Autopsy Round 18, 2023: Gold Coast v St.Kilda *PERIS DEBUT*

Well hopefully we scrape into the finals then.

Because there are a number of teams at present that are showing a bit. And if I had to choose as a player between a team that has missed the finals in the same fashion 2 years running or go to GWS or Adelaide etc, I don't think we will be high on destination lists. Just personally.

Probably cost us JDG last year.

Well…

I have honestly got nothing.

I’ve tried defending this rabble if a club in the “saints are in no man’s land” thread and even the Ross thread and then they go and serve that up.

Said it a million times it’s not the losing, we’ve always lost, we can handle that, it’s the effort and the looking like a ******* Benny Hill clip that pains me.

Not sure I’ll bother watching another saints game this year. Can’t really see the point.

I'll probably watch them all, but it's nauseating.

Yesterday I was working on a really cool animation thing with my girlfriend and I stopped to watch the game. Insane let down. Felt like such a waste of time.

Tom Jonas and Dougal Howard.

Which one plays more like a key back?

I actually agree with this, Howard is a FB sized third tall interceptor. He's not a great one on one defender. Jonas isn't flash but he's a tough contested player and more like an undersized KPB. He has all the class of Jarryn Geary though. He's more gumboot than Yeezy.

Two fundamental problems which have been obviously the case for years now:

• Not enough true mids
  • Not enough true leaders

If I could be bothered I could go through my posts from maybe 2017 or 2018 and find exactly the same complaints. All the trades were a mistake, we needed to keep drafting, and specifically keep drafting mids. Couldn't have left us in a worse position.

I reckon we will snag 2 more wins, would be shocked if we win more.

That will give us 11 for the year. Believe it not, that may actually be enough for a top 5 pick.
Watch us give our 1st pick for TDK can see it happening

And lose Marshall who gets us a third round pick.....and then realise that TDK isn't quite a ruckman or a forward and we have paid up big to move sideways while losing huge amounts of capital to do it.

Can put money on it
SOS and Gubby lol

• Not enough true mids

If I could be bothered I could go through my posts from maybe 2017 or 2018 and find exactly the same complaints. All the trades were a mistake, we needed to keep drafting, and specifically keep drafting mids. Couldn't have left us in a worse position.
Absolutely butchered 12 years across how many different recruiting teams?

Hill might be our worst recruit (factoring cost) of all time? Serong would be handy.

• Not enough true mids

100% this

We have completely overlooked trading and developing midfielders for a long time. Under Richo it was trying to get the next Luke Hodge for 5 years of trades, then Ratten it was disgruntled forwards and washed up players from other clubs.

I'm not sure we have learnt our lesson.

Hill might be our worst recruit (factoring cost) of all time? Serong would be handy.

We didn't really have a proper footy department. Trout was a guy who was an assistant coach under Lyon who went on personal leave, came back and we found him a job rather than move him on. Guys like Ameet Bains made structural list decision outside his expertise which was more financial management than talent identification.

Lethlean was given the job of reviewing the list and making big decisions, again after being a guy with no experience. He got his mate Gags down who worked in sales inside a bank. He didn't make very good structural decisions and chased for feel good stories rather than needs and sold low and bought high.

It was obvious that drafting had been a huge weakness. We had the least rising star nominations of any club, least all Australians and just about every other award in the league. The data was there but they wilfully ignored it. Post Brendan Goddard in 2002, our drafting fell off a cliff. John Bevo was about 90 and still out watching TAC games for us.

The Geelong guy who's name has slipped my mind actually got us a few good players but we sold them all off for nothing. Cripps, Lynch, McEvoy etc and then sacked him. Then the really shit years kicked in. We sold off second rounders for guys like Freeman, traded for guys like Logan Austin etc and sold players that were best 22 for more picks that we wasted.

Honestly we couldn't have stuffed it up more if we'd deliberately tried to self sabotage. Trout was probably a double agent working for the evil Essendon empire.

100% this

We have completely overlooked trading and developing midfielders for a long time. Under Richo it was trying to get the next Luke Hodge for 5 years of trades, then Ratten it was disgruntled forwards and washed up players from other clubs.

I'm not sure we have learnt our lesson.

We never seem to have any in development. We always have barebones. Armo would do his back and the season would fall apart back in the day. Now it's the same thing with Steele. Then there was 5 years of chasing running HBFs who we ended up with nothing out of.

💯 he is our worst recruit for what we paid

And still 2years to go on 900k

And then have to watch him laughing and smiling after the game yesterday

Is Sharman one of 6-8
I tips me lid to the battler, it was hard work getting in the votes yesterday, especially because the GC defence paid him very close attention to him, the GCS coaches would have been working overtime during the week trying to put a plan together to stop him from getting off the chain.

The club is mad if the don't try and talk him out of going to Woodville and sign him up on a lucrative multiyear deal similar to Byrnes.

you know it makes sense.

💯 he is our worst recruit for what we paid

And still 2years to go on 900k

And then have to watch him laughing and smiling after the game yesterday
You are bang on about RTB's comments towards Membrey, look at how he looks directly down the lens when he says it would be good as a leader of the club to come back and help out the young forwards

And yesterday wasn’t the 1st time

I'll have to go back and have a look. Fascinated by it now. It's the first I've really seen Ross publicly criticise the players like that.

I tips me lid to the battler, it was hard work getting in the votes yesterday, especially because the GC defence paid him very close attention to him, the GCS coaches would have been working overtime during the week trying to put a plan together to stop him from getting off the chain.

The club is mad if the don't try and talk him out of going to Woodville and sign him up on a lucrative multiyear deal similar to Byrnes.

you know it makes sense.
Just admit you’re wrong and move on

I'll have to go back and have a look. Fascinated by it now. It's the first I've really seen Ross publicly criticise the players like that.
Maybe one of his Tuesday presser s he says something like
If this is what Tim thinks he needs to do we will support him

Maybe on of his Tuesday presser s he says something like
If this is what Tim thinks he needs to do we will support him
Cheers I'm going to go on a hunt for it now haha. Maybe immediately following the decision to give him time away.

Leaders have really let us down this year on and off field

Autopsy Round 18, 2023: Gold Coast v St.Kilda *PERIS DEBUT*