Mega Thread #14 David Mackay - 14 possessions again

Can we piss off with these * is going next year and unsigned threads

• Yes

Votes: 4 66.7%
  • Jack Watts

Votes: 2 33.3%

You know, i reckon we all have one of these at work.

Not the best, not the worst. Knows the systems, never rocks the boat and popular with colleagues. No one in charge is ever in place long enough to work out how they got there and how to move them on, usually bigger issues to deal with.

Retires after many years of work with the only recognition being years of service.
You just described my career.

Anyone that wants to go back to the 2009 Semi final v Collingwood will see DMac was elite, almost single handedly dragged us into a Prelim.

Is the talent there? Clearly yes.

Has it been realised over 200 games? Absolutely not.

It’s the waste of what he can actually do + the acceptance that a game like Sunday is his ceiling - that is so frustrating.

Does anyone have a highlight reel of this? I genuinely can’t remember what he was like as a youngster

No footage - 30 possessions and 5 x I50. Played on the wing. Ran himself ragged.

He looked like he'd become one of the AFL's elite wings. I always kind of wonder if a lot of his natural dash and flair was coached out of him in the Crobot era.

Old mate McInerney. Who'd have thunk?

Goody had a couple of moments to forget.

It strikes me that it was a lot less zonal of a contest in this one than a typical 2019 match. Everyone had an opponent except Nick Maxwell. I wonder if you are a gut runner if it's a lot harder to prosper against a zone - in a one-on-one contest once you burn off your opponent you are free, but in a zone you just get picked up by the next tier in the structure.

This is the "right in front" of me game for anyone who wasn't aware but Dmack was our best along with Tippett. Not sure how much of this 20 mins shows of them.

I hate this game for so many reasons. It was what would become our signature loss over those few years. Build an early lead, chill, realise we gave up the lead, try to claw back, ultimately lose.

We were out of town heading to an engagement party. I watched the first half in our motel room and was up and about. Got to the party and they had it on TV there, and we were right in the middle of the 3rd quarter goal avalanche. I was resigned already. We've blown it.

Even when Tippett kicked that goal and everyone at the party started cheering I took a sip of my beer and said "We aren't winning this."

And worst of all, that alien looking mother****er Jack Anthony was never missing that ****ing goal and it remains as the only thing of note he ever did in his career.

He looked like he'd become one of the AFL's elite wings. I always kind of wonder if a lot of his natural dash and flair was coached out of him in the Crobot era.

I highly doubt it, seeing a lot of Mackays issues is that he just doesn't have the football IQ to be good for long enough. Occasionally he flukes it and finds those tools that remind you that shit, this could have been an elite winger, but he's the wing equivalent of Josh Jenkins (with a much better attitude).

The cynic part of me is Mackay is doing the classic "oh shit my career is in danger, I better get hot" that a lot of people go through.

Shouldn’t matter unless they reward him with an early contract offer. I remember posting a few years ago that if he was contracted week to week he’d probably be a Brownlow winner. The Dmac that genuinely tries to influence our result can play, the guy that just runs the patterns is a complete spud.

I hate this game for so many reasons. It was what would become our signature loss over those few years. Build an early lead, chill, realise we gave up the lead, try to claw back, ultimately lose.

We were out of town heading to an engagement party. I watched the first half in our motel room and was up and about. Got to the party and they had it on TV there, and we were right in the middle of the 3rd quarter goal avalanche. I was resigned already. We've blown it.

Even when Tippett kicked that goal and everyone at the party started cheering I took a sip of my beer and said "We aren't winning this."

And worst of all, that alien looking mother****** Jack Anthony was never missing that ******* goal and it remains as the only thing of note he ever did in his career.

Knights going down killed us - he was ridiculously dominate for a patch there.

I highly doubt it, seeing a lot of Mackays issues is that he just doesn't have the football IQ to be good for long enough. Occasionally he flukes it and finds those tools that remind you that shit, this could have been an elite winger, but he's the wing equivalent of Josh Jenkins (with a much better attitude).
Hahaha yep he flukes it all the time

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Thing is, in 2009, he actually played like that consistently in what was only his 3rd year as an AFL player and 2nd year in which he actually played in the senior side. As far as football IQ goes, he's not even in the same realm as Jenkins. It's like he used to play instinctively, then it all became about not erring from the structure.

He’s had 2 good games this year and the rest typical of type. Tonight he was completely absent. There are a couple of high quality kids that have been good in the 2s that are much better than Dmac. How important are running patterns compared to players that can actually impact the game. Elliot Himmelberg can’t run the patterns better than JJ, but he’s better for our team.

Coaches, it’s time, FFS, we’ve got talent that replace this spud. Do it.

Did he even have a touch in the 1st qtr ?
One.

Early in the 2nd Murphy got a free in a marking contest at half back. Mackay raced over and grabbed the footy, tried to take the free himself to double his numbers before the umpire could react. Unluckily the umpire told him Hang on, Murphy's free.

Foiled again.

Such a lightweight. Gets breathed off the football.

Just laughable that he keeps getting picked, particularly now with the guys doing well in the reserves.

A lock for all this season and next mind you. Probably the one after too. Then into an assistant coaching role with Radar.

One.

Early in the 2nd Murphy got a free in a marking contest at half back. Mackay raced over and grabbed the footy, tried to take the free himself to double his numbers before the umpire could react. Unluckily the umpire told him Hang on, Murphy's free.

Foiled again.

Just laughable that he keeps getting picked, particularly now with the guys doing well in the reserves.

A lock for all this season and next mind you. Probably the one after too. Then into an assistant coaching role with Radar.

I’m hopeful that he’s gone. The selection panel are starting to realise that “no change” isn’t the best way forward. Still, it’s only hope.

One.

Foiled again.

hahaha,
That's so funny.
Because I saw Freo kick a ball out on the full and he quickly ran over and got the free kick, to kick the ball back in.
It might have been his 1st kick for the night

hahaha,
That's so funny.
Because I saw Freo kick a ball out on the full and he quickly ran over and got the free kick, to kick the ball back in.
It might have been his 1st kick for the night
Beating his team mate for that ball was his only contested possession for the night

Mega Thread #14 David Mackay - 14 possessions again