Universal Love Who is the best player who has played for the Melbourne Football Club since and including 2000? WINNER: Max Gawn

Who has been the better player for Melbourne?

I absolutely love Hibbo – one of my favourites. I'd argue his only 'elite' offensive season with us was 2017 when he made AA. He averaged 27 touches that year, whereas for the rest of his career with us, he only averaged about 15.

Obviously disposals aren't the be all and end all, but I'd say he started off as an elite offensive player, but certainly became much more of a defensive player as time went on.

His 2017 year probably eclipsed any of McDonald's seasons, but I think Junior was probably more consistent for longer.

Still, tough one!

Talking about how good his disposal was mate, I dont give a shit how often you get it if youre an average kick (which McDonald was), you should know this by now. :p

Talking about how good his disposal was mate, I dont give a s**t how often you get it if youre an average kick (which McDonald was), you should know this by now. :p
Hahaha, I know.

I just think that from 2018/19 onwards, Hibbo wasn't really an elite rebounder as he didn't get his hands on the footy enough to have a huge offensive impact. Absolutely elite defensively, though.

Perhaps I'm being too picky.

Was unmitigated joy watching Hibbo annihilate some shithead opposition player.

My favourite was him destroying Dustin Martin in I think in 2021? Martin was absent for a long time afterwards, not from injury I reckon he was just ashamed to show his face.

Junior gets a bit of a breakaway. :eyes:

P.S. Did you know that Headless actually tried registering for the anonymous online text-based football discussion forum bigfooty.com under the username "Junior", but it was TAKEN? :screamcat:

That's sad :(

I tried registering an alt with the name "The Love Schache" which I was really excited about. I had the profile pic sorted and errything (see below), was gonna only speak in b-52 language ("funky little schache!!") but it got rejected, throwaway email "therealjoshschache@whatever.com" musta given the game away.

uvTM6s7v.jpg

I can't remember what my first attempts at user names were, I had heaps rejected. A sign of things to come I guess.

James McDonald (1997-2010)
Debut: Round 17, 1997
251 games, 56 goals
  • Club captain
  • All-Australian
  • 2x club B&F

Michael Hibberd (2017-2023)
Debut: Round 5, 2017
113 games, 3 goals
  • Premiership player
  • All-Australian

EDIT (08/11/23): Results:
  • James McDonald: 19 (68%)
  • Michael Hibberd: 8 (32%)
James McDonald advances to the next round. Michael Hibberd has been eliminated.

Round 1 - Brad Green v. Jake Lever
Brad Green (2000-2012)
Debut: Round 2, 2000
254 games, 350 goals
  • Club captain
  • Club B&F
  • Leading goal-kicker

Jake Lever (2018-present)
Debut: Round 1, 2018
104* games, 1* goal
  • Premiership player
  • All-Australian

• Brad Green: 15 (88%)
  • Jake Lever: 2 (12%)

Brad Green (2000-2012)
254 games, 350 goals
  • Club captain
  • Club B&F
  • Leading goal-kicker

104* games, 1* goal
  • Premiership player
  • All-Australian
Finally, an easier one. Green pretty comfortably.

Just realised I missed yesterday's votes. Kind of glad as there was no way I could have picked between Farmer and White. My two favourite players as a kid.

Still mad about Green's AA snub in 2010. 20 touches a game and 55 goals was pretty absurd for that era of footy.

Then the following year his form fell apart and got named sub as a captain, earning the nickname 'Brad Greenvest'

I voted Jake Lever because I feel bad he only had one vote.

Tough one for me. Quite fond of Brad Green but Jake married his teacher and I think that trumps an AA snub.

Would love Brad Green in this team. One of the sweetest set shots you'll see. Definitely could have used peak Green in the finals. There's a goal he kicked against Carlton to seal the game was a beauty, think it may have been the last game at optus oval.

Brad Green (2000-2012)
254 games, 350 goals
  • Club captain
  • Club B&F
  • Leading goal-kicker

104* games, 1* goal
  • Premiership player
  • All-Australian

• Brad Green: 15 (88%)
  • Jake Lever: 2 (12%)
Brad Green advances to the next round. Jake Lever has been eliminated.

Round 1 - Adem Yze v. Bernie Vince
Adem Yze (1995-2008)
Debut: Round 13, 1995
271 games, 234 goals
  • Club B&F
  • All-Australian

Bernie Vince (2014-2018)
Debut: Round 1, 2014
100 games, 33 goals
  • Club B&F

• Adem Yze: 13 (93%)
  • Bernie Vince: 1 (7%)

Universal Love Who is the best player who has played for the Melbourne Football Club since and including 2000? WINNER: Max Gawn