It's true. They really do want you to win.*Get this. Think it was a Betfair ad on GuesSEN that said "We want you to win".
* Just enough to keep you hooked.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
It's true. They really do want you to win.*Get this. Think it was a Betfair ad on GuesSEN that said "We want you to win".
Still got the man crush on Doully.Happy Birthday to this legend.
Still amazes me that he ran a retail outlet!Walked into his news agency a few times, conversation was similar to driving with Sam Peng
Waterdale Rd?Walked into his news agency a few times, conversation was similar to driving with Sam Peng
Never underestimate Mrs Doull.Still amazes me that he ran a retail outlet!
Also may be apocryphal, but have heard several times that Bruce's teammates heard more from him on the field than off. As much as he was shy, and non-communicative off field, that went away on the footy field, where he would be directing traffic and calling out to teammates as much as anyone. Love him to bits.Bruce’s shyness is legendary. I have two stories. One I know is true. The other may be urban myth.
Bruce was a Jacana boy. I grew up in Glenroy. So he was close by. Bruce knew the older brother of a friend of mine so this one is true. My mate is at home and he hears a knock at the door. He answers and standing at his front door is Bruce. The legendary Bruce is standing in front of him. Premiership player, champion player in his favourite white fur cap. My mate was a footy nuff and impressed at the sight. Bruce enquires about his older brother and gets told he’s not far away. Come in and wait. Bruce politely declines the offer and sits on his front porch until his brother gets home.
The second one involves his great mate. The late John O’Connell. I reckon it may have been an after season trip and the two of them sitting at the bar saying very little except for “Your shout”.
Did the same I would have been about 10 and was both star struck and scared as hell at the same timeWalked into his news agency a few times, conversation was similar to driving with Sam Peng
Or he should just shut upNot sure this is correct thread Moddies, but I reckin BT needs to broaden his vocab range.
Describing us as 'hysterical' at the end of the game was lacking at best, and loaded at worst.
I would have thought there are plenty of better fitting words than hysterical which has a fair few connotations.
Why not pure elation?
Ecstatic joy?
Hysterical ....you might even think it's vaguely offensive with stereo-typical racist undertones?
But then you get that sort of snickering about 'carlton fans' being a passionate bunch...not how it's said by Cookie or Crippa, but more with the 'hysterical' undertone by some in the media.
I might be wrong but it seems a bit throw backish to earlier days when Greek/ Italian/ Middle Eastern heritage was referred to in that derogatory way.
OTOH
It's a long week, and I may be overthinking it.
Back of the queue.....Still got the man crush on Doully.
Was in Tassie, August 2022, Carlton grimly fighting for a finals opportunity.At Aph's place Chaddie this morning.
I guess I am in a kind of blue finals bubble.
Couldn't understand why everyone was walking around, seemingly unaware that we had just won a huge game and progressing to semis!
Not one piece of Carlton gear in sight. No player hero conversations heard around me.
Like a love struck teenager, I steered every conversation with the Shetland back to my beloved team.
He was very patient with me.