Discussion 2023 General AFL Discussion - Part II

No shepherding, no bouncing the ball while running, no centre square bounce, essentially tag = HTB. Can’t tackle from behind, so if a player gets out the opposition doesn’t even have the opportunity to run him down? He can just stroll into goal?

Forget about destroying the fabric of the game, you’ve just listed the rules of touch footy.

Clearly it’s too hard to umpire the way it is, feel free to disagree but without putting up a counter proposal it’s not very helpful.

The first thing is to stop adding new rules and interpretations every year that the umpires end up using all their mental energy getting used to. The only caveat to this is to rewrite the HTB rule once and for all. Player has x number of seconds or something. As objective as possible without scrapping no prior.

On the other side of the coin, dump rules like the stand rule, nominating rucks, etc - everything that makes the game over-officiated without actually adding that much. Keep it simple.

Bounce the ball in the centre to start every quarter, throw it up for the rest. Have a bounce specialist for this one act 4 times a game if need be to keep the better decision-making umpires in the game. Maybe a bit dumb but the bounce is too iconic to dump imo.

Things like running too far are rarely called egregiously - the Brisbane one from the start of the game was the first example I can think of in a while.

Now you can give the umpires a couple of seasons to get used to simplified rules without changing interpretations and adding new rules on them all the time.

How about the north Melbourne assistance package? May as well give them an 18 point head start in every match as well.
Ridiculous… they've cut all their mature depth for about 5 years and then complain that they're not competitive.

Ryan Clarke, Ben brown, Daw, Higgins, Jacobs, Pittard, Marley Williams, Mason Wood, Atley, Campbell, Dumont, Menadue, Tarrant, Tyson, Polec.

That's no all star cast but plenty of decent players in there.

Their youth looks very good, they just need to be patient. Their under 25 squad would be one of the best in the comp.

C Scott not holding back on 360 about North assistance

I'm not watching it, sworn off footy since the prelim, all in on the world cup cricket tie ins for 5th Oct. If he went hard at it, good on him, is bullshit of Norths own making, if he didn't go hard enough, no biggie, AFL shill making his bed.

Worth a replay?

he's bang on the money, AFL ****ing over the system cos North have operated at a horrendous level, WC are going to be crap for another 3-4 years, because North were given these then WC should as well, and when they don't get them.......

just fold the ****ers

I love Chris Scott. I've always had a great respect for Geelong after they beat us in '09 and what they've done following, and he clearly gets it. Pulls no punches and his respect for RTB is a bonus.

The first thing is to stop adding new rules and interpretations every year that the umpires end up using all their mental energy getting used to. The only caveat to this is to rewrite the HTB rule once and for all. Player has x number of seconds or something. As objective as possible without scrapping no prior.

On the other side of the coin, dump rules like the stand rule, nominating rucks, etc - everything that makes the game over-officiated without actually adding that much. Keep it simple.

Bounce the ball in the centre to start every quarter, throw it up for the rest. Have a bounce specialist for this one act 4 times a game if need be to keep the better decision-making umpires in the game. Maybe a bit dumb but the bounce is too iconic to dump imo.

Things like running too far are rarely called egregiously - the Brisbane one from the start of the game was the first example I can think of in a while.

Now you can give the umpires a couple of seasons to get used to simplified rules without changing interpretations and adding new rules on them all the time.
Deliberate out of bounds rule needs some thought - or maybe just some common sense attached. Like maybe the team kicking it out of their defensive half.
I can’t see the point of the attacking team doing it deliberately going forward. It’s very much opinion based.

Respect to Chris Scott for speaking the truth, agree with everything he said about the way that the AFL manipulate the draft way too much.

Geelong benefitted from it last year though when they got the no.7 pick from the Suns for taking Bowes. don't hear him complain about that.

A couple of dudes with the balls to speak the truth.
Have a lot of respect for Chris Scott. He is a smart operator and very articulate speaker.
Unfortunately nothing will come of it because no doubt the AFL did a handshake deal with Clarko before he took the job.

Deliberate out of bounds rule needs some thought - or maybe just some common sense attached. Like maybe the team kicking it out of their defensive half.
I can’t see the point of the attacking team doing it deliberately going forward. It’s very much opinion based.
Yep forgot about that one. One of the dumbest rules in all of sport. They honestly make it up as they go.

A team going forward would do it if they were streaming forward and had no one in the F50. Better to bomb it to the pocket boundary and lock it in rather than have a shot for goal you know you won't make and give the ball back to the oppo on the kick in.

Ice hockey has the icing rule to combat a similar thing. Basically you can't just smack the puck to the other end of the ice to relieve pressure. If you shoot the puck from your half and it gets to the goal line or an oppo player touches it before one of your players, they bring the puck all the way back to your defensive zone for a faceoff (ball up). So it often creates these one on one races between two players to the goal line. It's more complicated than that but that's the basic idea.

You might be able to implement something similar in footy (inside F50, race to the boundary where the ball is, if attacking team wins it's a throw in, if defending team wins it's a D50 free kick). But then we're probably getting too complicated again.

Probably the easiest solution is last touch = free kick inside the 50s, and throw it in between the 50s. This is not without problems though... imagine losing a GF from a defensive clearing attempt that happened to roll OOB.

Anyway I'm glad I don't make the rules but it's something they have to sort out ASAP.

Any rules where the umpire is meant to read the mind of the player are very flawed.

I'm not one to whinge about the AFL and its administration but...

Bloody hell, for a self-identified Saints fan like Gil McLaughlan to say we all benefit from concessions just because we lucked out with 2 (TWO) academy picks is in itself disingenuous at the very least and cheeky to the point of being slappable.

Hey Gil, don't forget to mention the outrageous fortune we had scoring Bailey Rice and Chad Davis as FS selections. Obviously identical to the Kangaroos situation, or Bulldogs, Geelong, Hawthorn, or Essendon FS situation or any of the interstate academy rorts.

Call yourself a Saints fan mate, fair dinkum

Bloody hell, for a self-identified Saints fan like Gil McLaughlan to say we all benefit from concessions just because we lucked out with 2 (TWO) academy picks is in itself disingenuous at the very least and cheeky to the point of being slappable.

Hey Gil, don't forget to mention the outrageous fortune we had scoring Bailey Rice and Chad Davis as FS selections. Obviously identical to the Kangaroos situation, or Bulldogs, Geelong, Hawthorn, or Essendon FS situation or any of the interstate academy rorts.

Gil is absolutely correct.

The whole comp is compromised (drafting, academies, income distribution, salary caps, fixtures even where the finals are played) and everyone including Scott and Lyon know it.

Thought Lyon was stupid making those comments and Gil actually went easy on him - could have easily pointed out how much extra financial assistance the Saints have got over the past 10 years.

We have had plenty of Saints head the AFL and never got a scrap out of them. They administer us like Leigh Fisher umpires us. They try so hard to look unbiased that they punish us.

Holding us to tortuous stadium deals to help pay down their debts while giving clubs like Essendon endless concessions. Handing us zero concessions on field, no marquee games, no assistance with draft concessions etc. The only thing they did to help was send their problem administrator in to destroy out list doing a job he had no experience in.

The AFL treat us like a special needs child that they claim the government benefits for and keep us in a cupboard, throwing scraps off their empty plates from the door before locking us in the dark again.

Gil is absolutely correct.

The whole comp is compromised (drafting, academies, income distribution, salary caps, fixtures even where the finals are played) and everyone including Scott and Lyon know it.

Thought Lyon was stupid making those comments and Gil actually went easy on him - could have easily pointed out how much extra financial assistance the Saints have got over the past 10 years.
It wasn't stupid to make those comments at all, North Melbourne has absolutely tanked and been richly rewarded for it, good on Scott and Lyon for calling it out.