Resource 2024 Membership thread - it begins - with a kiss

Completely unrelated, I am thinking of buying a new Mazda as a member of the club is there any advantages ?
We bought one in 2021 and got a membership pack - hoodie, cap and portable charger. Nice but the main advantage is that we have a lovely car (CX-9).

Still can’t believe there is all these white knight corporates lining up to buy all these premium dining / seat packages that are being freed up in our ripping time slots.
Ha, exactly. Who's paying for those premium seats for the 4.40 Sunday timeslot against GWS? Of that 16k that shows up, must be a big eaner for the club!

Used to buy premium memberships, reserved seats etc but since they kept on sneakily devaluing the packages and treating members like idiots I said **** it I’ll just get the standard membership from now on. For the mostly crappy fixtures I get to the ground around 30 minutes before the bounce and have no problem getting a L3 seat somewhere in the first 5 rows. For any premium home games against Pies, Tigers, Carlton, Good Friday etc and any decent replacement games where my ‘normal area’ becomes reserved seating, I scan in with my adult membership and still sit in the front rows of L3 using the $5-10 reserve seat (child under 5) that I have purchased weeks beforehand. No one checks if that reserved if adult/conc/child….ever. Occasionally friends I go with get Medallion/Access One seats from their work/clients.
I’m nearing 40 years as a continuous member so if we ever make a grand final again I’m pretty sure that I’d get some sort of priority access to tickets so probably no need to buy super premium memberships that guarantees you a GF ticket.
After reading this thread I’m just even further disappointed with the club and membership dept but not at all surprised. They’ve been complacent, incompetent and just plain shithouse for years. If they treat those that pay top dollar for memberships like crap then what hope have the rest of us got. Like everywhere and everything else in society nowdays you are simply there to be exploited and hustled for every dollar possible. They simply take advantage of our love and emotional attachment to our club and I so ****ing hate this attitude.

Like I said ferbs - when those seats are packed all day in the 5 out of 7 leftover fixtures we get next year I'll eat my hat. They won't be. Chasing corporates is fine and great - they won't be the ones that turn up for the horror half decades like we just had and once you turn away long term members they won't come back.
If we start winning finals and playing 11 home games in Melbourne I reckon people will come back.

But ever since the doco, the fundraiser and the extra game in hobart all one after the other its hard not to be cynical.

Mate - If wishes were horses I'd be riding my pony to the stadium on gameday. It is not on the members to manage serious and fundamental changes to their experience. Assuming that were the case the club has valid and reasonable tools at their disposal to push that message - they have chosen instead to obsfucate and imply others are at fault for a decision that appears within their control.

The club continues to treat their members as a renewable resource which is a fundamentally flawed position for a club that blames its entire lack of financial strength on not having enough support in the Melbourne market. At what point do they accept that butchering the gameday experience for 30 years - at least 2 generations of supporters - is not in the interests of growing that support?

Edit: BTW, I've put up with a lot of crap from this club to go with some great memories. Being shafted off to Tassie for more games whilst having their hands out for cash the day before is up there. This is the first time - ever - that I went to watch a game of football (AFLW on Sunday) and actively wasn't even sure I wanted to watch it because I couldn't decide if I cared for the club to actually do well. This cavalier attitude to members and supporters runs the risk of them treating the club with the same attitude.
Well said.

Still can’t believe there is all these white knight corporates lining up to buy all these premium dining / seat packages that are being freed up in our ripping time slots.

I went to a club function last year. The function rooms at capacity wouldn't fill those seats in the bay.
I don't know what Jen is doing but this commercial direction she's taking seems like a massive misunderstanding of our club and isn’t the way to treat its diehards.
It’s complacent and bullshit.

Further update - here is Jens response after I queried the use of seats left in aisles 35 to 39. Looks like the club has favored corporates over members however to be fair the redevelopment has created a bigger dining room. Having said that though they’ve still decided to take advantage of the possible financial windfall of using this room. Perhaps it is part of the Tassie exit strategy.

EMAIL AS FOLLOWS -
Noted on point 1. On point 2, the new room capacities are larger than previous rooms in that area. When these rooms are fully sold, all of the seats will be required. The room capacities fluctuate game to game, depending on where we are at performance wise, who we are playing, timeslot etc. When the rooms are at capacity all those seats will be needed. Therefore, we can’t sell them as permanent members seats. On the occasions when there are some seats available (because rooms aren’t full) they are put back on the system and sold as daily reserved seats.
I acknowledge there’s an element of future proofing in these changes, in that it will take our Club some time to build to sell out all rooms for every game but we don’t want to be in the situation of moving members at a later date when we have no good seats in our reserved seats/areas left.

Jen

Jennifer Watt​
Chief Executive Officer​

Further update - here is Jens response after I queried the use of seats left in aisles 35 to 39. Looks like the club has favored corporates over members however to be fair the redevelopment has created a bigger dining room. Having said that though they’ve still decided to take advantage of the possible financial windfall of using this room. Perhaps it is part of the Tassie exit strategy.

EMAIL AS FOLLOWS -
Noted on point 1. On point 2, the new room capacities are larger than previous rooms in that area. When these rooms are fully sold, all of the seats will be required. The room capacities fluctuate game to game, depending on where we are at performance wise, who we are playing, timeslot etc. When the rooms are at capacity all those seats will be needed. Therefore, we can’t sell them as permanent members seats. On the occasions when there are some seats available (because rooms aren’t full) they are put back on the system and sold as daily reserved seats.
I acknowledge there’s an element of future proofing in these changes, in that it will take our Club some time to build to sell out all rooms for every game but we don’t want to be in the situation of moving members at a later date when we have no good seats in our reserved seats/areas left.

Jen

Jennifer Watt​
Chief Executive Officer​
Any news on coaches coming in

Well said.

I went to a club function last year. The function rooms at capacity wouldn't fill those seats in the bay.
I don't know what Jen is doing but this commercial direction she's taking seems like a massive misunderstanding of our club and hnt the way to treat its diehards.
Its complacent and bullshit.
And lied about the reasoning.

Putrid.

So, they’ve moved members to allow more corporate packages.

Then lied about it.

Quality.
Unfortunately as nice as the emails from the CEO were - this is the exact issue. Corporates over members and then even today until I got this email they were unable to tell the true story.

Just wondering, if you were willing to pay the price could you still buy the corporate seating?

EMAIL AS FOLLOWS -

Jen

Jennifer Watt​
Chief Executive Officer​
The irony that the first attempt the club has to ween off Tassie and try and generate new revenue streams is to alienate our highest paying members by withdrawing their seats and handing them over to corporate groups.

Jen has made her move.

Let’s see who’s truly willing to fork out thousands for 7 games a year which provides little to no value.

I can honestly see this move failing spectacularly and I want to know what research data and marketing stats the club is basing this controversial act on.
It’s clear Jen isn’t a North person either as this decision has been made so blatantly with little to no regard for those caught up in it.

I hope in time we’re proven wrong and this does indeed prove to be a success, but right now all I see is a lousy attempt at recreating MCC lite.

Her tenure is now going to be judged on this act so I’ll check back in 3 years and see how it fared.

Found a 2024 membership map, and NMFC members no longer have access to Level 2 bays on the members wing?
That's kind of crap.

2024-Stadium-Map.jpg
Looks like they might’ve moved the riff raff further away from the Arden Lounge Nate7

I have only read as far as page one so pardon me if this has been covered.

It looks to me like the allocated sections for the premiership club now cover entire bays (reserved/unreserved). This is a massive win compared to the first six rows being sold to the general public which has been the case in the past.

It also appears that there’s a second bar! Although the ‘fencing’ streamlined it a bit in the last couple of matches, the bar for the Premiership club has been a disaster for years. The queues have been ridiculous at all the obvious intervals. To the point that it can be faster going to the public bar. Another dedicated members bar is huge!

I’d prefer to be along the wing a bit more, and I understand people’s frustration at having long held seats moved but I have to say it looks to me like they have been trying to fix some problems of the past, and I look forward to an improved experience.

If they bring back the medallions I will be over the moon!

I will leave the aggrieved to their grievances.

Having to move seats sucks and its sounds like the club could have communicated it better.

Sneaking around briefing journos also sucks.

And just wait until the Essendon fans hear about how they've been shafted lol.

I agree, having to move seats would suck. I'd be disappointed. But I wonder, how many people commenting are genuinely impacted by this and how many have no skin in the game and are just using the opportunity to take pot shots at Jen Watts and the club?

I have only read as far as page one so pardon me if this has been covered.

It looks to me like the allocated sections for the premiership club now cover entire bays (reserved/unreserved). This is a massive win compared to the first six rows being sold to the general public which has been the case in the past.

It also appears that there’s a second bar! Although the ‘fencing’ streamlined it a bit in the last couple of matches, the bar for the Premiership club has been a disaster for years. The queues have been ridiculous at all the obvious intervals. To the point that it can be faster going to the public bar. Another dedicated members bar is huge!

I’d prefer to be along the wing a bit more, and I understand people’s frustration at having long held seats moved but I have to say it looks to me like they have been trying to fix some problems of the past, and I look forward to an improved experience.

If they bring back the medallions I will be over the moon!

The real issue here that has triggered people is the disingenuous communication , poor/ lazy management and lack of respect to some of our longest serving members.

People can understand we need to maximise the money but we deserve honest direct communication.

Sorry guys but the chsbges to the stadium have a too good to miss opportunity for the club snd we must make some changes to set us up long term. Here are your new seats we have allocated but give me a call to discuss other options.

People would have been grumpy but not filthy

I agree, having to move seats would suck. I'd be disappointed. But I wonder, how many people commenting are genuinely impacted by this and how many have no skin in the game and are just using the opportunity to take pot shots at Jen Watts and the club?

When the club chooses to deceive its members to make change rather than respectfully manage it, WE ARE ALL IMPACTED.

That becomes culture and is not ok. I don’t want it as part of the clubs relationship with its members.

It’s ok to hold people to account respectfully. I don’t support attacks etc but expecting snd demanding better is important

When the club chooses to deceive its members to make change rather than respectfully manage it, WE ARE ALL IMPACTED.

That becomes culture and is not ok. I don’t want it as part of the clubs relationship with its members.

It’s ok to hold people to account respectfully. I don’t support attacks etc but expecting snd demanding better is important

Okay sure, but the moment you accuse people in the administration of poor or lazy or deceitful behaviour, can you not see that the respectful part of holding them to account kind of crossed a line into what could be seen as disrespectful?

EMAIL AS FOLLOWS -

Jen

Jennifer Watt​
Chief Executive Officer​

So it wasn’t the AFL or marvels choice?

I put over 3k a year into this club

I was ok with donating during Covid
I am dealing with 10 wins in 4 years
I accept the 4 games in Tassie and the fact membership prices didn’t reduce even though we lost a home game

I don’t think I’m ok with being lied to

I’ll be cancelling my 27 years of two memberships today and my sons membership as well

That’s enough

Okay sure, but the moment you accuse people in the administration of poor or lazy or deceitful behaviour, can you not see that the respectful part of holding them to account kind of crossed a line into what could be seen as disrespectful?
From what I've read on here - including direct comms from the club and officials - deceitful is the exact word and lazy is also fair. The club could not feasibly have thought this would be a popular decision with those impacted. Instead of getting on the front foot, explaining the reasoning and ensuring they have the best possible alternative seats there has been an attempt to muddy the waters, imply others forced the decision and hand leftover seats to these members. There is nothing commendable about how this has been done at all.

So it wasn’t the AFL or marvels choice?

I put over 3k a year into this club

I was ok with donating during Covid
I am dealing with 10 wins in 4 years
I accept the 4 games in Tassie and the fact membership prices didn’t reduce even though we lost a home game

I don’t think I’m ok with being lied to

I’ll be cancelling my 27 years of two memberships today and my sons membership as well

That’s enough

Make sure they know. Jen's got it all figured out - cc her as well.

Resource 2024 Membership thread - it begins - with a kiss