Resource 2024 Membership thread - it begins - with a kiss

"Don't bag the club to the media without having full command of the situation" is not a position that requires the mandate of Heaven.

NO ONE IS BAGGING THE CLUB TO MEDIA.

WE HAVE TOLD YOU THIS MULTIPLE TIMES AND YOU DO NOT LISTEN.

Well I’ve just spoken to Calum the membership manager and I’ve been moved to aisle 34 rows M and N. It’s one aisle to the right and 4 rows from where I was sitting so I’m happy about that.

However there’s a story brewing here and I can’t get them to the point of admitting it.
There are 2 new dining rooms in aisles 35 to 39. The small one is Horizon and it’s for the Arden Lodge so the bays on the map are correct. The other room is bigger and called Skyline. Now comes the good bit - Skyline will have rows M to U at the back of the aisles other than the Arden Lodge area as walk ups for the diners. Further to this he also advised that the Centre Wing will still have rows A to G in aisles 35 to 39 so no change there. This leaves North in control (his words) of rows H to L in aisles 35 to 39.
Now I’ve probed and probed as to what they plan to do with these seats and the responses were very non committal. Personally I think North are pulling a swifty with those 5 aisles but the response is more like the AFL are the ones who haven’t designated what’s happening with those seats.
The claim that other clubs won’t be affected MAY be correct if they only have seats in that H to L row range but they are adamant all clubs are affected.
To me this looks like they are planning on using the seats in aisles 35 to 39 rows H to L for corporates or some such as they are continually referred in conversation as those new padded seats.
Therefore although I have managed to limit the damage on my tickets I fear North are not being entirely truthful with the why and then the how those seats will be used.

The “why” is clear - it’s money. They are getting the most financial gain out of the redevelopment changes.

I would support this but do it the right way Ffs.

The “WTF” part is also clear - be honest and upfront and work with people get the best result they can. Poor change management!!

Very avoidable

Wait you guys get email's from the club, I get 1 solitary email every year and it's for the raffle tickets lol

wassup salman GIF by Zee Bollywood

Got a response from Jen Watt:

Between this response and the one provided to KIA34, I'm still not clear if rows A to G in bays 35-39 are being reserved for corporate NMFC functions or Marvel Stadium corporate functions.

I suppose either way it doesn't matter; NMFC members have been shafted to make way.

Will have to strongly consider my options for membership moving forward. The whole point of attending in person was to sit in a nice seat on the wing and get a good view of the whole field. If that's not an available option anymore, I'm not certain I see the value for money in a premium membership anymore.
Ha, so the club are shafting us for the sake of 1 game per year (maybe 2 if we're lucky with fixturing) that they can sell off a few corporate tickets. They'll need those bays in case the high and mighty decide they might want to venture outside the glass. For the rest of the games (Sunday twilight, interstate teams) the rooms and by extension the seats, will be empty.

Except that's not accurate.

From what I can gather, rows A to G in bays 35-39 are now open for Marvel's 'Centre Wing' premium membership. We're now actually MORE likely to be surrounded by opposition supporters on 'our' member wing.

Sorry I meant in your bay. My take was they are condensing us in. And to be honest I get it. I go to the footy with my wife and mum and we take up 6 seats every week. I can man spread to the max.

Anyway, I am going to miss some of those around me that have helped make the last 2 years enjoyable (when the footy wasn’t).

One bloke I think about when I make my morning coffee. He was telling us that he once did the run around the outer racing the Mazda. He thought he was running for a new car and bolted home like Usain. He won and received………… a coffee machine 😂

NO ONE IS BAGGING THE CLUB TO MEDIA.

WE HAVE TOLD YOU THIS MULTIPLE TIMES AND YOU DO NOT LISTEN.

People bagging the club on here - using words like betrayal, claim they won't renew membership - have spoken to a journalist.

Have you had any formal media training?

People bagging the club on here - using words like betrayal, claim they won't renew membership - have spoken to a journalist.

Never directly answer the question.

Deny, deny, deny.

Deflect to a different issue.

Basically, act like Brad Scott.

Sorry I meant in your bay. My take was they are condensing us in. And to be honest I get it. I go to the footy with my wife and mum and we take up 6 seats every week. I can man spread to the max.

Anyway, I am going to miss some of those around me that have helped make the last 2 years enjoyable (when the footy wasn’t).

One bloke I think about when I make my morning coffee. He was telling us that he once did the run around the outer racing the Mazda. He thought he was running for a new car and bolted home like Usain. He won and received………… a coffee machine 😂

On the rare occasion I use my seat, I could actually lay down across a number of seats without disturbing anyone.

I have confirmed what has changed. Summary below

Here's the relevant membership map for 2021/22/23:

1694420792265.png

Here's the same map for 2024:

1694420833555.png

Summary of Changes:
  • Premiership Club - Reserved Seat
    Bays 38/39 now totally unavailable
    Small sections of bays 35/36 now totally unavailable
    Bay 30 which was previously fully reserved is now only half reserved seating
    Added bays 27/28.

• Premiership Club - Non-reserved bays
    Bays 35/36/37/38 now totally unavailable
    Lost half of bay 28
    Lost half of bay 34
    Added half of bay 27
    Added bay 26
  • Arden Lounge
    Moved from bays 39/40 tobays 38/39

• Social Club - non reserved bays
    Added bays 30/31

To compare this to Carlton, their 2024 membership map is the same as their 2023 membership map. Like us, they never had access to the front rows in bays 35/36/37, but they have retained full access elsewhere:

1694421229636.png

Wait you guys get email's from the club, I get 1 solitary email every year and it's for the raffle tickets lol
I don't. I hear about them on here and then have to chase them for the information. I also get the pleasure of seeing my departed Granddad's membership show on my account year in year out even though I've asked them to remove it. They are a poorly run organisation that is full of excuses and short on results.

Let me repeat this for you in plain English, since you appear to have missed it/ignored it the last few times it has been said;

The only involvement with a reporter was when we (the members) and they (the reporter) thought the story was the AFL taking bays away from Marvel Stadium clubs. The only angst was being directed at the AFL.

In following up that story, the reporter received word from the AFL that they, in fact, have not taken any seats from the Marvel Stadium clubs. At which time said reporter recommended we follow this up with the club for clarification, and it became a non-story from a media perspective.

No one is bagging the club to the media, and no one was going to.

Jesus christ, you're thick.

So, I need a concise of description of the days events. Reading back its a bit all over the shop trying to figure it out

TLDR Premiership Club/Schimma Platinum members in bays 35 to 39 have been shafted to make way for corporates.

Multiple attempts to figure out if these 'corporates' are going to be attending via NMFC tickets or AFL tickets have been met with deliberately vague answers from the club.

I think the fundamental problem for the whole club is this fascination with behind the goals North end; it might give the optics of a blue and white North end but the viewing experience, especially on Level 1 is rubbish.

The incline on the seats is not steep enough on Level 1

I don't. I hear about them on here and then have to chase them for the information. I also get the pleasure of seeing my departed Granddad's membership show on my account year in year out even though I've asked them to remove it. They are a poorly run organisation that is full of excuses and short on results.
Sorry to hear that shin, that's bad. Year same here i don't even receive the replacement game emails after updating my email address lol 4 times over the last 3 years. If I need anything I need to ring them and they forward it manually to me as an attachment.

I get all the emails, but damned if I've ever received any form of membership pack/magazine/stickers/anything in the last 5 years. Despite requesting them and confirming they have my correct address.

So this is the treatment we are going to have to live with from Corporate Jen and her MCC ideas.

One question ... would you accept this "shafting" if it was part of a plane to move all the Tassie games back to Melbourne?

IE They're trying to find a way to replace that Tassie revenue.

One question ... would you accept this "shafting" if it was part of a plane to move all the Tassie games back to Melbourne?

Mate - If wishes were horses I'd be riding my pony to the stadium on gameday. It is not on the members to manage serious and fundamental changes to their experience. Assuming that were the case the club has valid and reasonable tools at their disposal to push that message - they have chosen instead to obsfucate and imply others are at fault for a decision that appears within their control.

The club continues to treat their members as a renewable resource which is a fundamentally flawed position for a club that blames its entire lack of financial strength on not having enough support in the Melbourne market. At what point do they accept that butchering the gameday experience for 30 years - at least 2 generations of supporters - is not in the interests of growing that support?

Edit: BTW, I've put up with a lot of crap from this club to go with some great memories. Being shafted off to Tassie for more games whilst having their hands out for cash the day before is up there. This is the first time - ever - that I went to watch a game of football (AFLW on Sunday) and actively wasn't even sure I wanted to watch it because I couldn't decide if I cared for the club to actually do well. This cavalier attitude to members and supporters runs the risk of them treating the club with the same attitude.

The loss of the seats is secondary - it’s the fact the club has not been entirely truthful as to the why and how with regards to those seats.

Yup, I've been in contact with a reporter.

They've found some very interesting answers when they looked into this issue:

"The AFL are adamant it has nothing to do with them. This would be a club decision, not the AFL’s. The person I just spoke to said his best guess was that North plans to use the new function space in that area, and that would mean that seating can’t be available. But again, that’s a club call.

The AFL spokesperson asked their team and they were adamant there is no new seating being offered from the AFL, and that this had nothing to do with them, beyond the redevelopment offering new function options, which North appears to allude to in that email".

The feeling of betrayal is rising...

I'm sure you didn't bag us to the journo sport, I totally believe you.

I will leave the aggrieved to their grievances.

Having to move seats sucks and its sounds like the club could have communicated it better.

Sneaking around briefing journos also sucks.

And just wait until the Essendon fans hear about how they've been shafted lol.

Resource 2024 Membership thread - it begins - with a kiss