Resource 2024 Membership thread - it begins - with a kiss

The VFL side has been canned to pay for the W team.

Literally your evidence for this is Essendon nuffs on the main board.
Champ I don’t know if your dumb or just plain stupid. You’ve been told multiple times the following -

1. No one has sought out or spoken to a journalist to bag the club. He contacted one person on here and a few of us were asked if we would talk to him. However if there was no story as there appears to be then no one needed to speak to him.
2. There are many many people affected by this change and the more responses people receive DIRECT from the club the more obvious it becomes they are bending the truth.
3. It’s none of your damn business if myself or anyone else affected takes this up with the club (it’s not sooking as you so stupidly put it). I pay thousands for 11 memberships so don’t start telling me what I can and can’t do.
4. You still don’t understand things like commercial in confidence and not divulging sources. We don’t come on here with made up stories if you did that you’d last 5 minutes and probably end up being sued that’s why we never give out exactly where info comes from unless that person wants their name published - any info I post will be from a reputable source irrespective of your stupid rantings on the issue.
5. You seem to have some sort of complex that says the club is always right. Take your blinkers off.

Lastly just go take a chill pill and let people have their say.

I'm sure you didn't bag us to the journo sport, I totally believe you.

It's literally pointless debating anything with you.

You just concoct fantasies in your head whenever you don't like the facts you are presented with.

I sit on level 1 on the wing so I'm not impacted. In saying that, I can't help but feel disappointed that yet again the club membership admin seems to be showing more incompetence than ever. Membership prices have gone up despite the fact we only have 7 home games and a chance of getting replacement games if you look at your phone the whole day at work. It is simply not good enough.

The best thing about North Melbourne people is their loyalty and their unconditional dedication to watching the team whether we are last or at the top. The worst thing is I think the club is taking advantage of that loyalty and dedication ever so slightly twisting the knife. That's not the North Melbourne way.

If we're going to boast about no debt, no pokies, and caring about the community or whatever, how about applying those principles to the most important part of your footy club, its members?

Without its members, North Melbourne would've ceased to exist.

As a social club level 1 seat holder, looks like we’ve picked up a couple of bays, thanks Chadwiko for above info. Prob the only small winners out of this.

I would be pretty gutted if we get moved. I am currently plum with the centre circle and love my seat. Also it’s not like we are talking thousands of members that are being asked to move. Surely we can keep the staus quo. Also which corporates are going to pay more to watch north at 1.10 on Sunday than us chumps?

Mate - If wishes were horses I'd be riding my pony to the stadium on gameday. It is not on the members to manage serious and fundamental changes to their experience. Assuming that were the case the club has valid and reasonable tools at their disposal to push that message - they have chosen instead to obsfucate and imply others are at fault for a decision that appears within their control.

The club continues to treat their members as a renewable resource which is a fundamentally flawed position for a club that blames its entire lack of financial strength on not having enough support in the Melbourne market. At what point do they accept that butchering the gameday experience for 30 years - at least 2 generations of supporters - is not in the interests of growing that support?

Edit: BTW, I've put up with a lot of crap from this club to go with some great memories. Being shafted off to Tassie for more games whilst having their hands out for cash the day before is up there. This is the first time - ever - that I went to watch a game of football (AFLW on Sunday) and actively wasn't even sure I wanted to watch it because I couldn't decide if I cared for the club to actually do well. This cavalier attitude to members and supporters runs the risk of them treating the club with the same attitude.
They have to replace the Tassie revenue somehow. And soon.

But look i hear what you're saying and the frustratiuon i've read on these threads for years is palpable. I do get it. I live less than 75 from carrarra in a straight line and a bit further from the gabba. In NSW. It used to be easier to get access to Qld games than it has been recently on my NSW interstate membership. (I'm moving to Tassie next year. So at least I'll get to see some games live.)

If this is club decision to attempt to replace Tassie revenue then its been very poorly communicated and its pretty poor that they didn't just come out and be up front about it.

I get why youse are all pissed off if that's the case.

I have confirmed what has changed. Summary below

Here's the relevant membership map for 2021/22/23:

View attachment 1800109

Here's the same map for 2024:

View attachment 1800110

Summary of Changes:
  • Premiership Club - Reserved Seat
    Bays 38/39 now totally unavailable
    Small sections of bays 35/36 now totally unavailable
    Bay 30 which was previously fully reserved is now only half reserved seating
    Added bays 27/28.

• Premiership Club - Non-reserved bays
    Bays 35/36/37/38 now totally unavailable
    Lost half of bay 28
    Lost half of bay 34
    Added half of bay 27
    Added bay 26
  • Arden Lounge
    Moved from bays 39/40 tobays 38/39

• Social Club - non reserved bays
    Added bays 30/31

To compare this to Carlton, their 2024 membership map is the same as their 2023 membership map. Like us, they never had access to the front rows in bays 35/36/37, but they have retained full access elsewhere:

View attachment 1800137
I think the club had good intentions when it decided to make the green bays all the same price.

But never have I seen wing seats treated the same as behind goals.

I obviously never complained about it but feels weird looking back.

Still can’t believe there is all these white knight corporates lining up to buy all these premium dining / seat packages that are being freed up in our ripping time slots.

They have to replace the Tassie revenue somehow. And soon.

But look i hear what you're saying and the frustratiuon i've read on these threads for years is palpable. I do get it. I live less than 75 from carrarra in a straight line and a bit further from the gabba. In NSW. It used to be easier to get access to Qld games than it has been recently on my NSW interstate membership. (I'm moving to Tassie next year. So at least I'll get to see some games live.)

If this is club decision to attempt to replace Tassie revenue then its been very poorly communicated and its pretty poor that they didn't just come out and be up front about it.

I get why youse are all pissed off if that's the case.
Like I said ferbs - when those seats are packed all day in the 5 out of 7 leftover fixtures we get next year I'll eat my hat. They won't be. Chasing corporates is fine and great - they won't be the ones that turn up for the horror half decades like we just had and once you turn away long term members they won't come back.

What's worse is that those empty seats on the level 2 centre wing are highly visible on the broadcast. It's just going to exacerbate the perception that we can't get fans to come to our games.

As a social club level 1 seat holder, looks like we’ve picked up a couple of bays, thanks Chadwiko for above info. Prob the only small winners out of this.
I am this level as well after downgrading a couple of times.

Hopesully that bay 29 is reserved for the North Closer to a flag group.

Bay 30 will be the place to sit on level 1.

Yeah it doesn’t feel purely cash driven like some are saying. There’s additional social club bays plus a whole bay for a new roo squad (whatever that is).

More density on L2 actually means you’re more likely to sit with our kind, something a lot of ppl have been complaining about.

Also, I could the count the number of us who had reserved seats at 37-39, it was very few. probably even boosted by those who floated down.

Lost our wing seats but trying to see the positive I guess 🤷🏻‍♂️

Yeah. I'm looking forward to the $$$ rolling in next year so we don't need to pay memberships anymore to keep the club afloat. No doubt a repeat of this year will see us rolling in dough:

vs West Coast (Sat arvo)
vs Carlton (GF)
vs Saints (Sunday 4:40pm well known corporate hot time lol)
vs Sydney (Sat arvo)
vs GWS (Sun arvo, double lol)
vs Dogs (Sunday 4:40pm - lol again)
vs Hawks (sun arvo)
vs Dons (Sat arvo - workable)

That's it. Outside of Good Friday and maybe the Essendon game there is little of any interest. Non vic clubs on Saturdays (the only real day of value outside Friday's) and a bunch of graveyard slots on Sundays. We've sold off the other 4 games - blockbuster home games in the making in Port, GWS, Melbourne and Gold Coast. Surprised we're not pushing to bring all 11 home games back and really make the most of this money printing opportunity the stadium have handed us.

I anticipate some real money through the front door that will heavily outweigh the pain of this. Do they honestly think anyone is going to book functions for this tripe and that the few who do are going to outweigh keeping thousands of your most supporting members engaged?

what's she's saying is probably true. but

all clubs will be impacted.... but some may wear the cost and continue as is while others shuffle their members along? :rolleyes:
Don’t get to excited about been a home member on Good Friday with Carlton just it wouldn’t be surprising if there ask the AFL to be the Home club that day plus watch the AFL screw us again with no Port Power game in Victoria again.

More density on L2 actually means you’re more likely to sit with our kind, something a lot of ppl have been complaining about.

I would be much more enthusiastic about this if the seats were actually on the wing.

As a reminder; if you're sitting inside the forward 50, you can't really see the new big screens hanging from the roof at Marvel, nor the little screens in the corners.

I sit on level 1 on the wing so I'm not impacted. In saying that, I can't help but feel disappointed that yet again the club membership admin seems to be showing more incompetence than ever. Membership prices have gone up despite the fact we only have 7 home games and a chance of getting replacement games if you look at your phone the whole day at work. It is simply not good enough.

The best thing about North Melbourne people is their loyalty and their unconditional dedication to watching the team whether we are last or at the top. The worst thing is I think the club is taking advantage of that loyalty and dedication ever so slightly twisting the knife. That's not the North Melbourne way.

If we're going to boast about no debt, no pokies, and caring about the community or whatever, how about applying those principles to the most important part of your footy club, its members?

Without its members, North Melbourne would've ceased to exist.
The NMFC would continue to exits without members as the club would have The Huddle for the $$$ family and its ego drenched hanger ons and token gestures and the BS Linkden Leadership lunches that also boost the egos of the hanger ons and token gestures.

I would be much more enthusiastic about this if the seats were actually on the wing.

As a reminder; if you're sitting inside the forward 50, you can't really see the new big screens hanging from the roof at Marvel, nor the little screens in the corners.
You’re kidding? I never knew this

Not visible from both L1 and L2?

haha years of going to the footy and siting on the wing I’ve been spoilt.

You’re kidding? I never knew this

Not visible from both L1 and L2?

haha years of going to the footy and siting on the wing I’ve been spoilt.

The level 1 and level 2 seats behind the goals/in the forward pocket are "behind" the big screen directly above you, so you have to rely on the screens on the far side of the ground.

Here's an example image from a quick google search where you can see the back of the screen you'd be sitting under.

sabuckley-20220418072933.jpg

The level 1 and level 2 seats behind the goals/in the forward pocket are "behind" the big screen directly above you, so you have to rely on the screens on the far side of the ground.

Here's an example image from a quick google search where you can see the back of the screen you'd be sitting under.

sabuckley-20220418072933.jpg

Nah I’ve sat down in the Cheer Squad and you can see the screen up on the Southern End of where the roof opens

IMG_5510.jpeg

Nah I’ve sat down in the Cheer Squad and you can see the screen up on the Southern End of where the roof opens

Yeah, as I said you have to rely on the screens at the far end of the grounds.

I dunno if it's just me and my eyesight, but I find if you're sitting behind the goals, the opposite screens are too far away to actually be useful.

Yeah, as I said you have to rely on the screens at the far end of the grounds.

I dunno if it's just me and my eyesight, but I find if you're sitting behind the goals, the opposite screens are too far away to actually be useful.

The new ones are great but iirc there’s an issue with formatting that Hutch was whinging about when they launched

The other problem is the blinding lights they have installed. I know of people who wear sunglasses inside on Level 1 because they are intolerant of the lights

Resource 2024 Membership thread - it begins - with a kiss