1/3 mark

Halfway mark is over, now the season heats up.
Belgrave v emerald - belgrave. Hard to see emerald stopping mitch Collins. Belgrave had a few out rnd 1.
Mon v Olinda - Hard to go past the bloods, especially when you are heavily biased.
Mt Ev v wandin - wandin, Rnd 1 was a cracker but the loss of Wratten and Handley hurt wandin back then.
Upwey v warb - out on a limb here, tipping warby unless upwey kick straight!
Woori v Gem - Going for Woori, woori rnd 1 were battling and it looked like a preseason hit out, in typical woori fashion, they get better as the year progresses.

Ill have a go this week too Micky...

worri vs GEMBROOK - Im going with the upset here. With Clarky and Richo to come back in the brookers are in a season defining game here. Lose and forget about finals start fighting off relegation. Brookers by 13pts

belgrave vs EMERALD - almost identical to above. Crunch game. Bombers win they even the tally with belgrave. They'll get cox Taylor and Simpson back which will obviously help but even back when they won div 2 flag, pretty sure belgrave beat them at home. So hard to beat them there but if they stop the influence of the Collins trio and restrict Stubleys influence from HB then the games there to be win. Bombers by 7pts

UPWEY vs warby - Upwey gaining momentum and will be looking to keep a solid grip on a top 2 finish. If hedge an waters kick a bag then just talk %s. Tigers by 39pts

mt ev vs WANDIN - Doggies will be seeking redemption look ominous. Lets hope its another shoot out for sheer value for money, but quite confident the pups are a 10 goal better side then they were 9-10 wks ago. Doggies by 52pts

mon vs OLINDA - Agree bloods are gaining momentum and could be sitting in the five at this point if not for a few inaccuracies. Monbulk seem lost and another poor performance could proove disastrous. Bloods by 16pts

Been a bit quiet on here lately as there is so much rubbish being posted. About time we start talking some footy.

My tips​
Woori v Gembrook​
Woori seem very young but are quick and use the footy very well however Gembrook have some very hard tough and seasoned players running around. I agree this weekend has there season on the line and i think the older mature bodies will get them over the line JUST​
Gembrook by 7 points
Belgrave v Emerald​
Belgrave were missing more than a couple in round one when they played there first game of div 1 footy in a long time. Emerald looked alot better side on the day and i dont think the scoreboard really showed how dominant Emerald were. I will say this though, the inclusion of Mitch & Dave Collins, Daniel Calteri and Sean Osborne will turn the last result on its head. I can see the magpies really giving it to the bombers this week.​
Belgrave by 50+ points
Upwey v Warby​
From what i have witnessed this year Upwey are the team to beat. They have good mids, a strong backline, a couple of Key forwards and 2 dominate ruck men. Warby on the other hand look slow at times, have big bodies and very one dimensional. Cant see Warby getting anywhere near the Tigers​
Upwey by 50+ points
Mount Ev v Wandin​
Mount Ev are the hard luck story from what i have seen and hear. They have had some really bad losses where they have been up big reasonable margins but get rolled over by the end of the game. Is this a fitness thing or is it mental with this group? Wandin on the other hand have as much talent as any team in the competition (They Pay big bucks to) but on there day can take anyone on. Id love to see Mount Ev knock them over but ill stick to the facts and tip​
Wandin by 1 point (kick after the siren)
Monbulk v Olinda​
Well could this be the battle of Relegation? If someone had of asked me this two weeks ago i would have said yes but with two convincing wins on the trot against Emerald & Gembrook, Olinda look to have put there terrible start behind them. Monbulk looked fairly good at times this year, one game being the Anzac day game beating Upwey (yes they had Fev but Fev also got carded with 15 minutes to go in the 4th and Monbulk won with 17 on the ground) but unfortunately they have lost to many games they should have won. If this keeps up Monbulk will be playing in 2nd div next year​
Olinda by 13 points
See how we go.​

Fairly large game up the hill this weekend for a number of reasons. Woori desperate to keep in touch with the Top 2 and Olinda certainly getting some reward for a lot of effort and starting to press for 5th spot.

On top of that, Danny Ryan makes appearance number "300" in the Yellow & Black so it adds some nice spice to an already hot meal. Best of luck mate and congratulations, hope you get a kick and hope we win by a goal after the siren ! Well done - huuuuuuge effort and the ultimate big game player (and not a bad human being either)

Fairly large game up the hill this weekend for a number of reasons. Woori desperate to keep in touch with the Top 2 and Olinda certainly getting some reward for a lot of effort and starting to press for 5th spot.

On top of that, Danny Ryan makes appearance number "300" in the Yellow & Black so it adds some nice spice to an already hot meal. Best of luck mate and congratulations, hope you get a kick and hope we win by a goal after the siren ! Well done - huuuuuuge effort and the ultimate big game player (and not a bad human being either)

Sadly, for Monbulk, not in a very good position. Firsts are last with 3 wins, seconds are second last with 2 wins and no under 18's. Their under 16's are third last with 3 wins so, without under 18's, this would probably suggest not a lot to come through junior wise.

On a good note, the council have approved more soccer grounds.

Wandin and Upwey seem ahead of the pack... Who and why, is the better of these two teams?

The points system works well
where the inequality will come in the future won't be from the cheque book
It will be from the clubs who have u 18s and clubs who don't
Coming from a successful club, although we work very hard to get the kids up and going,every year is a battle
How can clubs, 10 out of 18 with powelly doubtful this year, who don't have kids coming through ,compete in the future
It may be time for the more successful clubs to provide a way forward
This problem won't effect this weeks results but it will effect the comp in the not too distant future
Bertron, May 9, 2013

is it starting to happen already?
the only 2 clubs with under 18s in 2 division sitting 1 and 2
the only 2 clubs without under 18s in 1 division sitting 9 and 10

its getting to that time of year where depth is tested, obviously it is only round 10 and things change, just wanted to throw it up for discussion!

1 Healesville 10 10 0 0 0 0 1397 537 260.15 40
2 Seville 10 7 3 0 0 0 1181 888 133.00 28

9 Gembrook Cockatoo 10 3 7 0 0 0 923 1030 89.61 12
10 Monbulk 10 3 7 0 0 0 833 1022 81.51

It's a massive issue. I wasn't aware only 2 teams in Div 2 are fielding under 18s this yr. it's a Colts crisis in the YVMDFL.
time to start thinking, the relegation system is the keystone of our league, it controls boom bust cycles and so on
but nearly half the clubs don't have unders- if a club without unders goes down and a club with unders goes up, then the divide is clear
would it be fair to say Upwey, wandin have 60+ for three sides, kinglake, yea have 30 ish to fill two sides

The points system works well
where the inequality will come in the future won't be from the cheque book
It will be from the clubs who have u 18s and clubs who don't
Coming from a successful club, although we work very hard to get the kids up and going,every year is a battle
How can clubs, 10 out of 18 with powelly doubtful this year, who don't have kids coming through ,compete in the future
It may be time for the more successful clubs to provide a way forward
This problem won't effect this weeks results but it will effect the comp in the not too distant future
Bertron, May 9, 2013

is it starting to happen already?
the only 2 clubs with under 18s in 2 division sitting 1 and 2
the only 2 clubs without under 18s in 1 division sitting 9 and 10

its getting to that time of year where depth is tested, obviously it is only round 10 and things change, just wanted to throw it up for discussion!

1 Healesville 10 10 0 0 0 0 1397 537 260.15 40
2 Seville 10 7 3 0 0 0 1181 888 133.00 28

9 Gembrook Cockatoo 10 3 7 0 0 0 923 1030 89.61 12
10 Monbulk 10 3 7 0 0 0 833 1022 81.51

Great post! I agree with you, things will change, but as it stands at the moment, it paints a clear picture.

It seems like we say it every year, but it's surely gotta be one of the tightest seasons. For me, it's made of 3 tiers.
Upwey
Wandin

Woori
Belgrave

Olinda
Warby
Gembrook
Emerald
Mt Ev
Monbulk

Tips this week:
Emerald upwey 40 points this time, not 140!
Monbulk belgrave Belgrave very well drilled and skillful. Think Monny are in dire trouble and reckon Monnys ground and slope will be a huge advantage. I see it as Koole and Ward Vs Belgrave. Belgrave by 74.
Warby wandin won't be anywhere near the battle it was earlier in the year. Reckon Warby are over achieving big time. Although they are far from the worst, they'll be dealt a similar fate this week to what they copped last week. Wandin by 89.
gembrook mt Ev. Will be a belter, SO much hinges on a win for both these clubs! If it was at mt Ev I'd be tipping them, but just think that the wide link and run that Gembrook employ will see them win...by a bees dick. 3 points gemmy.
Olinda woori Olinda up and about, but Woori will prevail on pure class and discipline. Woori by 27.

Good luck to all, and on a side note, can't believe how well our grounds have held up! The troublesome
3 are in cracking nick!! (Monbulk, Emerald and Olinda)

Fogged out... Seville get a nice rest but no percentage boost.
From what i'm hearing kinglake are in BIG trouble and may not see the season out.

Have heard the same word regarding kinglake with alot of players enquiring to the league as to clearances or permits after June 30 to play elsewhere should the club go under. Would hate to see that happen.

In better news for the comp wandin coach jarrod Bayliss has been selected in the final squad to represent Vic 1 in next weeks rep game against the vafa. Fantastic achievement and terrific for the league. One has to wonder though how league hierarchy managed to schedule the second bye on the wrong weekend?

I think lots of Div 2 clubs would be glad to see it happen. From what i hear no one likes playing against them, their supporters are feral, ground is shocking, not friendly or welcoming etc

That's fantastic about Jarrod. Pretty big gaff by the league :mad:

Just curious as to why we haven't been blessed with over educated opinions of Monniehawk or Garion on here regarding the position of there succession plan, the new coach, loss of club greats or the no junior situation over there????? Thank god for Fev hey or the place would have been a ghost town at the half way mark. Maybe a touch similar to how Avonsliegh is keeping Emerald from winning games hey Torp?? Huge effort by Bayliss to be selected in such a team. That my friend Torp is how we judge A grade, not only his personal accolades which out rank some of the most decorated of the past at such a young age. His input and single handed turn around of club kept in first division and now pushing for the ultimate success through his own hard work. Possibly the hardest job at any club is the recruitment of players no matter what sort of budget ya work to!!

Whats with the questions to me?
I have spoken about Belgrave recruiting A grade players such as Mitch Collins who is currently sitting second on the goal kicking after missing the first 4 matches of the season, i also mentioned Dave Collins who has played over 50 senior games at VFL level and was in the top 20 of the VFL league medal last year. I dare say that speaks as high as Bayliss making the VCFL team (that is no disrespect to Bayliss either as its a huge effort and he is clearly an A grader in this Comp) to suggest these 2 blokes are not A graders in this comp would be an outrageous statement wouldn't you agree?
Bayliss has done a fantastic job with Wandin and they way he can recruit is a credit to him but do you honestly think that most coaches in the YVMDFL couldn't recruit with the money Wandin have. Once again no disrespect to Wandin or Bayliss but seriously what a dumb comment.
Look at Emerald - yes there not in the top 5 but most of there list is local lads that Taylor has either got back to the club or managed to retain there on a budget that wouldn't be a whisker to Wandin's
Look at the club i follow Belgrave - you want to talk about achievements, lets talk. Ben Collins and Sean Stanton have turned this club from a cellar dweller in div 2 to a real contender in div 1 within 18 months. They have been able to recruit good players and retain all there local boys on the same budget as Emerald. Even you would have to agree its has been a great effort as nearly everyone didn't give them a chance at the start of the year.
Look at Woori - I don't claim to know there budget but i would bet it's not even close to Wandin's but they seem to get to the business end of the season year in year out.

To finish, i am not bagging Wandin by any means, good luck to them if they have the money to spend and recruit like they have but don't come on here and same what an amazing job they have done because they haven't achieved anything yet. I'd imagine the Wandin faithful would have the belief thats its a premiership or bust where as the likes of Belgrave who i support would be over the moon to make finals and if some way they could win a premiership this year what an achievement it would be.

I think you will find Torp that Wandin's success coincides with strong U18 this year and last combined with a targeted recruiting policy to fill the gaps. Wandin like Mt Evelyn, Upwey and other clubs close to the eastern metro suburbs are competing in the same talent pool as powerful Division 1 EFL clubs that spend much more than Wandin could even imagine.
The X factor is culture and under Jarrod Bayliss Wandin seem to have developed it over the last 24-36 months. Belgrave's rise is impressive and their game plan seems to stack up well. If they can keep there players they will be real contenders over the next 3 years and give the finals a shake this year

I'm not quite sure the spend at wandin is as large as many want to believe. You must remember the footy club was as good as on its knees three years ago so I would be staggered if they had been just sitting on a war chest waiting for some of these blokes to appear. Since then they have increased sponsorship, re established a fairly successful under 18's program (last years priemiership is testament to this) and it would appear appointed a very savvy highly motivated coach who has used his contacts within football to assemble what looks to be a more than competitive side. Now before I get shot to pieces on here nowhere am I saying that these guys are all playing for a pie and a drink but if they are able to spend within their means which from accounts they are to attract these guys to play there then good on them. Just my two cents worth.

Oh and surely gembrook grab 5th spot, too much talent rolling around up there to just fade out, sounds like they just need a touch of luck on the injury front for mine.

not sure about Gembrook sneaking into 5th spot grand final losses can take there toll. I like warby from here they have played Wandin and Upwey twice already and if they can re group quick enough they will get that 5th spot. Whoever gets relegated will be stiff probably go down with 5 wins and percentage.
No dead rubbers in the back half of the year that's for sure

1/3 mark