Past #1: Jack Mahony - drafted w #34 in '17 ND - delisted end '23 - 40 NM games/17 NM goals - thx Mahns

Just focus on putting something on the table yourself.

If you disagree, state why you disagree, and if you suggest it's because of Mitchell's overall career, and not trait similarities, then you have missed the point by light years.
All I’m seeing here is Pendlebury/Urquhart comparisons.

he’s played his best game for the club on the weekend, and all power to him. I see a future as I’m sure we all do now, but more so as a really good foot soldier, and even mentioning him in the same breath of one of the best players of this century is non sensical. Adams is a great call from those who mentioned that, someone who got the best out of themselves with limitations.

You are viewing this as a Mitchell vs Adams career ceiling issue, and that is not the claim at all.

You're just another insecure "hindsight" poster, who cannot analyse & compare traits properly. tZ, for all his silly calls, still throws some chips in the pot. Get back to me when you when you're ready to sit at the table with the big boys.

You are viewing this as a Mitchell vs Adams career ceiling issue, and that is not the claim at all.

You're just another insecure "hindsight" poster, who cannot analyse & compare traits properly. tZ, for all his silly calls, still throws some chips in the pot. Get back to me when you when you're ready to sit at the table with the big boys.
Playing the man in your second paragraph, as well as referencing some faux heirachy here, says more on you.

Look mate, I am telling you that I reckon Mahony has more "conductor" traits that are closer to a player like Mitchell, than to your Patch comparison, but it's not like I ever told you to pull up on the Patch comparison, did I?

Let's come back in 5 years and see who gets closest to the pin, just don't tell me I can't make my own calls. What's more, I called this well back in this thread, and not when he started jumping in to view in the last few matches!!!

Mahoney played a ripper not sure how it can be viewed differently. Was influential in every play, kept running hard, bouncing up and reloading each micro-contest. Was like watching Anthony Stevens.

Is absolutely in on merit at the moment and would be helped immeasurably by a functional forward line where he can sneak down and link up ~ sneak goals the way (early career) Bell/Grant, Leigh Adams, Turtle, J.Clayton, Matt Campbell, LT etc were able to.

He might not have identical assets to all of those but they were all beneficiaries of sharing forward lines with multiple imposing key forwards and many other smaller avenues to goal around them.

If Mahony is the pendles in this scenario, we’re in for a wild ride

Absolutely putrid. Clearly not a smart footballer. Thanks for coming but no thanks. If we want to take this rebuild seriously players like this can't be getting games.
Yeah might have been wrong here Quiv.

Look mate, I am telling you that I reckon Mahony has more "conductor" traits that are closer to a player like Mitchell, than to your Patch comparison, but it's not like I ever told you to pull up on the Patch comparison, did I?

Let's come back in 5 years and see who gets closest to the pin, just don't tell me I can't make my own calls. What's more, I called this well back in this thread, and not when he started jumping in to view in the last few matches!!!
Indeed you were!
It was a lonely place for the few of us who could delve deeper than the shiny wrapping on young players.

Mahoney played a ripper not sure how it can be viewed differently. Was influential in every play, kept running hard, bouncing up and reloading each micro-contest. Was like watching Anthony Stevens.

Is absolutely in on merit at the moment and would be helped immeasurably by a functional forward line where he can sneak down and link up ~ sneak goals the way (early career) Bell/Grant, Leigh Adams, Turtle, J.Clayton, Matt Campbell, LT etc were able to.

He might not have identical assets to all of those but they were all beneficiaries of sharing forward lines with multiple imposing key forwards and many other smaller avenues to goal around them.

Yep Mahony is what Jeremy Clayton could’ve been, he just understands footy

Not. Even. Close.

Go on, I'm sure you can misread the post further and respond as if I said he was even better than Stevens.
Nope, I read it slowly enough champ, and highlighted the daft bit. Your mind can play whatever word tricks it likes.

Really stoked with Jacks game on the weekend. It's interesting how many things he did on Sunday, that if it were another of our 2019 or 2020 draftees, the board would be ji**ing, but because it's Jack, just gets brushed over by many.

- 15 Disposals, 8 Contested
- 6 Score Involvements (same as TT, LDU, Larkey, Powell & Hall)
- 69% Game Time

Can see him having a long career for us. Might not become a star, but think he will be a really important player that works hard both ways & drives standards (similar to what we are seeing with Turner now). I think the key difference will be that Jack has some genuinely damaging skills with his Footy IQ & Short-Medium Kicking. He will make the likes of TT, LDU, Stephenson etc. better.

Really stoked with Jacks game on the weekend. It's interesting how many things he did on Sunday, that if it were another of our 2019 or 2020 draftees, the board would be ji**ing, but because it's Jack, just gets brushed over by many.

- 15 Disposals, 8 Contested
- 6 Score Involvements (same as TT, LDU, Larkey, Powell & Hall)
- 69% Game Time

Can see him having a long career for us. Might not become a star, but think he will be a really important player that works hard both ways & drives standards (similar to what we are seeing with Turner now). I think the key difference will be that Jack has some genuinely damaging skills with his Footy IQ & Short-Medium Kicking. He will make the likes of TT, LDU, Stephenson etc. better.
It has been a bit bemusing to read people writing him off this year when he is a young second year player busting a gut each week. Particularly when you think about the circumstances of last year and this.

You'd think he was a 8th year journeyman the way people carry on.

It has been a bit bemusing to read people writing him off this year when he is a young second year player busting a gut each week. Particularly when you think about the circumstances of last year and this.

You'd think he was a 8th year journeyman the way people carry on.

Pretty bizarre how posters are quick to point out his negative “traits” whilst ignoring his positive “traits”. I can only assume it’s due to the fact they think he was recruited to be a Kozzie Pickett style forward pocket, which is just bad judgement & lack of understanding IMO.

Personally of our 18-21 year olds (drafted 2018-2020), I’d say only Thomas & Phillips are better at executing the short-medium weighted kick in traffic at this stage. A skill that is going to be critical in how Noble wants us to play.

He will make the likes of TT, LDU, Stephenson etc. better.
Totally.
He already links play which result in a heap of shots on goal. They are often a frame or two ahead of the highlight vision the fans see, but are clearly evident in full analysis.
If supporters understand that they will allow themselves to enjoy his efforts a lot more, in what is becoming an enjoyable team system North are developing.

Pretty bizarre how posters are quick to point out his negative “traits” whilst ignoring his positive “traits”. I can only assume it’s due to the fact they think he was recruited to be a Kozzie Pickett style forward pocket, which is just bad judgement & lack of understanding IMO.

Personally of our 18-21 year olds (drafted 2018-2020), I’d say only Thomas & Phillips are better at executing the short-medium kick in traffic. A skill that is going to be critical in how Noble wants us to play.
And he shows up plenty of his older team mates with second, third and fourth efforts.

Mahony has an elite instep right centering kick whilst Powell a ridiculous outside of the right boot kick, which they both displayed on Sunday.
Rare skills, but even rarer to have two 19 year old kids displaying the opposite yet almost complimentary skill set.

Past #1: Jack Mahony - drafted w #34 in '17 ND - delisted end '23 - 40 NM games/17 NM goals - thx Mahns