Past #19: Sam Wright - "Mr September" - retiring from AFL in Round 20 - thanks Slammin' Sam

I'd prefer if he was going to play forward he has the development work into kicking goals instead of playing defensive roles or is given clear instruction to dish off and protect the player having a shot for goal.

Also, what is it with Daw being played at FF? When did he turn into Lockett? He should be played as the third tall. We are missing Tarrant because he can play FF against the problematic FBs, Dish struggles bad because he tries to bloody wrestle them all the time.

He could have run into 2 open goals in the last quarter and iced the game but managed to completely f*** up both chances. I wanted to put my head through a window, cannot believe what I saw.

The first one sent me into a fit of rage I never thought possible.

Same don't think I've ever been so angry, even after our other losses this year. I don't even know how to kick a footy properly but f*** me, give me the ball with no one near me in our f50 and I'll run to the square and kick the bastard.

Slow, weak and bereft of any confidence.

Why he was named sub for the second time this year is beyond me, he is almost the exact opposite of what you need in those last few minutes of a match.
Yeah Wright being named as sub is just idiotic. Plenty of head shaking pre match at this move. ****en Brad Scott. What's he thinking?

Matt Campbell got kicked out of the club for too many indiscretions. He came back from the offseason overweight each year. He rocked up to training under the weather on occassions. And his indiscretions with the police over drunkeness in public were too much.
Club kept this hidden for his whole 6 years with us until they blew the pin last year.

He would be perfect as sub and we did **** all to replace him. I mean Anthony, Gibson, Sierakowski, Wright are not going to break away from packs with lethal speed to break open a game.
A sufficient sub has cost us this year. FWIW I would have played Daw there just to see what he at 90% would be like against a defender at 60. Too late now he is cooked.

i think Wright was a poor choice for the sub, I am of the belief that he needs the full game time to find his feet during the play and work himself into the game, definitely not an impact player.

Could this be Garner toward the end of the season? played 50% game time and got 15 touches playing forward. coming back from an ankle injury i know, but the signs are there

It really is a stupid week to be singling out players.

As if dropping Sam Wright is going to change anything?

It won't.
C'mon mate. Wright has been ordinary this season. This is the reason he is being singled out.

Sure our issues at the NMFC run deeper than Wright's form but discussing his form and potential axing has merit.

Change has to start somewhere. :stern look

C'mon mate. Wright has been ordinary this season. This is the reason he is being singled out.

Sure our issues at the NMFC run deeper than Wright's form but discussing his form and potential axing has merit.

Change has to start somewhere. :stern look

I don't reckon Sam is fit.

I am relating more to the continual habit of singling out one or two blokes when we obviously have deep fundamental issues that go beyond that.

We have an injury list of what 3, if its the case he shouldn't be playing.

Correct.

Sam is far from alone.

These blokes have been raised on a diet of offensive football and gifted senior games.

This moment was always going to come.

Fair enough.

However for me we need to get more run into our side. Our defensive run is putrid. Sam Wright, because of his form, needs to make way for someone that can hopefully assist us with this area of the game. Someone like Hine.

That's my reasoning. I hope you accept it. :stern look

He is 22 and 61 games into his career in his 5th season. He's been given heaps of grace and senior chances yet he still looks like a child out there.
I'm tempted to say 'trade bait'. Sick of his shit.
Wasted enough time on this one.
I'm not one for dropping guys week in week out - I think Adams is a keeper and should not be dropped - But I just dont see anything good in Wright and MacMillan

Fair enough.

However for me we need to get more run into our side. Our defensive run is putrid. Sam Wright, because of his form, needs to make way for someone that can hopefully assist us with this area of the game. Someone like Hine.

AYDEN.

KENNEDY.

Has been a shocking season by Wright. Couldn't have done much wrose the last two games if he tried.

Major concerns over his future to be honest, seems to have gone backwards. In saying that, he isn't the only one so a bit harsh to single him out....

AYDEN.

KENNEDY.
Yeah in the changes thread I called for his inclusion. I don't think you'd like it but I would sacrifice Spud for Kennedy. My reason is that a Dennis Pagan dropping Grant style statement has to be made to the playing group.

Spud has been excellent all year and I'm not prepared to drop him on the back of one bad game.

His contribution in 2013 shits all over Atleys.

Matt Campbell got kicked out of the club for too many indiscretions. He came back from the offseason overweight each year. He rocked up to training under the weather on occassions. And his indiscretions with the police over drunkeness in public were too much.
Club kept this hidden for his whole 6 years with us until they blew the pin last year.

He would be perfect as sub and we did **** all to replace him. I mean Anthony, Gibson, Sierakowski, Wright are not going to break away from packs with lethal speed to break open a game.
A sufficient sub has cost us this year. FWIW I would have played Daw there just to see what he at 90% would be like against a defender at 60. Too late now he is cooked.

I'd back flash at 30% bodyfat and a 0.07 reading to have more forward line impact than the tripe we've served up so far.

I knew you wouldn't like it. :stern look

It's not the point whether I like it or not. If you sit back and weigh up his contributions over the season against others then there are at least 8 other blokes that should be dropped ahead of him.

If we're going to change the team every week based upon one match then the place would be a revolving door.

Why do you pull Firrito's name out of a hat? Because you have a "hunch"?

It's not the point whether I like it or not. If you sit back and weigh up his contributions over the season against others then there are at least 8 other blokes that should be dropped ahead of him.

If we're going to change the team every week based upon one match then the place would be a revolving door.

Why do you pull Firrito's name out of a hat? Because you have a "hunch"?
Mate, Shannon Grant didn't like it when Pagan dropped him and he wasn't our worst player at the time when he was omitted but the players need to be jolted out of their complacency. A complacency that exists even by your own admission. Why I signalled out Spud is because he was horrendous against the Crows. In addition, our defensive set up since Hansen's inclusion in said defensive set up, looks slow.

But I do understand your point and it is valid. There are others who have been more inconsistent than Spud like Atley and JMac but really has the margin between all their performances been that great?

I hope you understand my reasoning for dropping Spud.

It is Statement Time. :stern look

Past #19: Sam Wright - "Mr September" - retiring from AFL in Round 20 - thanks Slammin' Sam