Certified Legendary Thread 🏆 GF = PIES WIN PREMIERSHIP #16 🏆🥇

What day is it?

Firstly, that was one hell of a football game. The quality of footy, especially in the first half was as good as you'll see. There was no way either team could maintain that for an entire game in hot weather.

Secondly, the euphoria on the final siren will be hard to ever match. It was a case of grab the closest pies supporter near you at the ground and wrap them in the biggest hug of all time. Just an amazing feeling and a brilliant way to cap off the past 2 seasons of work.

What Fly, his coaches and the admin have implemented into our club is something else. As someone who goes week in, week out you ride every bump along the journey and hope like hell that one day you'll see the club win a flag. I didn't truly appreciate the 2010 flag, but being a touch older, wiser and more mature now, i'm so grateful for what i got to witness on Saturday. This is a really special group and a club the has the full admiration and is also the envy of every other supporter base.

As for the on field performances of the boys on Saturday, my word what a time to produce your best footy. Bobby, Pendles, Titch, Crispy, Howie, Naics were our best. Losing Murph was huge as he was arguably in out best few players early on. But then Lippa, what a time to produce your best game of the year. Not only that but what a job he did to curtail Coleman after 1/2 time.

So many amazing performances, what a day. How good is it to sit back and let it sink in for the next few weeks. Premiers.

Go Pies!

On the JDG goal - I think it might be the best passage of play I've ever seen from the club. Well certainly my favourite!

Also, I've heard some lamenting from the oppo supporters out there about how unlucky it was that Dunkley slipped - what a crock. He only falls on his arse because Jordy straight fended him in the shoulder! Then Jordy runs forward but Dunkley made no effort to chase him and Jordy was about 20 meters in front of him when he collected and kicked the goal.

Strick that up your clackers you salty oppo flogs!

Jordy slipping in the QF got Brayshaw concussed. Lament that, flogs!

Well that was a pretty fitting way to end 2 years of insanity!

Having listened to Fly last night & watched us over the past 2 years.....i wonder when the comp will actually work out that we have about 4 distinctly different game modes (that i can work out from watching us).
We intentionally don't keep pushing anymore and deliberately go defensive when we think we have enough on the board.
Hence games are much closer than they really need to be.

After our first 5 games last year when we went ballistic all game and ran out of gas by about half way through the third, we changed the way we went about it.

It's bizarre (to me) that the comp hasn't really worked this out yet and keeps thinking its 'luck'.

We legit don't ever go hard in the last 5 when we're up.
When we're down, we just go full attack...which has proven time and time again to be good enough to run teams down.
Other teams don't have the same offensive burst, full attack mode, that we do....so we can hang on when others can't.

Was plenty obvious at the ground on Sat that Bris had no discernable difference in their game modes for the last 5 mins when they were down. Didn't roll extra numbers up. Still kept one back behind the ball, left their fwd line clogged up. Never rolled the dice as a midfield to just run ahead (cheat) and try and win the game.
Literally the same style they played all game.

Fly & co have changed this game in more ways than one. I don't think it's all Fly.
This has multiple coaches fingerprints on it.

Watch everyone copy us next year in our multi-mode gamestyle.
We're hardly a generational team.
But we used tactics that are leaps ahead of other clubs, who only started to work it out in the back half of this year.
Agree that we have gears that so many other teams don't - really stuck out to me during the Lions v Blues Prelim - the last 5 minutes was the perfect opportunity for the Lions to practice their game gears under finals pressure and yet they appeared to continue with the same game style. Will be interesting to see which teams adopt this approach in 2024 - meanwhile, I wonder what Fly and the team will develop for 2024 - if we don't recruit/develop a KPF, could he try a 3 way rotating ruck/full forward/Bench setup with Cox, Cameron and McStay/Frampton/Johnson/Krueger/Steene/Begg?

How bad was it for our players suffering from the heat?

What heat? I don't think I saw a drop of perspiration on anyone.

That was one theory blown out the water that was put forth by the 'experts'.

818etx.jpg

Is it a dream? I still can't believe it. Premiers. Winning a close grand final. Electric passages of play. They can never take that away from us. Experiencing it all with my son. I lost it in the third quarter when we hit the post twice and missed other opportunities when we were all over the Lions. I said " We just don't win grand finals!" as I felt the gods were once again planning another torturous ending.

My son told me to calm the farm. He said he knew I had been devastated many times but this game was not over and this team is different. He actually patted my back and was so calm I almost believed him. Funnily enough he had to get up and leave our seats in the last 5 minutes of the prelim. because he was so anxious.

When Daniher snapped that goal I thought it was going to happen again- especially when Berry broke out of the middle!

I still think Crispy should have had a go at kicking the goal when he took that mark. He was about 55 out and he is a thumping kick. I know Pendles told him to go sideways but he could have eaten up just as much time lining up for goal and was a chance to kick it.
I've been saying the same thing over and over about Crisp. The way Sidey's kick sailed through I reckon Crisp could have kicked it.
Doesn't matter now.

What a f****** sweet 16 this is.

We bloody did it!

It’s been a roller coaster of a ride.

I’ve never enjoyed watching footy and barracking for the Pies as much as I’ve done these last couple of years.

I can’t believe how confident I went into this game, despite the Lions record against the Pies. It’s amazing what Fly has done, for not only the players, but even us as fans. I am thoroughly entertained every time I watch the boys step out onto the field, whether we win or lose.

We’ve lived in the moment, and managed the minutes as good as we ever have. We’ve gotten better every single day, we’ve created winning habits and have acted like winners from the day dot.

It’s never easy being a Pies fan. We’ve always been marginalised, hated and disrespected. Today we proved so many doubters wrong, and have continued to put an egg on the face of those that have taken us for granted.

Today was truly redemption. What a classic Collingwood game it was. We are a champion team, not just a team of champions. It really showed today.

I’ve got lots of love and respect for this club. Thank you so much to everyone on here that has made this year such an enjoyable ride.

This.

Certified Legendary Thread 🏆 GF = PIES WIN PREMIERSHIP #16 🏆🥇