Autopsy Saints roll the Cats.

I say it every year but a win against the Cats is top of the tree on my wish list. It's long surpassed a win against the Pies and that's saying something from a supporter that goes back as long as me. Stoked at the win. Very unexpected with at least half a dozen best 22 missing.

Everyone should flood Cornes and Purple's social media accounts giving them sh.it. They've both done nothing but bag us out since pre season. Purple frequently labels us as a terrible team and last week said there were "many, many things wrong with the club". Dickhead.

Cornes is no better. Both of them hate us. What makes it even better is that Purple sucks up to the Cats every week. He's openly stated that he tips them every week and tipped them to be premiers this year. The win tonight makes it all the more glorious for me.

Go Saints. Bloody ripper win!

Aside from the Pies game last year, that’s Windhager’s best game. He was outstanding.

Macrae is probably our best player. Cannot believe we got him for next to nothing.

Wilson’s drive is really important to us. His first half was great. Quiet second half and we missed his drive.

Keeler’s goal was fun but he’s not at the level yet. He got outmarked pretty much every contest. Sharman probably comes in for him.

Marshall was massive.

I love that we seriously butchered the last five minutes and still managed to win. So many learnings but still got the four points.

Some heroic efforts in the last few minutes despite some really bad errors.

Loved Hammer's game. Macrae is what we've been missing for years. Also Wood was enormous.

Just an epic win given the circumstances.
Love this take. You get rewarded for the heroics but it's plain what outcomes that can happen when you go against the plan

Yeah absolutely, just thought we had a few really costly turnovers and poor decisions in that time when we could have gotten the sealer. Can't fault the desperation though, the players were out on their feet and held on it was incredible to watch really although I think I just lost about 5 years of my life due to heart issues.
They were a few times we went deep into the forward line rather than shallow, the latter serving us so well first three quarters. We will learn. The cats came strong and we panicked a little but obviously did enough! 💪🏻

If Hammer can do that every week then we've found our full back. He's a modern full back type, can only gain in confidence too. A massive game in his career.
CHB for me, once the Man Child Barrat is on deck.

What a great win. A heart attacking win.. but a real place to jumpstart the season after the adelaide shit. A week is a long time in footy.

Caminiti took a while to acclimatise to playing pure back line but he really put it on the line at the end there. He'll take a while to really fit in well but I think Lyon can turn him into a genuine dangerous defender.

Keeler is going to be a player for sure. Not quite a center ruck really but will learn to pinch hit there well I think. Up forward he got to at least 4 leading contests and dropped all but the one that he kicked his goal with but its a small jump to being able to hold them I feel. Amazing grab on the boundary at the end there when he was cramping in every limb which to me is just showing some real tenacity.

Collard you can tell has grown into his body a lot more and can influence the game with his pressure. Two goals is a fantastic return for a player of his experience.

Windhager probably had the best game of his career. Clearances, tackles, shutting down Holmes extremely well and then slotting 2 goals of his own.. you name it. Those is the hallmarks of a damaging player that opposition are going to actively worry about.

Marshall was immense, Sinclair was immense, Wilkie was understated but considering Cameron kicked 1 dodgy goal only I think actually had a good game. Jones wound back the clock again and was immense.

I think Steele sacrifices his game somewhat as well which allows other players to rack up more possession, but this is just a feeling.

Macrae... what the **** was Bevo thinking... the man is an elite footballer.

Great work from OConnell at the end to take that mark.. he has a feel for the game and exactly when he needs to commit 100%.

Not gonna write up everyone... I dont think there were any real passengers tonight, a few didnt get a lot of touch but when everyone else is playing their asses off theres only so much opportunity to shine.

Genuine HTB, the way we used to understand it, is nearly as dead as the bump.

Players should train dropping the ball at their feet. Geelong were much better at it than us. They just let go once a tackle is laid and direct it towards a team mate. Collingwood are very good at it too.

It was a really good learning curve for the young fellas.
Got away in the first quarter rather than give a quarter head start as we usually do. Then to hold that lead for most of the game due to team effort and then have to defend for our lives as Geelong came at us. You don’t get that on the training track.
We had so many close losses last year but to start winning them is the birth of premiership sides.
Did they say there were 63000 people there?
What a taste of the big time for our them.

Genuine HTB, the way we used to understand it, is nearly as dead as the bump.
That was what killed me. Don't care too much about the cats free kicks, but the lack of HTB calls in the last was infuriating.

We had an insane pressure rating in the last q, but no reward for effort.

It might be a bit controversial, but I really like the 2-3 weeks mid last year when they were cracking down on HTB. It makes the game more interesting when there is genuine pressure on the player who wants to pick up the ball

Anyone else noticed the umpires centre bounce favoured Geelong nearly every single time?
What gets me is last week they would recall the bounce even if it was going to land inside the center circle, but this week there was a few that would have landed outside the circle but was called play on.

It makes no sense. I’m of the opinion they need to bounce the ball and play it no matter where it goes. I like the random nature of a bounce

Autopsy Saints roll the Cats.

Write your reply...