Society and Culture BF style

This board uses homophobic slurs against Gary Lyon? I thought it was more about him cheating with his mates wife.

I dunno, I've thrown about plenty of insults on here but I don't think I usually go the "suck a dick" route
Unless he was cheating on his wife with a man, then no. That's not what happened.

Also, ex-wife. Also, cheating? He wasn't in a relationship at the time?

Words like f*g and re**rd were being published in gaming magazines and sold to kids in the early 2000s.

I think you're thinking of frag and resolution

Whoever did make that slogan was 100% aware of the connotations.
That's the precise reason it's lasted as long as it has.
Agreed, that slogan definitely has a deliberate double meaning and as you suggest probably helped give the product its longevity.

As for the icecream itself, I reckon it was around for at least 10 years before the now common use of the word.

Edit
I just googled it and it goes much further back than 10 years before the general use of the word today, Streets Golden Gaytime was first sold in Australia in 1959.

I thought they were married when it happened. I dunno, who cares, I'm not even sure why you brought Garry Lyon into it lol. What was the relevance meant to be?
The relevance is what I said. It's a thing in this board to imply he eats a satchel of units.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

Yeah dont think I've done much of that either champ, but go for it.

Plenty of "Hinkley sucks" though
Sucks on its own is fine, just means something sucks. Like, sucks good times away. Sucks away good feelings.

Ironically so does 'blows' on its own.

Strange language.

Agree. Calling a guy a co**sucker is technically homophobic but it's sort of a general insult like calling someone a motherf**ker.
I've never considered it as such.

The term, almost always directed to males by other males, quite literally says '**** sucker', therefore, implying that you bad or stupid or unwelcome, because you suck ****.

If there was a term that had racial connotations, in no way would anyone here be suggesting it's a general insult, and the issue would be quite black and white, for lack of a better phrase. Homophobic comments need to be recognised the same way.

I agree though it isn't as bad as ******.

Hard disagree but genuinely interested in the answer... Typical workplace, friend, bumping into people interactions in...Brazil/Uruguay (sry I forget) do you hear casual racial/homophobic etc words used? Not pointedly, just in general conversation. I feel like the last couple of decades it's largely been eradicated here which I definitely think is a good thing

As a friend of mine used to say: “homofobia is gay”. He’s right. This has nothing to do with sexual orientation. In the bottom of it, it all means “coward”.

There’s a link between “courage” and “manliness” [which doesn’t mean women can’t be courageous; let’s not be silly] that remains in our daily language. “Time to separate the men from the boys”, for instance.

Here, we say, as a compliment, that there are “women with balls”. We are not saying that they aren’t feminine [actually, for me, it’s quite the contrary], but that they are brave, secure, independent women. In the same sense, there are “manly” gay people and straight people who are “f*gs”.

People don’t usually think about this. They just speak it, and we understand. I do think about those things. You asked, so I answered.

The “big deal” is that there’s a certain link in the etymology of the word. A bundle of sticks is flammable. When the word gets thrown around flippantly, people forget that the word is used to draw an equivalency between firewood, and a group of marginalised people who, in the eyes of some, deserve to burn. It’s an abhorrent word to use and I hear it a lot around me which makes me sick, and this is coming from someone who’s as straight as can be.
Unsubstantiated urban legend based on one man's theory.

1712492485760.png

As a friend of mine used to say: “homofobia is gay”. He’s right. This has nothing to do with sexual orientation. In the bottom of it, it all means “coward”.

There’s a link between “courage” and “manliness” [which doesn’t mean women can’t be courageous; let’s not be silly] that remains in our daily language. “Time to separate the men from the boys”, for instance.

Here, we say, as a compliment, that there are “women with balls”. We are not saying that they aren’t feminine [actually, for me, it’s quite the contrary], but that they are brave, secure, independent women. In the same sense, there are “manly” gay people and straight people who are “f*gs”.

People don’t usually think about this. They just speak it, and we understand. I do think about those things. You asked, so I answered.
I suspect most of the debate you are reading here breaks down to people younger than and older than about 50. Obviously not all...just kinda roughly. I certainly never read anything you wrote as indicating homophobia but I suspect there's some cultural differences between Oz and Sth America (which I've seen before with some Argentinian colleagues too). I just find it interesting.

I definitely can't agree though that anything to gain a competitive advantage is fair game. No one can come after Jezza's partner and her health. No one can use the N word or similar (absolutely nothing good is coming out of how Venicius Jnr is being treated in Spain for example). It's a question of where you draw a line. Most Australians, at least most younger ones, put homophobia, transphobia etc on the other side of that line now too.

It's a problem what Jez said but I really feel for him because he seems a good guy, I have no reason to think he is actually homophobic and a disingenuous Adelaide media are ready to crucify him because of who he plays for.

The “big deal” is that there’s a certain link in the etymology of the word. A bundle of sticks is flammable. When the word gets thrown around flippantly, people forget that the word is used to draw an equivalency between firewood, and a group of marginalised people who, in the eyes of some, deserve to burn. It’s an abhorrent word to use and I hear it a lot around me which makes me sick, and this is coming from someone who’s as straight as can be.
Is that the current teaching at school these days? Just curious, as I think it's incorrect.

look at all the cupcakes in this thread trying to excuse a homophobic slur; that shouldn't be used on the footy field, in greater society, or even amongst "my close buddies"

it's been wrong for decades

even the offender admitted immediately it was wrong

stop trying to defend it farken
Cupcake. Hmm. Problematic.

6 games minimum for the 'cupcake' call imo....

Potentially one for the criminal record just so they can't travel to Scotland.

No one can deny its a race to the bottom of banning everything for all time because reasons and everyone is a hypocrite etc. Etc., but the slur in question here is really on the same platform as the N word, but for gay people. Its a bad one.

I hate how far its going, but there are quite a few that genuinely should be stamped out.

Do not ever compare a racial slur to a homophobic slur ever again. Absolutely ridiculous take.
Why?

My uncle was gutter stomped for being gay long before American History X brought such a move in to mainstream. Society had conditioned these men to become monsters and convinced them that nearly murdering another man based on his sexuality was an ok thing to do for fun.

When was your last gutter stomping?

And gays were being murdered by police during the era of Jack Cahill and Russel Ebert for nothing more than the crime of being gay.

In the time of Geoff Motley they were being sent to to concentration camps and executed.

Even the ones who were heroic figures with the allies were still castrated and driven to suicide.

All of this without even touching on places in the middle east or Africa or eastern Europe.

Lastly, importantly, there's never been an open homosexual footballer.

The Greeks have been welcome to play footy since forever.

My highschool mates father was murdered for being gay...(they caught the campaigner). it was in the media and guess what happened to his son? Thats right. Bullied mercilessly in school because of it. This was only 15 years ago.

Just abhorrently awful. All sorts of both anger and sadness thinking about it.

All my friends are gay AND we call eachother the n word all the time. YA GOT A PROBLEM WITH THAT YA 'TOLERANT' LEFTIES? something something, Ottoman empire
Pissweak, Just because I have a challenging opinion. The fact you're trying to take the piss with the Ottoman empire call shows your lack of empathy. Yet I'm meant to side with you and show some back, no worries.

Society and Culture BF style