2010 All-Australian Team (Part 2)

Semantics I know, but that makes it sound like Geelong would not have won if he hadn't of played.

Of course you can give credit for SJ performance that night, he was brilliant.

You don't discount the performances when teams play well and win comfortably, that is not my point at all. My point is that SJ has ONLY played well when the Cats have gone into harlem globetrotter mode and toyed with the opposition. When it has been a tough hard game, he is ordinary. Or has been this season.

SJ is often the reason we get into that mode. When he is on, we are a much better side. You sound like the detractors who don't rate our 07 GF performance, because the whole game was junk time. There's not enough eye roll smileys on the internet for this type of thinking.

Glad you mention this season, as I'm sure you remember the 07 prelim and his performance in that close game.

Collingwood does not have a harlem globetrotter mode just yet, here's hoping they do someday soon.

Way too convenient. Clearly your memory of Collingwood games is a lot clearer than Geelong matches.

Surely Buddy would have to be close to a lock at CHF, purely because there is not much competition at the CHF position.

Only Pavlich would come close, yet Buddy is averaging the same amount of possessions and 1 goal more a game.

Add Riewoldt as a lock now. I'd have Franklin as a lock as well but a lot don't seem to agree.

Enright and Deledio probably pushed Malceski out of the frame now. He is was poor tonight. With Hall being quiet and Pav missing, Goodes was good and is right in contention to sneak a bench spot.

With the recent hype around Ablett's goalkicking, I reckon it's likely that he'll get a spot on the flank and kick out Brad Green :( Of course Ablett deserves an AA spot more than Green but I'd like to see him in the midfield with Brad getting a spot on the flank. Jamar's spot looks venerable now. Frawley should be a lock though. O'Brien playing like rubbish tonight helps too.

Add Riewoldt as a lock now. I'd have Franklin as a lock as well but a lot don't seem to agree.

Oh I dunno AG, I hear this Lachie Hansen is playing out of his arse.

Franklin is a lock for mine. Sure, he's only played 17 games, but nearly every game he's played, he's been close to the hawks' best. Not to mention he's 4th on the goal kicking tally, he's AA deservedly.

FB: Frawley Lake Enright
CHB: Hodge Taylor Goddard
C: Montagna Selwood Pendlebury
CHF: Didak Franklin Green
FF: Chapman Riewoldt LeCras
R: Sandi Ablett Swan

Int: Boyd Hall SJ Hayes

All seem solid, and have legitimate claims for selection. The pictorial there has Boyd in the seconds, I think that's a harsh demoting for what has been a fantastic season. I didn't choose a second ruck because an AA doesn't have to have two ruckmen. After all, it's not completely out of the blue for teams to play with only one ruck.

Franklin is a lock for mine. Sure, he's only played 17 games, but nearly every game he's played, he's been close to the hawks' best. Not to mention he's 4th on the goal kicking tally, he's AA deservedly.

FB: Gilbert Lake Enright
CHF: Didak Pavlich Green

I'm not sold on the CHF. All the rest seem solid, and have legitimate claims for selection. The pictorial there has Boyd in the seconds, I think that's a harsh demoting for what has been a fantastic season. I didn't choose a second ruck because an AA doesn't have to have two ruckmen. After all, it's not completely out of the blue for teams to play with only one ruck.

Didn't you just say Franklin's a lock yet you don't pick him?

That's a pretty poor defence IMO. Heaps of rebound but not a great lot of actual defensive stopping ability, for AA standards that is.

Didn't you just say Franklin's a lock yet you don't pick him?

Yeah, sorry about that, out: Pav, In: Franklin, much more consistent.

That's a pretty poor defence IMO. Heaps of rebound but not a great lot of actual defensive stopping ability, for AA standards that is.

Eh, you've got two talls, two negaters who can play shut down roles and two flankers, nevertheless, I'll admit that I'm not completely sold on my backline, and can easily see someone like Frawley getting a gig.

I'll admit though that I'm banking on the AA committee picking stars, the problem for Frawley is he plays for a lower team, making his selection less likely than playing for one of the star teams. Look at how often cats players get picked. I'll acknowledge there is a case for replacing Gilbert with Frawley, which is why I've reconsidered my team.

Problem is that while Lake and Taylor are very good defenders and deserve to get picked, there are other better players for simply stopping an opponent. They cut off lots of forward attacks and help out teammates well but if I wouldn't be calling on them as the #1 picks to stop a key forward.

Goddard and Hodge can only very loosely be classified as defenders this year. Maybe one could slip in there but surely not two. I don't think Gilbert has been as good as last year. Enright's dropped off recently but will probably still be there.

It is a tough year to pick defenders for though I'll admit. We haven't seen any standout medium sized defenders, you know like a Morris, Clement, Bassett, Bolton etc.

FB: Frawley Lake Enright
CHF: Didak Franklin Green

All seem solid, and have legitimate claims for selection. The pictorial there has Boyd in the seconds, I think that's a harsh demoting for what has been a fantastic season. I didn't choose a second ruck because an AA doesn't have to have two ruckmen. After all, it's not completely out of the blue for teams to play with only one ruck.

Agreed.

I think they will only pick 1 ruck, the others havn't been good enough imo.

McIntosh and Clark had better years last year than Jamar's this season, and they picked 1 ruck.

I really don't get the love for Pavlich this year. He has been very quiet for a while now and Franklin has been better. I don't think there's room for both of them in the AA team and on form throughout the year I'd choose Buddy.

Said it in earlier posts. Buddy is a dead set lock at CHF.
If Pav doesnt have a standout game and help get his team a home final against the Blues next week i will have no worries in completely leaving him out of the team (not even a bench run).
Lets be honest Pav aint done much for a while now and he has just about used all of his earlier good game credits.

Agreed.

I think they will only pick 1 ruck, the others havn't been good enough imo.

McIntosh and Clark had better years last year than Jamar's this season, and they picked 1 ruck.

Exactly! :thumbsu:

And with all due respect to Jamar, he's had a good year but given the AA is a blend of the best 22 players of the season, which he isn't, and the best team possible, in which since you've got Sandi, you don't need another ruck since he can easily hold his own against any other ruck division in the league, Jamar isn't needed. Fremantle often don't bother playing two rucks, and the AA panel shouldn't bother with another ruck, especially if it means dropping a classy mid or forward flanker.

MM you're certainly right. I'll admit I struggled with the selection because while Taylor and Lake jump out as key backs, Goddard and Hodge as running backs, and Enright as your pocket back, and there's one spot for a medium sized/3rd tall. No-one really jumps out, Frawley is an option but since I've picked a side which I think will get picked rather than want to be picked, I think the fact that Frawley has no talk in the media and plays in a bottom eight team, his chance is not as likely.

Said it in earlier posts. Buddy is a dead set lock at CHF.
If Pav doesnt have a standout game and help get his team a home final against the Blues next week i will have no worries in completely leaving him out of the team (not even a bench run).
Lets be honest Pav aint done much for a while now and he has just about used all of his earlier good game credits.

Franklin has got CHF, IMO he battles with the likes of SJ for a bench position.

Apart from the Adelaide game Taylor's second half of the year hasn't been as good as his 1st. Frawley has been awesome in the run home. Neither is a certainty imo. As was mentioned before not many standout defensive defenders. Maybe that's just the nature of the current era though. More attacking defenders and defensive forwards seem to be the trend at the moment.

Locks for my team:

B: ????? - Lake - ?????
HB: Goddard - ????? - ?????
C: Pendlebury - Selwood - Chapman
HF: Didak - Franklin - Ablett
F: ????? - Riewoldt - ?????
R: Sandilands - Hodge - Swan
INT: Hayes - ????? - ????? - ?????

Green can become a lock with a good performance today.

Deledio, Enright, Frawley, Taylor and Gilbert fighting for the 4 defensive spots. Judd, Boyd, Montagna fighting for two of the other mids on the bench. Pav, Green, Hall, Goodes and LeCras for the forward spots.

Exactly! :thumbsu:

And with all due respect to Jamar, he's had a good year but given the AA is a blend of the best 22 players of the season, which he isn't, and the best team possible, in which since you've got Sandi, you don't need another ruck since he can easily hold his own against any other ruck division in the league, Jamar isn't needed. Fremantle often don't bother playing two rucks, and the AA panel shouldn't bother with another ruck, especially if it means dropping a classy mid or forward flanker.

MM you're certainly right. I'll admit I struggled with the selection because while Taylor and Lake jump out as key backs, Goddard and Hodge as running backs, and Enright as your pocket back, and there's one spot for a medium sized/3rd tall. No-one really jumps out, Frawley is an option but since I've picked a side which I think will get picked rather than want to be picked, I think the fact that Frawley has no talk in the media and plays in a bottom eight team, his chance is not as likely.

Jamar has ridden the Melbourne wave to some extent imo.

Good year no doubt.

He hasn't been better than Hille's (08), Petrie's (08), McIntosh (09), Jolly's (09) or Clark's (09), all of which didn't get a AA spot, Hille didn't even make the 40 man squad.

Sandilands rucks alone at Fremantle, I don't see why the AA side should be any different, and it shouldn't be at the expence of someone like Boyd, Hayes, Judd etc

Finally the reverse coleman stats have been shown:

Brian Lake 21
Troy Chaplin 24
James Frawley 26
Dale Morris 27
Dustin Fletcher 28

I wish they made this stat public because I'd like to see where Taylor is. Chaplin the surprise from that list. I talked him up early but then he had a shocking few weeks and I jumped right off him. Same with Carlile.

2010 All-Australian Team (Part 2)