Votes: 87 37.8%
  • Adem Yze

Votes: 146 63.5%

Mini had the job 3 years ago this is nothing more then a box ticking exercise

The other applicants will be blokes who coach in new Zealand so we can say we did out dur Dilligence

This has always been a succession plan
I didn’t see the job advertised on seek in NZ

I don’t think that argument about no interim winning a flag before is a fair argument as to why we shouldn’t pick Mini

Plenty of legitimate points to discuss but this is essentially just a correlation/causation fallacy

If we just count the number of interim coaches that have ever coached in a game vs the number of coaches selected from outside clubs the numbers are massively in the favour of the outside coaches so you are comparing a massive group of coaches to a very small one if the numbers were even the number of successful coaches would probably be around even

You could even frame it differently and say that a lot more non interim coaches over the history of the game have failed compared to interim coaches

Mini should be selected or not selected on his own merits and simply compared to the other candidates objectively and without that kind of bias thrown in that ultimately doesn’t mean anything
An interim coach generally comes in when the club has failed miserably , it could be said outside coaches are also in that group , but an outside coach will be given time to implement changes whereas an interim won’t gave that luxury, so an interim is more likely to fail due to the shortness of their tenure

"Quality" McQualter should be appointed senior coach.
Caro claims they will interview 6-8 others though.
Some suggestions.
The Giesch, Neeldsy, Ayresy, Wallsy, Dani Laids, Miki M.
Ty Vickery as Forwards Coach.
Richard Tambling as Midfield Rotations and Stoppages Coach.

TBH, I have warmed to Mini.

He has tinkered a little with the game style. Ha has put faith in kids and hasn't thrown them out straight away after one bad performance.

He is not afraid to make big moves during games. He has the respect of the players. He's left Balta down back even when opponents look like they might have a day out and he has almost always bounced back.

He doesn't lose his cool in the coach's box and thinks through all scenarios.

Very impressive. I don't think he could have been more impressive as we don't have a top 4 side any more.
I totally agree...
I am impressed with the current wins...it is difficult to energise an older playing list (that's seen it all three times now with a favoured winning GF Coach!!!) and needing them to get on board once again under his nascent tutelage/coaching and get them to show the younger inexperienced players how to go about winning...fortunately we also have the GOAT to help share the load...and lead the way...
THIS IS THE WAY--------this way------>Why Does the Mandalorian Say "This Is the Way"? Here's What the Mantra Means
But I like how Mini is building his own style...very calm/direct... (Mini does not look lost in the after game pressas!) and NONE of that bull sheet insincere nonsense of "green shoots"...and/or the smartest man in the room spruiking how good we are it's just unfortunate we lost!!! Chewing gum and/or spruiking stats!...drinking coke and trying to look intelligent! or smashing blackboards to make a point to a playing group!
Mini is building his own coaching style slowly in front of and glare of1000's plus the scrutinising intrusive Media...and all whilst trying to make Finals!
Witness Mini giving Coulthard his playing guernsey...two novices in action...awkward but working together with excitement!
And all this with the pressure of the Club, initiating a process to select a new Coach, hanging over one and all..the sheer uncertainty would be a massive distraction!

I totally agree...
I am impressed with the current wins...it is hard to energise an older playing list (that's seen it all three times now with a favoured winning GF Coach!!!) and needing them to get on board once again under his nascent tutelage/coaching and get them to show the younger inexperienced players how to go about winning...fortunately we also have the GOAT to help share the load...and lead the way...
THIS IS THE WAY--------this way------>Why Does the Mandalorian Say "This Is the Way"? Here's What the Mantra Means
But I like how Mini is building his own style...very calm/direct... (Mini does not look lost in the after game pressas!) and NONE of that bull sheet insincere nonsense of "green shoots"...and/or the smartest man in the room spruiking how good we are it's just unfortunate we lost!!! Chewing gum and/or spruiking stats!...drinking coke and trying to look intelligent! or smashing blackboards to make a point to a playing group!
Mini is building his own coaching style slowly in front of and glare of1000's plus the scrutinising intrusive Media...and all whilst trying to make Finals!
Witness Mini giving Coulthard his playing guernsey...two novices in action...awkward but working together with excitement!
And all this with the pressure of the Club, initiating a process to select a new Coach, hanging over one and all..the sheer uncertainty would be a massive distraction!

Mini though needs to focus on the premierships ahead, how do we get there, keep it real and not just focus on winning over the players.

To be fair Mini has not lost the coaching job, I like how Coulthard and other youngsters have been embraced in terms of opportunity and progression .

It is going to be a tough gig over the next five years, it will not be easy in terms of strategy, it would require real precision and tact to give us the best chance for the likes of Taranto, Hopper and others

Mini is allowed to make mistakes, not that there have been obvious ones, and he really has been pretty good as interim coach, to have a crack at Mini for what he has done would be nit picking in the extreme.

Not being a star player might help him in terms of understand the perceptions and making astute decisions without reaching as well as providing balance and doing what needs to be done.

Mini would have an idea of what Blair and others might be thinking in terms of list management to get to our next premiership. It is a interesting one. Nothing is easy, hard to be overnight, he might just be astute enough to wade through the different obstacles to get our team and list where it needs to be with the players buying in

Given the way Mini has gone about it since taking over, if he isn't appointed as the head coach moving forward, then the coach we do appoint will have well and truly earned it, but at the same time, the pressure is going to be on them to bring results from the get go, as I suspect that there will be many a Richmond fan who has pretty much appointed McQualter to the position in their minds already. As far as I'm concerned the position is still wide open and I trust that those in charge of appointing the new coach will select the best person for the role. I've got a feeling that we may be surprised by the actual appointment
Reckon it's pretty much a contest between Mini and Carr...
Carr's impressive assistant coaching resume...V...the incumbent coach at Tigerland.
Mini has to be slightly favourite...simply because he is currently in the coaching hot seat! And his results will have a great say in whether Mini gets the Job!
But having said that...No one knows what Gale and the current management have in mind!
New broom?!? and all the dislocation it inevitably brings in the early years! OR The tried and true...that has bought success...before the message becomes stale! Interesting times!

Reckon it's pretty much a contest between Mini and Carr...
Carr's impressive assistant coaching resume...V...the incumbent coach at Tigerland.
Mini has to be slightly favourite...simply because he is currently in the coaching hot seat! And his results will have a great say in whether Mini gets the Job!
But having said that...No one knows what Gale and the current management have in mind!
New broom?!? and all the dislocation it inevitably brings in the early years! OR The tried and true...that has bought success...before the message becomes stale! Interesting times!

I like he has made a few changes. Like moving Vlastuin at times and Baker forward. Can't be stagnant and a bit of freshness can revitalise the players. A change is as good as a holiday as they say sometimes,

Mini might just be a big enough point of a difference to change tact and get us where we need to be going with a idea of some of the stakeholders around the club and beyond

The other thing is how is Mini as a manager?? Does he empower other coaches, foster new innovative ideas?? Are the players getting challenged and assisted where they need to to grow and develop further??

Mini though needs to focus on the premierships ahead, how do we get there, keep it real and not just focus on winning over the players.

To be fair Mini has not lost the coaching job, I like how Coulthard and other youngsters have been embraced in terms of opportunity and progression .

It is going to be a tough gig over the next five years, it will not be easy in terms of strategy, it would require real precision and tact to give us the best chance for the likes of Taranto, Hopper and others

Mini is allowed to make mistakes, not that there have been obvious ones, and he really has been pretty good as interim coach, to have a crack at Mini for what he has done would be nit picking in the extreme.

Not being a star player might help him in terms of understand the perceptions and making astute decisions without reaching as well as providing balance and doing what needs to be done.

Mini would have an idea of what Blair and others might be thinking in terms of list management to get to our next premiership. It is a interesting one. Nothing is easy, hard to be overnight, he might just be astute enough to wade through the different obstacles to get our team and list where it needs to be with the players buying in
Well that is the difficulty...without the players being totally on board and focused with Mini...the Premierships will not come! Period!
One day at a time...building the players focus and Team structure...then with an once of luck the Premiership may come...
Players/Team first...then entertain the possibility of Premierships!
Mini's job is manage all those players, get them focused, like herding cats towards the Premiership Goal!

Well that is the difficulty...without the players being totally on board and focused with Mini...the Premierships will not come! Period!
One day at a time...building the players focus and Team structure...then with an once of luck the Premiership may come...
Players/Team first...then entertain the possibility of Premierships!
Mini's job is manage all those players, get them focused, like herding cats towards the Premiership Goal!

The job is also about managing the other coaches and stakeholders.

One thing that could be to Mini's advantage is because he is already there, if he is the right guy, he can apply the precision like a surgeon because he already knows the ways of the place and other operators.

Can we win a premiership in 4 years or 7 years?? Hard to tell but Mini and his support might be in a better position to figure it out over the next few years.

I think in our instance it is not like Clarkson. We already have Hopper and Taranto, we are not going to chase big fish end of the year or next year. Maybe in two to three years we might but that gives us time to assess where our playing group is at and how our youngsters and other recruits like draftees are going. Our recruiting team have a idea what is coming through in the next few drafts to a certain extent to possibly propel us down the track

Even the likes of Taranto are developing before our eyes and surprising even Kane Cornes possibly, we will know more in 12 months how we are heading in terms of timing against the evolving pack

Whoever coaches us, hitting the draft now is important to see how we are developing in 12 to 24 months to really get an idea how we are shaping and developing going forward.

See Bauer, Banks are only starting to emerge and grow now along with Young spending more time in the firsts

Even Lynch out is a blessing in disguise because it allows us to play a different game style prematurely and assess players and the team differently allowing the players to develop in different ways with different methods and combinations even as a disrupter that might be able to bring our contention timetable forward like in 2017

Being in contention is not about having certain players. It is about the players playing in a certain way together that kicks a score consistently ahead of the opposition while defending their attempts to score. So there are a lot of different combinations, players and combinations that can create that situation like in 2017 where a certain method or way may not be obvious but even organically can form

Its easy to win an AFL Premiership...it gets done every year without fail!
In hindsight we know exactly what is required to win!
One just needs to cook those sausages in a special way to have a successful recipe.
And just like MasterChef/My Kitchen Rules...if the Judges like your sausage recipe...your a winner!
The secret sausage ingredient is knowing what the Judges require and follow through with it!

Its easy to win an AFL Premiership...it gets done every year without fail!
In hindsight we know exactly what is required to win!
One just needs to cook those sausages in a special way to have a successful recipe.
And just like MasterChef/My Kitchen Rules...if the Judges like your sausage recipe...your a winner!
The secret sausage ingredient is knowing what the Judges require and follow through with it!

Nah, its about your stomach, if you like the food, to hell what the judges think..

If the masses like the food the judges know nothing!!!

Healthy food that does not make you sick is also a good thing

I totally agree...
I am impressed with the current wins...it is difficult to energise an older playing list (that's seen it all three times now with a favoured winning GF Coach!!!) and needing them to get on board once again under his nascent tutelage/coaching and get them to show the younger inexperienced players how to go about winning...fortunately we also have the GOAT to help share the load...and lead the way...
Jak you speak good sense man , talk more often . From what we’ve witnessed so far , I repeat it would take the untried asst of the century to overwhelm the work he’s done . He has our best players playing their best footy , wasnt the case under dimma this year and it’s something you don’t take for granted , ask freo