2009 Trade Discussion

Trade advice needed... normally I follow the strict rule and ride out the first two rounds until 3rd round teams are named... but with another article this morning saying McMahon is almost certain to be dropped - I have a real chance of copping a zero if Broughton isnt named as well... so want ot get my thoughts together for thur arvo before lockout in case it happens

Backs are: Chornes; Pratt; Bock; Houlihan; McMahon; Raines; Hill; Suban; Broughton

So I need to preplan my move in case McMahon is dropped this week and Broughton not named... assuming that happens what would be your call if it were you?

a) Keep Raines and trade McMahon sideways (would have $400k = anyone except Hodge, Bowden, Carazzo, Embley)

b) Keep Raines and downgrade McMahon + cash (eg to Cheney or Hurley + $big cash)

c) Bench McMahon (hope that its only 1 week off) and trade Raines for Cheney or Hurley + cash?

d) Trade both? (eg would have $588,500k... so either any back I want + Cheney / Hurley + cash; or Gilbee + Harding / or Burgoyne + Petterd; or any better combo you can think of

e) Downgrade Mcmahon to Cheney / Hurley and upgrade Butler in midfield to ABC or similar

f) Cop a zero and wait for round 3 teams to see if McMahon gets renamed + find out who had two consecutive good weeks etc?

i am in the exact same boat as you mate

am regretting mcmahon so much right now

i hate the bloke and really shouldnt have picked him. if i was terry wallace he would never playa again after the shit he served up thurs night.

option c is what im doing at the moment

I think Joel Bowden may be on his last legs for my team. Unless he pulls off a fair score this week. Hears hoping he doesn't get dropped this week:confused:

Trade advice needed... normally I follow the strict rule and ride out the first two rounds until 3rd round teams are named... but with another article this morning saying McMahon is almost certain to be dropped - I have a real chance of copping a zero if Broughton isnt named as well... so want ot get my thoughts together for thur arvo before lockout in case it happens

Backs are: Chornes; Pratt; Bock; Houlihan; McMahon; Raines; Hill; Suban; Broughton
I feel for you mate because this reminds me of last year and the problems some of us had in the backs right from the start. If you trade in Cheney you will then have 4 rookies in the backs - thats 4 players you can't be certain will get a game.

I think you need to wear a zero from McMahon (if he's dropped) and hope he's back in the team next week. As for Raines I have a feeling that he will be out for too long to keep him so he has to go this week or next week, but you should trade him up if you have cash.

No cash? Then bite the bullett and trade both, get 2 regular players, Gilbee and Harding sound ok, but i wouldn't get any more rookies.

Good luck

not that im a fan of Kerr, but his score wasn't because he played bad. i was at the game, and he actually played well. its just that troy selwood had a hard tag on him and pretty much took him out of the game. so i wouldn't jump the gun on kerr too early if you pick him in your side...

however, this is why i didn't pick him, he will pull the tag every week. i think he will play well this year, but will average under 80 because he wont get room to move this year and will be needed as that in and under mid for a very young eagles midfield.

Lol what? No way in hell is it 50 points. Butler, at his peak averaged 83-86 I think it was(cbf looking). I'd say if Butler plays what he is capable of, the gap is around 20-25 points. Don't forget Butler scored 90 in the last pre season match. I think a reasonable average from him would be 75. I'd take that.

Gibbs is priced around 387K and Butler around 215K.

I wouldn't trade Butler out just yet, although his place in the side may not be guaranteed if he continues with a few more performances like he did on the weekend.

That said, Gibbs does look the goods.

Fair enough, but personally i can only see Butler having a scoring output of around 60-65 at this stage. Until he strings a few games together, proves that he is somewhat durable enough and is back to full fitness i wouldn't be touching him. He is obviously out of touch due to this, and plus it doesn't look promising that his spot is looking shaky in a side that is, as a whole, going to struggle this year.

From previous page:

I wouldnt trade mcmahon. Put him on your bench. He is a keeper, and will score quite well when he normally plays. I also dont think he will get dropped, especially with raines out, they need him as that extra rebounding defender IMO.

Thats what im hoping too. Word is Rance will be taking Raines spot, so they need McMahons rebound.

Only got myself to blame for this though - the whole preseason I was sold on having Newman in my team, but changed to McMahon due to having some extra cash...

Could any of the following players that people might trade later in the year have the potential to be keepers?

-Houlihan
-Adcock
-T Tuck (haw)
-Rich
-Skipworth
-Higgins
-Haselby

Could any of the following players that people might trade later in the year have the potential to be keepers?

-Houlihan
-Adcock
-T Tuck (haw)
-Rich
-Skipworth
-Higgins
-Haselby

Surely one or two will suprise and be keepers.

Houlihan in the backs might be a keeper imo, if he averages 80+
Adcock needs to average 80+ and SHOULD be a keeper... but might not be.
Tuck - Nope. Needs 93+ imo and can't do that.
Rich - No.
Skipworth - Possibly.. unlikely.
Higgins - Same
Haselby - Doubt it. Nope.

-Houlihan
If he can average around 80ppg then he could be a handy 7th defender. He would be one of the last upgrade options.
-Adcock
If you selected Adcock, I think you've selected him as a keeper. Hence, I would not trade him as well.
-T Tuck (haw)
He may struggle to average over 95ppg, hence he would be an upgrade target for me. If he keeps up this early season form, then he would be the perfect upgrade to a dropping gun.

-Rich
No chance at being a keeper.

-Skipworth
-Higgins
These two players may battle it out for your 6/7th spots in the forwards.(assuming that is where you selected them).

-Haselby
Same as Tuck, will not average enough to be a keeper in the mids.

Thoughts in blue.

-Houlihan
-Adcock
-T Tuck (haw)
-Rich
-Skipworth
-Higgins
-Haselby

Houlihan - IMO yes, definitely. He's long shown he's capable of scoring upwards of 75-95, which is handy to have as your 6th/7th back/forward.

Adcock - No, i don't consider him premium material and is too inconsistent to have in your side.

T Tuck - Possibly. I have faith that he'll produce some tasty scores this season, although am uncertain he can keep it up ala. his Round 1 score.

Rich - No. Unless he turns out to consistently produce scores similar to Palmer last year, which i highly doubt, thus he'll be one of the rookie options to upgrade.

Skipworth - I would've said no originally, but given it appears his Pre-season form is carrying over into the season proper i'll say 'possibly'.

Higgins - Similar to Houlihan. He looks to have stepped up a gear now he is playing in the Dogs' midfield. Handy 6th/7th forward.

Haselby - Nope. Past his best and will fail to recapture his old form.

Liam f*cking Anthony & Andrew f*cking Raines

f*cking hello
icon_compress.gif

Harvey has 'announced' Solomon will return to the Freo side this week (a gimme given they're playing my mob) - who do you think will get dropped as a result?

Very early to think Higgins is a keeper.
The dogs midfield run over Freos. IMO he wont average 85+. Also very inury prone. His still a cash cow for me.

Im considering dropping b.harvey for skipworth. (i was foolish enough to listen to the doubts over his spot in the 22)
my plan is to get rid of raines next week and use the 200000 i make from this trade to go straight to a rising keeper in the backs.
Im only doing this cos my backs are very shaky-this week ill have adcock, hill, geary and collier all playing. So im looking to tighten up the defence early before players like harding, gilbee etc. (who i reckon are set to improve heaps) get out of reach.
Is skipworth gonna keep pumping out gun as scores? from the weekend he looked like he was an important part of Essendons midfield and should keep getting a heap of it.
Maybe im just too pissed at harvey after the weekend. But i think its him or goodwin for the downgrade.

Dont downgrade players you intend to be keepers mate. It was just one week. Boomer has averaged 90+ for a number of years now, and he will do so again. And besides, low 70s isnt that bad. Could be worse!

should i sell or keep mackie and downgrade him for macdonald to free up some money and get rid of raines??

Im considering dropping b.harvey for skipworth. (i was foolish enough to listen to the doubts over his spot in the 22)
I'd advise against that.

Is skipworth gonna keep pumping out gun as scores?

Probably not that high. I'd say he'll average anywhere between 70-80.

Maybe im just too pissed at harvey after the weekend. But i think its him or goodwin for the downgrade.

Lol probably a little too pissed ;).

Goodwin? He scored 90, why would you want to downgrade him?