Same. Great buzz around the place. Call it blasphemous but I’m glad we played against a big club as well.I still enjoyed the week, even though we lost.
nods we had a lot of games like that with Leppa but doing it during the regular season when you know you suck is different from doing it in person on GF day!Good mate of mine is a big Sydney supporter, went down the year before, game over half way through the first quarter. Now that would be a flat day.
nods we had a lot of games like that with Leppa but doing it during the regular season when you know you suck is different from doing it in person on GF day!
Sorry I was comparing how we felt during Leppa death games where we knew it was over by quarter time to how the Sydney surporters felt knowing the same thing during a GF. Not the thread topic but related to the post I quoted (they were comparing us losing in a hard fought tussle over them rolling over with hardly a whimper)I know everyone has a different emotional make-up, but anyone with a shred of rationality could've had what happened as a possibility. I still maintain if we'd played close at or near our best we'd have taken the day - I'm not convinced Collingwood weren't far off their best. But they played better on the day and deserved it.
I haven't watched a replay and probably won't ever, so I envy Pies supporters having that luxury to nourish them through the off-season.
I’d be interested in the full list of surgeries.May have been mentioned but Dev Rob played with a broken wrist..going in for surgery
It did happen again. Chris Judd in 2005.Anything that embarrasses the AFL never happens again does it.
When Bucks took off the NS as soon as it was hung around his neck it was a huge scandal at the time with NS's family saying it was a blight on the memory of the great man yadda yadda.
Bucks simply didn't want to walk back to his team with a medal when none of them were getting one.
But yeah, that will never happen again.
Started at Fed Square in the end. Was great to be a part of.was this the walk to the g from one of the fitzory pubs?
Appreciate your question is rhetorical.To be fair though Luthor in what universe would anyone have Lester on Hill ?
Worst match up of all time.
Hill was the danger player as was flagged on here 3 or 4 times and we just didn't put enough work into it.
They waltzed it forward too easily which really helped Hill but we didn't seem to have a plan. Well maybe we did but I couldn't see what it was.
Great post. Really respect the class and grace you and a number of your fellow supporters have shown on this thread in recent days.VicBias: is real and its in the scheduling. Be nice if you got a home grand final, or a neutral one, or if you got to play on the GF venue more than 3 times in a season. VicBias to me isn't cheating umps (though they favour the home side, and guess where it was played?), its the fact more than half the clubs are in one state (so Vics get more political clout) and in other states politicians get to buy home games for their clubs: SA bought a home round, Vic clubs have locked in home grand finals and its wrong. We won't talk about Sydney or GWS because I have opinions that border defamation.
Seen this sentiment a few times...Bailey's goal = GOTY.
I reckon we had control in the 2nd quarter but gave up two soft goals before half time and after that it became an arm wrestle. That coincided with us losing our nerve and not going thru the corridor which we had cut them up early. I just had this gut feel that we were never going to win a close one and unfortunately that played out. Just a numb feeling.
They started giving us the sidelines more and staying on the inside to clog up the space there too.
Sad to say but we were thoroughly outcoached today. Long down the line like that as well as your halfbacks and wings (Kiddy first half aside) being ineffectual is not how we have been playing recently. No run and no dare.
A four point lead is more like two goals when it comes to playing Collingwood and they looked in control for that last quarter and most of the game.
We have to find a use for Berry and our wings. Couldn’t see many examples of their unrewarding running toda. Collingwood just used it too well and they didn’t give us much offensively
Every time we tried to switch they were ready with numbers on the other side and we had to go down the line. Could see them running across.
Reflecting on the GF. In the first half Coleman and Zorko hit a couple kicks into the corridor and we looked on. It was almost identical to the Richmond game at the MCG last year. Coleman was on fire and every time he got his hands on the ball we looked dangerous. He has such great vision and has the kicking skills to back it up.
Unfortunately like that Richmond game - the corridor movement stopped in second half in the GF and Coleman struggles to have the same influence. We still had some nice ball movement but it was more out wide. Collingwood kept going through the middle and seemed better at getting that extra number thought the middle. They picked off some dangerous kicks and some they executed and some the didn't. But, they were prepared to continue taking the corridor. I feel sometimes we go back into a defensive mode and too much down the line.
I hope in the off season we work on kick in's a bit more. When we take a bit more risk with our kick in's and ball movement we look so dangerous. We have to learn if we make an error not to go into a our shell.
With Kiddy - McKenna - Wilmot we have the talent and kicking ability to take teams on.
Hey Chezza! You still working with the umpires at all?It has been a long time since I've been here. Since I came here as a tragic in early 2005, I've changed. I no longer hold aligience to any AFL Club as I've dedicated myself to serving community footy.
I just wanted to come here and say that I don't think the Lions were robbed. Was it a bad advantage call, hell, probably, looked bad to me. But it wasn't deliberate, not malicious, there was no bloody conspiracy like I've seen being circulated in social media.
It was a classic Grand Final. I love every minute of it. All the respect in the world to Fly and the team.
Less so to windbags like Eddie and 90% of their fanbase. hehehehe.
Much better to lose a GF in a close match dubbed one of the best GFs in the 21st century than get flogged in a GF or prelim. It was a great week and one we will all remember. More importantly, we - players and fans - have experienced a taste of the final success. We all want to taste that success again. Nothing will motivate the players more.
Hey Chezza! You still working with the umpires at all?
After that, the Preliminary Finals should have been flipped. Yes, I acknowledge the fact that Collingwood's ladder position would ordinarily dictate they get the Friday night game and the 8 day break for the Grand Final. However, they already had the advantage of essentially hosting the Grand Final, which as you've alluded to, very few teams get to do under the current arrangement.
I felt that an 8 day break on top of playing the Grand Final on your home ground, against a travelling team with one less day to prepare, was excessive. Particularly after Collingwood played a team in the prelim off a 6 day break, while Brisbane played a team off an 8 day break.
The whole notion of "top team plays the Friday prelim" was originally introduced as a way to benefit the top team where they were outside Victoria, like Port in 2004. I don't think at the time that advantage was ever intended, or needs, to extend to the Melbourne based clubs.
The other alternative was to play the Port v GWS on the Friday night. Yes, both clubs would have had a 6 day break but it would have been the same for both. Then, from that point on, all teams would have a 7 day break, except the Friday prelim winner earning an 8 day break.
That didn't happen however, with the AFL wanting Melbourne v Carlton on the Friday night, evidently putting $$$ ahead of a fair and equitable competition. Yet again.
Appreciate the above may sound like sour grapes. However I did raise the prospect of all of the above happening right back when the Collingwood v Melbourne QF on the Thursday was first mooted. That it all came to pass pretty much exactly as I predicted with virtually no critical analysis by the media was particularly galling, but not really surprising.
Anyway, none of the above made a lick of difference on Grand Final day. We had conditions in our favour but your guys simply handled them better. Congratulations.