Preview Round 14, 2023: Richmond v St.Kilda - MCG, Saturday 17th June, 7:25PM AEST

Who Wins?

• Tigers

Votes: 13 21.0%
  • Saints

Votes: 49 79.0%

Wouldn’t rely on them for anything with Patrick Dangerfield leading them

I more meant, would they be involved on the prosecution side of a potential class action. Like are they ****ing things up. I'm a long way from Oz have been away for years so not dialled in to the nuance or at depth with these things.

Thought we had a terrific win Thursday night. Think we underestimate winning interstate, especially against that side at that ground. Yes ugly game but pressure was elite for large majority of the game and to keep them scoreless in the opening quarter of Buds 350th is very impressive.

No doubt our pressure was up and we did a good job defensively.

I thought our first half with ball in hand was putrid. I know it was slippery, but I just don't think we've been playing good 4 quarter footy for a while now.

I guess we'll see. Hopefully it clicks this week.

Great opportunity this week to consolidate our position a couple of games clear in the eight. Some good results in other games so far this weekend have been very helpful, we just have to capitalise against the Tiges. Surprised they kept coming yesterday in Perth, was a really good win in the wet. Having said that Freo were very disappointing and losing at home is gonna hurt 'em a lot later in the year.

We can talk about Richmond playing in heavy rain and travelling back from the West etc., but we just have to ensure we're switched on from the outset. It's about us, it ain't about them. Consistency aside, there really doesn't seem to be a whole lotta difference between 5th to 15th on any given week. This is one of those games where we just have to get it done if we're to be a sneaky chance of top four. Never thought I'd be saying that at the start of the year! 😳

Of course as a Saints fan we have to temper expectations and were reminded as recently as last year of how quickly things can change, however it does feel a little different this season. Max still building form and match fitness, the other young guys too getting up to speed and more confident the more games they play, and with a little luck on the injury front we should be in a good position before too long to do a bit of damage in the back half of the year. A relatively favourable draw will help there but we just have to keep beating the teams below us on the ladder, particularly in games in Melbourne.

The tiges at the 'G on a Saturday night, wish I could be there. 🥺

Probably not a popular opinion but I think Membrey has enough runs on the board to warrant a game ahead of Caminiti. I like Hammers youthful enthusiasm and contest work but Membrey has a higher ceiling for scoring goals. Depends very much on Skunk's fitness.

I get the feeling Lyon is backing Caminiti in based on his pressers so I'm not really expecting the change. I just think with the likes of Vlastuin, Grimes, Balta etc we could do with Membrey's physical presence to help Max out. It wouldn't hurt to give Hammer a run at Sandy anyway.
Totally agree -did very little against sydney and gave away 2 soft frees with a hand in the back one when Mitch had marked the ball

Leo can provide run and pinpoint ball distribution from hbf and is now thriving at Sandy as an elite vfl outside midfielder.
Would absolutely chew up the small fwd role at afl level.
Probably poses the most threat to Gresh more than anyone.

Wouldn’t rely on them for anything with Patrick Dangerfield leading them
I bet they have a really “funny” bit at the end where Patrick does impersonations of people that all sound like him using his normal voice and a few other gags, just so everybody knows he’s a total flog that should be seen and not heard.

In terms of changes, if Butler does go, I'd like to see Bytel in for him and Gresh more time forward.

Also reckon Copper deserves to start and it couldn't hurt Hammer to have some time at Sandy.

Wonder who they use on Bolton, if anyone. There's Windy of course, but maybe Hill??
Would like Windy to play on Dusty. Sounds like a north wind lol.

But seriously I'd rather him play on Martin. Not sure about the best Bolton match up.

I bet they have a really “funny” bit at the end where Patrick does impersonations of people that all sound like him using his normal voice and a few other gags, just so everybody knows he’s a total flog that should be seen and not heard.
I'm convinced that time he saved someone who was drowning in the surf was a set up by him to make him look like a great bloke. Just the sort of thing he would do.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

Biggest game of the year for the Saints.

Tigers up and about with one of our own stepping into the senior coaching role and they have a fair bit of confidence.

Saints need to show some consistency, be great for Owens to back up, Windy to blanket Dusty and get his own ball, NWM to continue with his sublime form, big Marshall to dominate again, the younger Riewoldt to have a quiet one.

Nervous, if we win this one will become confident of where we are at.

Would like Windy to play on Dusty. Sounds like a north wind lol.

But seriously I'd rather him play on Martin. Not sure about the best Bolton match up.

Would love to see Windy v Dusty both as a spectator plus for his development.

Totally agree -did very little against sydney and gave away 2 soft frees with a hand in the back one when Mitch had marked the ball
I agree too but having watched Sandy play Membrey seemed to just be going through the motions . He should be dominating at that level with the ability he has . Maybe Ross isnt going to pick him until he shows something more ?

I think the lack of skill and decision making probably hurt him a bit, BT. Thought he improved quite a bit. Hammer gives a taller partner to Max. But Tim must be getting close.

So Pickett and Mansell out for the Tiges and possibly Butler for us. if Butler goes out for us I'd like to see Peris get a game, hasn't set the world on fire in the VFL in the last few weeks but his start to the year was very encouraging and he's structurally our closest Butler replacement.

Agree. We need the pressure replacement even if there may be better players.

Or try Leo as a small forward

I’m still hopeful Butler will get off.