Autopsy Round 18, 2023: Gold Coast v St.Kilda *PERIS DEBUT*

Season 2 Wtf GIF by Parks and Recreation

It all sounds great but who would want to come to St.Kilda we've been dishing up dross for like 10 weeks now
Unfortunately this is dead accurate. Absolutely nobody rates us, and I mean nobody.

Every single neutral footy observer I chat to thinks we are trash. Nobody fears playing us.

Limping into finals won't change public perception of where we are at.

We are going to have to luck out with the draft and moneyball picks in order to improve the list, as nobody in demand would give us a second look.

Unfortunately this is dead accurate. Absolutely nobody rates us, and I mean nobody.

Every single neutral footy observer I chat to thinks we are trash. Nobody fears playing us.

Limping into finals won't change public perception of where we are at.

We are going to have to luck out with the draft and moneyball picks in order to improve the list, as nobody in demand would give us a second look.
Just irrelevant again. For all the change we've made we haven't moved an inch lol

Getting Lenny and Harves back as assistant coaches was a great feel good story with two legends returning to the club but I'm not sure they were the right choices as assistant coaches.

The problem with hiring club legends as coaches is that it's hard to sack them if they aren't up to it and replacing them with better assistant coaches.

I know Ross wanted to get McQualter as an assistant coach but he knocked us back, he would have been a great get but I doubt we will get him now.

There is a pretty good chance McQualter will be appointed full time as the senior coach at Richmond now given how well they are playing under him.
Bs on mcqualter

Just irrelevant again. For all the change we've made we haven't moved an inch lol
I don’t want to argue - haven’t got the strength after today! - but don’t think that’s right - we have a good coaching set up and facilities and some emerging young guns - get down to training if you can - huge improvement on last year.

RTB & his team have done due diligence - the list is not great but with some young gun potential - pray we draft smart & Gubby/SOS can weave some magic!

ps if RTB can’t make some progress in 4 years heaven help the Saints!

Membrey and Billings you'd probably have to pay some of their salary to get them a move elsewhere. It would all be about clearing money off the books. Gresham looks gone and will probably get us a second round pick at best on current form. Still clears a lot of money as he'd be on big coin. Marshall would get a first round pick but it would take some serious cajonas to make that deal.

If we can clear off the deadweight it will be great but the more important part of the puzzle will be who we target to come in.
Darcy Parish?

* it’s been a long day.

We have asked the question on Bailey Smith.

Mowman Joffaboy StCicatriz can all vouch I went earlier than Sam McClure on this.

Whole league is asking however.

We really like Holmes. But I can’t see it happening personally.

TDK should be a saint if the season ends today. Ross thinks he can get a lot more out of him. Rates the key attributes.

Wants a key back. But setting sights lower than McKay Himmelberg now. Latest whisper. Tom Jonas.
Boss wants a legitimate key defensive stopper with height and power.

Gresh is gone IMO. Ross not a huge fan.

Really wanted Bergman. Ross wants players who have height power and can intercept mark.

Wants to find more penetrating kicks.

And if they can’t bring good players in. Just wants to load up for the draft. Happy to play kids.
Jonas is not up to it anymore

Bs on mcqualter

Bs on Ross making a play for McQualter? I think that's been confirmed by both Ross and McQualter that they had discussions about him coaching us.

Anyway time to move on, if I was Ross I would be having a crack at Montagna for an assistant coach, time to put his First Crack knowledge to the test.

I reckon Joey would be a pretty good assistant coach but he likes media street too much like Garry Lyon so I doubt Ross could talk him into coaching us.

Even if we say, finish ninth.
There is a huge difference between last year and this year.
Ratts was fully invested in this list. I think it is clearly evident that Ross isn't.

This is not his list. Every new coach is going have a rating on each player. Their own performance is either going to shift the rating or just confirm it.
I think he has had enough of his own year of exploration and his numbers are in.

I tend to agree with some of the above posts referring to there being a handful of foundation guys. Namely Wilkie, Owens, King, MP, and one or two others being untouchable.

Tassie is coming. Gotta act now.

September/October will be extremely interesting regardless of our result.

Ross is all over it.

He’s absolutely right when he says when our top 5 players are struggling there is no else who can step up.

Sinclair, Steele, Marshall, Wilkie, Crouch all have got to be firing for us to be even competitive.

The next tier down of Hill, Ross, Gresham, Wood, Clark and Webster just don’t have enough weapons in their kit to put a team on their back.

The kids have been brave, particularly Owens and Naz, and Windhager is starting to assert himself as well. Phillipou will be a player. Sharman and Caminiti have both got futures in the AFL, but there still is a lot of development that needs to be completed. Sharman makes really good decisions in the heat of battle, he looks like a natural to be honest, but he’s got to improve on that if he wants to be a spearhead for the side.

Today we just didn’t have enough avenues to goal.

And Ross is spot on the money again when he says if we play like that again North are going to beat us next week.

The thing is that for most coaches it is never 'their' list. Coaches will ask for certain types of players but that's up to the list manager and Football Director these days.
You think RTB is going to accept that BS. He will have a say in everything....he can't help himself.....he has an opinion on what he wants how he wants to play and what type of style and player he wants.... he is not the type to compromise much after the BS we and he saw tonight.
The press conference was the first time we saw him just throw the team under the bus and he had every right to mind you.
Change is coming Johnn Snow....RTB the white walker is coming and it isn't for a cuddle.

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app

“We’ll take them to the deep end and see how they like it”.

That was Ross the Boss’s mantra earlier this year when doing his team talks at three-quarter time and when we had our great winning run.

So from the man himself, our good form was down to nothing tactically, just “run harder”.

Now, after the latest press conference, he is throwing the players under the bus for their horrendous skills, instead of thinking “hang on, all 40 of these blokes can’t all be poor kicks and decision makers in an equalized comp”.

The reality is Ross and his assistants have been “taken to the deep end” by the other coaches since the opposition bridged the fitness gap we had over them earlier this year.

We’ve been found out by the opposition big time tactically.

Not surprising when you think about it. Ross had an alarming drop off at Freo at the end of his tenure. Then, out of the game for three years, when it became even more attacking and tactical.

It’s not like he went away for three years study other more technical sports and their tactics. After his time out, the depth of his analysis was “run harder.”

Of course he wasn’t going to come back in and become an attacking coach all of a sudden when this is what this poor group needs more than anything.

Instead, the group have got Richo and Ratts with a better vocabulary and some better analogies. But if you squint your eyes hard enough, “Strong in the contest” and “Why not us” look the same as “let’s take them to the deep end” where it matters most, on the field.

No wonder the players look fed up with their workplace being like this. Constantly being made to do things that are futile against better coached teams.

Bassat will have to go in the next couple of years when the members won’t buy another rebuild that Ross will try and sell him (inevitable) and continues throwing players under the bus.

People will stop going and won’t watch crap like 2 goals in a half against Gold Coast.

And I don’t blame them one bit.

Anyone that thinks the coach is the problem is kidding themselves. The reality is we haven't drafted enough good footballers for over a decade. Before the year started I was calling for a full rebuild, then we came out of the blocks firing and I stfu. I should have stuck fat I'd look like a genius right now.

We just need better footballers that can make the right decisions, especially mids. We've actually blooded a bunch this year but we need another two drafts before we will be a serious threat. And they don't have to be top ten picks. Wilkie, Stocker, Sharman, etc were not high draft picks, but they're good footballers. Howard, Ross, Billings etc, they're dead wood!

Ross is literally the first coach we've had in a decade with enough cohenas to cut these GOPS from our list! It's bloody exciting times imo.

Billings has been getting games for a DECADE. A flipping decade. Let that sink in fml.

Additionally we need a much better forwards coach/strategy - to lay this all on Ross is pure convenience for the haters.

Autopsy Round 18, 2023: Gold Coast v St.Kilda *PERIS DEBUT*