8 weeks.
And a priority pick too.