Player Watch #1: Nick Vlastuin

Yes I think he has the sort of attributes to play that role the way Richmond the system has required over recent years.

Great height and run for it, I'm looking forward to seeing how he develops.

As you say, we haven't got a lot in the pipeline and decent wingers are tricky commodities to trade for.

Great height and run for it, I'm looking forward to seeing how he develops.

As you say, we haven't got a lot in the pipeline and decent wingers are tricky commodities to trade for.

I definitely think McIntosh, Pickett, Banks, Mansell, Trezise gives us a reasonable low cost stable of wingers with 4 of those having great physical presence and the 5th, Banks, being a tallish kid who can really kick.

Vlastuin would be wasted in wing spot, he can impact the game much more as an intercepting defender and that is a way more important role in modern footy. Wingman these days are team first disciplined role players, hold the width, work back to help the defense, bring the ball to ground, etc
That was Hardwick's use of wingman, and to a degree it worked because it fitted in with his game plan. I don't see many other sides using it. Brisbane played McCluggage there for a fair chunk of the season. Collingwood Sidebottom, St.Kilda Wood, etc.

I would love to see us play more attacking wingman. My first choice would be Rioli. He has the tank, wins his own ball and is a great running and linking player. Would love to see Hugo RS breakout as he would be a great attacking wingman, right now he is not a good enough player overall, but you live in hope.

That was Hardwick's use of wingman, and to a degree it worked because it fitted in with his game plan. I don't see many other sides using it. Brisbane played McCluggage there for a fair chunk of the season. Collingwood Sidebottom, St.Kilda Wood, etc.

I would love to see us play more attacking wingman. My first choice would be Rioli. He has the tank, wins his own ball and is a great running and linking player. Would love to see Hugo RS breakout as he would be a great attacking wingman, right now he is not a good enough player overall, but you live in hope.
That’s the thing about the wing position these days, depending on the coach and game style there are lots of options

Can go for the running defensive types like kmac

Outside run like Hugo

Extra midfielder like Sideass or Ross last year

Tall marking option like when we see rucks spend time

All have pros and cons and of course depending on the best 22 selected you can rotate guys in and out during a game or season depending on what we need at the time

It’s always a good thing having guys who can plug and play multiple roles but certainly an argument to have at least one full time winger in the side as well

Will be interesting to see how Yze goes with it

Thinking about the demons last year, granted I didn’t watch them very often and know to much about the 22 but off the top of my head I think they tended to play Mids in the wing roles like Viney and having a few run and carry options like Langdon who also plays off half back

Gawn also spent quite a lot of time on the wing as well so maybe we see Nank/our number 2 ruck spending some time on the wing when trying to transition out of our backline to have more marking opportunities when kicking long down the line

Felt that we really did struggle at times in that department, if we had a fast break it was fine but when teams zoned up well we really did struggle to break out of our d50 with no real marking options down the line

That’s the thing about the wing position these days, depending on the coach and game style there are lots of options

Can go for the running defensive types like kmac

Outside run like Hugo

Extra midfielder like Sideass or Ross last year

Tall marking option like when we see rucks spend time

All have pros and cons and of course depending on the best 22 selected you can rotate guys in and out during a game or season depending on what we need at the time

It’s always a good thing having guys who can plug and play multiple roles but certainly an argument to have at least one full time winger in the side as well

Will be interesting to see how Yze goes with it

Thinking about the demons last year, granted I didn’t watch them very often and know to much about the 22 but off the top of my head I think they tended to play Mids in the wing roles like Viney and having a few run and carry options like Langdon who also plays off half back

Gawn also spent quite a lot of time on the wing as well so maybe we see Nank/our number 2 ruck spending some time on the wing when trying to transition out of our backline to have more marking opportunities when kicking long down the line

Felt that we really did struggle at times in that department, if we had a fast break it was fine but when teams zoned up well we really did struggle to break out of our d50 with no real marking options down the line
I've been on about our transition out of the backline for a good while, well since Jack could no longer get up to the wings and back.

One of the reasons to play Miller last season was to give the outlet up the wing. Unfortunately he came up short, so getting Koschitzke was really important. Might even need another tall half marking forward as well. I think the role is made for Gibcus, but that might not happen. Bauer maybe, even Cumberland with a licence to go for his marks. Some marking power from high half forwards, combined with running attacking power of true wingmen. Would be an interesting mix.

MacIntosh and Pickett were a combination of the things you mention, defence and attacking players with good running power, height etc. But both have their flaws, disposal and not really getting enough of it. Pickett is a bit of a tease, he looks so good at times then either drifts out or stuffs up.

Sonsie might also be a player who could be a damaging wingman. Busy player with class, just needs to find his feet which could easily happen this season. Banks hopefully continues to improve because he is an elite kick.

I've been on about our transition out of the backline for a good while, well since Jack could no longer get up to the wings and back.

One of the reasons to play Miller last season was to give the outlet up the wing. Unfortunately he came up short, so getting Koschitzke was really important. Might even need another tall half marking forward as well. I think the role is made for Gibcus, but that might not happen. Bauer maybe, even Cumberland with a licence to go for his marks. Some marking power from high half forwards, combined with running attacking power of true wingmen. Would be an interesting mix.

MacIntosh and Pickett were a combination of the things you mention, defence and attacking players with good running power, height etc. But both have their flaws, disposal and not really getting enough of it. Pickett is a bit of a tease, he looks so good at times then either drifts out or stuffs up.

Sonsie might also be a player who could be a damaging wingman. Busy player with class, just needs to find his feet which could easily happen this season. Banks hopefully continues to improve because he is an elite kick.
Agree, I definitely think having Lynch out really hurt us in the marking down the line options, like you said Jack had slowed down and instead of having the luxury of being to have our number 2 ruck go around the game it meant they had to spend alot more time down forward

Will be great to have some more tall options to help fix that

Sonsie as a rotating wing is also a very good call, especially if we do have some tall timber down the line who if they don’t mark it could have Sonsie ready for a crumb if the ball comes off hands in the marking contest

Could have him rotate with Ross between the outside wing role and have a few stints at the coalface during stoppage when Hopper and Taranto are on the bench

Like you said good way to get Sonsie into the 22 if he isn’t quite ready to play full starting mid minutes

I definitely think McIntosh, Pickett, Banks, Mansell, Trezise gives us a reasonable low cost stable of wingers with 4 of those having great physical presence and the 5th, Banks, being a tallish kid who can really kick.

It's a decent group for the next year or two if Kmac and Pickett can get back to somewhere near their best consistently. Both had ordinary at best seasons last year and they're not getting any younger.

Hopefully they can bridge the gap adequately until the kids are well and truly ready to shine in what is one of the toughest positions on the ground to play well.

It's a decent group for the next year or two if Kmac and Pickett can get back to somewhere near their best consistently. Both had ordinary at best seasons last year and they're not getting any younger.

Hopefully they can bridge the gap adequately until the kids are well and truly ready to shine in what is one of the toughest positions on the ground to play well.
That’s the key for this year imo
The younger players still a little green and probably didn’t put a huge amount of pressure on the mainstays but with that crop of Brown, Banks, Hugo, Clarke. Ect entering the 3rd year (Hugo 4th) they will really start to heat up that competition for spots and that’s only a good thing for everyone

A rising tide rises all boats

That’s the key for this year imo
The younger players still a little green and probably didn’t put a huge amount of pressure on the mainstays but with that crop of Brown, Banks, Hugo, Clarke. Ect entering the 3rd year (Hugo 4th) they will really start to heat up that competition for spots and that’s only a good thing for everyone

A rising tide rises all boats

Yeah mate, really hoping the new coaches have these kids we're so reliant on from a long term lost perspective ready to run through brick walls to lock down a senior spot next year.

3rd year for that batch is going to be very interesting viewing next year. :thumbsu:

Pickett was played all over the place. Hopefully he'll get back to where he should be and stays there. KMac I think is slowly losing his edge.
Lots of opportunity for the young guys

Pickett was played all over the place. Hopefully he'll get back to where he should be and stays there. KMac I think is slowly losing his edge.
Hope Pickett is in the 2s all year. Very limited player with not a lot of scope to take a big step forward. Good depth at vfl level

Who would you play on the wings instead? I feel like we at least need to make some change in the wing role even if it’s not vlaustin
Trezise, Brown , Banks or Clarke. We’ve got to start preparing these guys for our next premiership The beauty about these four players they all have excellent skills, great pace for their individual sizes and can play multiple positions. The first three defensively whilst Clarke as a forward. Trezise can actually play Wing, Forward and back and is a huge prospect. Brown is a beast and we’ve only seen him running on idle. Clarke will be a jet and get to Edwards level a lot faster . We’ve just got to have the balls to play these kids if we are serious about winning a premiership as KMac, JGTI , Pickett , Grimes are done and have proven recently that they’re not going to take us any further.

Mansell also showed a little when on the wing at times last year
Dunno if he will be a mainstay but he’s the type of guy who I like in the 22 due to his team first attitude and campaigner
Mansell is a tad short for a winger and he has poor aerial ability. Still good to have as best 22 for the other reasons you’ve stated, but long term he needs to be upgraded. He reminds me of the Rhino Luke O’Sullivan that Carlton used to have. He was basically a hard nut who would do a lot of mongrel and heavy work, but would never be at the level for a serious best 22 team. He played 62games in ten seasons with no flags, but was that great sacrificial club man.

Kmac's been working himself into the ground for his whole career, the body can only take it so long. In my eyes he's the epitome of how we won three flags - getting every single inch out of yourself and team first every minute he was on the ground. The bloke's a Tiger legend.

I'd love to see him get back near his best, but those days have more than likely passed.

Pickett no doubt has some good footy left in him, hopefully just a matter of getting his off-field issues straightened out and some continuity in his season.

IMO...It is where the Team fell apart the most...
That kick or non kick...out to the wing...
Our whole strategy around that was a disaster!
So much so...it badly impacted our defensive Run, and its continuity of play...our playing confidence...and Goals agin us late in the time on period of the Q.
The whole scenario was like watching a car accident in slomo...absolutely bereft!
And having Nank, Lynch injured and senior player in JR8 carry the can for taking relieving marks out on the wing...throw in Picketts drop in form out there as well, fecked us good time!
I hope Yze starts his coaching from there...
Fixing up the schmozzle we had previously created..."down the line"!
Repair that and we be on our way...strategy and tactics wise!

Trezise, Brown , Banks or Clarke. We’ve got to start preparing these guys for our next premiership The beauty about these four players they all have excellent skills, great pace for their individual sizes and can play multiple positions. The first three defensively whilst Clarke as a forward. Trezise can actually play Wing, Forward and back and is a huge prospect. Brown is a beast and we’ve only seen him running on idle. Clarke will be a jet and get to Edwards level a lot faster . We’ve just got to have the balls to play these kids if we are serious about winning a premiership as KMac, JGTI , Pickett , Grimes are done and have proven recently that they’re not going to take us any further.
Pretty simple formula to play wing. Pace, Good motor an ability to take the game on and break lines and importantly very good footskills.
Our incumbents in Ross and McIntosh lack in several of these areas. Also i think if Marlion is to play it should be as a onballer leaving the wings and flanks for kids.

Personally think Banks has all of these attributes and i would not hesitate to play Rioli on a wing as well.
One who does not get much of a mention by people is Kaleb Smith. Outside of his tank which im not sure about ,which can be built anyway he definately has the other attributes.
He Brown Gibcus well we have not had much luck with injury with them.
I think he Brown and Trezise are well suited to HB although i had read some knocks on Trezise footskills somewhere.Need to work that one out for myself. These things aside i see no reason why they cannot play wing as well as hb.

If i was looking at a succession plan then Brown would ultimately get Broads role, Bauer would take over from Grimes then im looking for a kid like Smith to take over a hb flank. Id say Trezise could take over from Vlastuin depending on how competetive he is in the air then you have your two best kpd's in Balta and Gibcus there for the duration.

Last one i think Clarke should play high forward because he is a fwd and has pace and ball use and a nose for a goal or two.

Reckon the hardest thing for us to do with the back half and wings is finding a good balance between youth and experience.In fact we need to find that balance right across the team we do need to prioritise kids.

Pretty simple formula to play wing. Pace, Good motor an ability to take the game on and break lines and importantly very good footskills.
Our incumbents in Ross and McIntosh lack in several of these areas. Also i think if Marlion is to play it should be as a onballer leaving the wings and flanks for kids.

Personally think Banks has all of these attributes and i would not hesitate to play Rioli on a wing as well.
One who does not get much of a mention by people is Kaleb Smith. Outside of his tank which im not sure about ,which can be built anyway he definately has the other attributes.
He Brown Gibcus well we have not had much luck with injury with them.
I think he Brown and Trezise are well suited to HB although i had read some knocks on Trezise footskills somewhere.Need to work that one out for myself. These things aside i see no reason why they cannot play wing as well as hb.

If i was looking at a succession plan then Brown would ultimately get Broads role, Bauer would take over from Grimes then im looking for a kid like Smith to take over a hb flank. Id say Trezise could take over from Vlastuin depending on how competetive he is in the air then you have your two best kpd's in Balta and Gibcus there for the duration.

Last one i think Clarke should play high forward because he is a fwd and has pace and ball use and a nose for a goal or two.

Reckon the hardest thing for us to do with the back half and wings is finding a good balance between youth and experience.In fact we need to find that balance right across the team we do need to prioritise kids.
Would love to see Rioli on a wing. Trezise is also an option to replace Grimes. He is good in the air and very aggressive when tackling. Has the ability to play tallish but also on the smalls like Grimes. Knocks on his kicking is a bit exaggerated I think. He's been at the club 5 minutes so needed to find his feet, which he did.

Agree with all except the Pickett part

Get him to 100 games at all cost

Agree with all except the Pickett part

Get him to 100 games at all cost
what for, on the off chance one of his boys may be ok at footy...

Integrity at selection sets standards nearly more than anything else at a footy club, and you want to compromise that on a hope that Pickett's kids are ok?

Player Watch #1: Nick Vlastuin