Resource 2024 Membership thread - it begins - with a kiss

If I read this right it is all about NM maximising the return from premium seating, regardless of any existing loyalties to long term members. NM choice rather than Marvel/AFL.
Correct GK.
And the way its been handled and communicated has been nothing short of disgraceful.
I can only assume all the members caught up in this feel let down by the club, deflated by the efforts taken to try and get an honest answer and a overwhelming sense of disappointment at the proposed changes and conduct of the club.

This isn't the way you treat members. This isn't North.
Sure, we never receive emails and can never purchase finals tickets because an employee at the club fails to upload member barcodes to the ticketing system - but other than that, we take whats on offer which is being helped by a 20yo kid in second year uni, who really can't be f*** dealing with us.
Other than that everything is right to go at Arden St :poov1:

Surely this will affect ALL home clubs ?
Depends where they have their reserved seats and how many - it’s highly likely they could be affected more than us but still not clear if that’s the case as North remain non committal on how they will use the small number of seats they have in aisles 35 to 39. It may be the other tenant clubs will just continue with their current arrangement in full minus any seats lost for the Skyline dining room.

Not sure on that. The way I read my reply is that the Club thinks they can make more money from those seats through functions.
This last paragraph is from the reply KIA received ..The last sentence is the main thing..

I want to be clear that there has been no intention to mislead members. The AFL and Marvel designed the redevelopment with the new corporate function rooms attached to premium seating. Stadiums will always be designed in this way to maximise revenue attached to the best seats. The commercial opportunities created by the rooms in this location, must be utilised by the Club to maximise their commercial potential. This is a commercial reality and our club must optimise the opportunity of the function spaces. All clubs will be impacted by the changes.

Kind Regards,

Jen

Jennifer Watt
Chief Executive Officer

This last paragraph is from the reply KIA received ..The last sentence is the main thing..

I want to be clear that there has been no intention to mislead members. The AFL and Marvel designed the redevelopment with the new corporate function rooms attached to premium seating. Stadiums will always be designed in this way to maximise revenue attached to the best seats. The commercial opportunities created by the rooms in this location, must be utilised by the Club to maximise their commercial potential. This is a commercial reality and our club must optimise the opportunity of the function spaces. All clubs will be impacted by the changes.

Kind Regards,

Jen

Jennifer Watt
Chief Executive Officer
what's she's saying is probably true. all clubs will be impacted...

.... but some may wear the cost and continue as is while others shuffle their members along? :rolleyes:

Not sure on that. The way I read my reply is that the Club thinks they can make more money from those seats through functions.
Yeah. I'm looking forward to the $$$ rolling in next year so we don't need to pay memberships anymore to keep the club afloat. No doubt a repeat of this year will see us rolling in dough:

vs West Coast (Sat arvo)
vs Carlton (GF)
vs Saints (Sunday 4:40pm well known corporate hot time lol)
vs Sydney (Sat arvo)
vs GWS (Sun arvo, double lol)
vs Dogs (Sunday 4:40pm - lol again)
vs Hawks (sun arvo)
vs Dons (Sat arvo - workable)

That's it. Outside of Good Friday and maybe the Essendon game there is little of any interest. Non vic clubs on Saturdays (the only real day of value outside Friday's) and a bunch of graveyard slots on Sundays. We've sold off the other 4 games - blockbuster home games in the making in Port, GWS, Melbourne and Gold Coast. Surprised we're not pushing to bring all 11 home games back and really make the most of this money printing opportunity the stadium have handed us.

I anticipate some real money through the front door that will heavily outweigh the pain of this. Do they honestly think anyone is going to book functions for this tripe and that the few who do are going to outweigh keeping thousands of your most supporting members engaged?

what's she's saying is probably true. but

all clubs will be impacted.... but some may wear the cost and continue as is while others shuffle their members along? :rolleyes:

what's she's saying is probably true. all clubs will be impacted...

.... but some may wear the cost and continue as is while others shuffle their members along? :rolleyes:

Sure it can be true - all clubs have a new function room available and can choose how they sell memberships and seating associated with it. Not all clubs will be choosing to knife long term members in the back at the first opportunity though.

Got a response from Jen Watt:

1. Are members of other Marvel Stadium based AFL teams also losing access to the level 2 wing aisles, or is this a decision that NMFC has made in isolation? All Clubs are affected in the same way however the specific way Clubs utilise the rooms may vary. I anticipate most will use the rooms for their corporate match day functions as we are. I note that we are one of the first clubs to communicate changes.
  2. Will any NMFC members/coteries/corporate partners have access to seating in the level 2 wing aisles, or has the club wholly lost access to these bays? And if so, who will be sitting in these bays on game days? One of new match day rooms will be used to house the Club’s Arden Lounge (President’s match day function). Various coterie/partner groups buy into this function. The other new rooms will have various premium hospitality offerings in them. The increased capacities of the new function rooms increases the seats required to service them. There will be times when the capacities of the new function rooms fluctuates up and down. This means there will be occasions when some seats in this area get sold as daily reserved seats. The seats can’t be offered as member seats because at times they will all be required.
Best, Jen

Between this response and the one provided to KIA34, I'm still not clear if rows A to G in bays 35-39 are being reserved for corporate NMFC functions or Marvel Stadium corporate functions.

I suppose either way it doesn't matter; NMFC members have been shafted to make way.

Will have to strongly consider my options for membership moving forward. The whole point of attending in person was to sit in a nice seat on the wing and get a good view of the whole field. If that's not an available option anymore, I'm not certain I see the value for money in a premium membership anymore.

Got a response from Jen Watt:

Between this response and the one provided to KIA34, I'm still not clear if rows A to G in bays 35-39 are being reserved for corporate NMFC functions or Marvel Stadium corporate functions.

I suppose either way it doesn't matter; NMFC members have been shafted to make way.

Will have to strongly consider my options for membership moving forward. The whole point of attending in person was to sit in a nice seat on the wing and get a good view of the whole field. If that's not an available option anymore, I'm not certain I see the value for money in a premium membership anymore.
l think a lot of other Premiership members will be thinking the same thing..

The Warlord I love you as a poster mate but bloody hell your take on this has been so off the mark.
No one wants to see North shat on. But this isn't an issue about onfield performance, the players or the coach.
This is a member issue so 100% those impacted have the right to VOICE their frustrations publicly and even call for accountability from the club.

Do it at the AGM then.

No I haven’t spoken to him. Just eff off.

But you will speak to them if required to have your massive sook?

You've agreed to speak to the journo. That's what matters

I do this stuff for a living btw.

I'm making some assumptions and deductions here, so don't take this as gospel.

HOWEVER:
  • Premiership Club/Schimma Club members in bays 35-39 have been told to move.
  • Essendon/Carlton reserved seat members in the same bays have not been impacted, supposedly (although we don't have 'hard' confirmation of this).
  • According to KickItAnywhere34, he was told that "[Marvel Stadium] Centre Wing will still have rows A to G in aisles 35 to 39", with the implication that this was the case last season (it wasn't).
This really, really makes it sound like the club has either lost access to, or sold the seats in bays 35-39 in rows A to G to the 'Centre Wing' premium service that Marvel Stadium operates.

The VFL side has been canned to pay for the W team.

Literally your evidence for this is Essendon nuffs on the main board.

Clubs made it pretty clear they don't care and aren't going to change their mind. These decisions aren't made lightly, and they're not easy to roll back. Shut up and buy a membership.
Sure they’d start to care if 5,000 members just up and left from the highest paying category.

l have just received an email regarding sponsorship renewals and replied with this..

"our decision to renew will be depending upon whether Ben Mckay re-signs and also is being swayed by the club relocating our seats from our premiership members reserved seating in aisle 38 to aisle 30 . Please feel free to send us the update 2024 sponsorship renewals for consideration."

Literally your evidence for this is Essendon nuffs on the main board.
No, it's not. You absolute muppet. You've been told multiple times now.

You seriously need to get over your god complex. You are not special.

I'm not renewing my membership until Taylor Garner is brought back.

You seriously need to get over your god complex. You are not special.

"Don't bag the club to the media without having full command of the situation" is not a position that requires the mandate of Heaven.

One minor benefit that you are likely to
Find with this is you won’t have to sit next to ring ins from other clubs like many complain about.

Except that's not accurate.

From what I can gather, rows A to G in bays 35-39 are now open for Marvel's 'Centre Wing' premium membership. We're now actually MORE likely to be surrounded by opposition supporters on 'our' member wing.

Resource 2024 Membership thread - it begins - with a kiss