2010 Sydney Swans Drafting Discussion

Where is LRT going?

I never said he was going anywhere, but what I said is we have an aging defence and LRT like the rest isnt getting any younger and will be turning 28 next year year. Fair to say his best footy is behind him now - and some of the more unkind bigfooty members might even say his best wasnt that good anyway.

We had 45 players on our list in 2010 (38 senior and 7 rookies)
Currently we have 39 seniors (due to one veteran being put outside the list) and 3 rookies. If we were to maintain 45 players, that means we would pick up 3 rookies. However, with the introduction of the NEAFL, where the crossover matches do not have any restrictions (approx 7/22 games) I think we'll pick up more rookies this year to cover these games. Moss is a chance, (Eugene) Kruger would be a NSW pre-selection, as would Kieren Emery who I think I saw in a few pictures of training.

Moss would be a handy Rookie List pick up and for those who are complaining about Spangher being picked up with our last pick, remember if we wanted him, we had to draft him to our senior list as he was training with Hawthorn with a view to going on their Rookie List. Plus you can't have enough defensive depth regardless of the type and he fits many bills for us in defense.

Don't complain about missing out on a player that you have NO idea that we "might" of been looking at. Spangher might of been the target all along, but no one here will EVER know and no one here can second judge the coaching staff and I really wish people would stop complaining about the last pick of the National/Rookie Draft (remove the draft in question for the year at hand).

I never said he was going anywhere, but what I said is we have an aging defence and LRT like the rest isnt getting any younger and will be turning 28 next year year. Fair to say his best footy is behind him now - and some of the more unkind bigfooty members might even say his best wasnt that good anyway.

Pfft those unkind people have ridiculously short memories :) I seem to remember a game where he was close to best on ground if not the best. I know it wasn't a big game, and the players had no pressure to perform but I wish he'd played like usual instead of standing up in the 2005 grand final and played the game of his life in the regular season instead :rolleyes: Ah well.

Pfft those unkind people have ridiculously short memories :) I seem to remember a game where he was close to best on ground if not the best.
I thought you were talking about Spangher there for a moment. He was close to best on ground for us in round 5 this year

LRT's best year was 2009, and he was playing better again this year til he was injured.

Back on topic, I'm surprised the potential rookie prospects are so unknown. We've had a good run with rookies, and I hope the club is treating them seriously.

FFS! How are you lot going to feel if Spangher become the FB we desperately have needed for a decade? ....or even pushes his way into the best 22.

As Soph said:thumbsu:... give him and the club some lattitude ( a chance).

Horse explained clearly why they picked him. He if nothing more adds KP structure to ressies and puts pressure on backline to keep/deserve their spot. he is ready to go (a takeway) at 73!

Swans rarely f'up in mature selection turnarounds;)

No reason why LRT shouldn't have 2 or 3 more excellent seasons left in him. Key position players often maintain their form - or improve - right to the end of their 20s and even into their 30s. What they might lose in speed or mobility is often compensated for by experience.

LRT was very very good this year before he got injured. Go back and look at the BSM voting to see how highly the coaches rated many of his performances. It still surprises me a little how under-rated he is by many external footy supporters - even more so how many Swans supporters haven't realised he is now a pretty good defender.

No reason why LRT shouldn't have 2 or 3 more excellent seasons left in him. Key position players often maintain their form - or improve - right to the end of their 20s and even into their 30s. What they might lose in speed or mobility is often compensated for by experience.

LRT was very very good this year before he got injured. Go back and look at the BSM voting to see how highly the coaches rated many of his performances. It still surprises me a little how under-rated he is by many external footy supporters - even more so how many Swans supporters haven't realised he is now a pretty good defender.

Exactly. When fit he'd easily walk into the best side of the majority of clubs.

He might very well have a good 3 seasons in him but he does have a bit of history of having injury-interrupted seasons and as players get older this can get worse. But the bottomline is that we have some aging defenders and we need to look at regenerating the list in this regard and the recruitment of Spangher is part of this process.

Barlow training with the Bulldogs?

Probably already won the 3km time trial. Can join his mate in underwhelmingness, Veszpremi, down there.

MOD training with the Roos. I'd like to see him get another chance.

Has Vezs finished 3 km yet? Or pulled up feigning lame?

He aint one of ours anymore:D... But geez I will be p'off if he performs for the yappers

for all the spangher-bashing over the last few pages (sorry, didn't read the whole thread) i think you blokes did alright for pick 70-whatever.

he's probably only a depth backmen in any finals side but sydney has always seemed to carry one of those... and somehow pull it off! he's capable of much better than we've seen recently and if he gets a game you will love his toughness and willingness to mix it up.

i don't know what the issue was over west but he was looking to get out as far back as last year. also i don't reckon he can handle a KPD role for more than a short spell but he definitely has some versatility and ability.

good luck matty!

A lot of people said bad things about Seaby, and why he was not getting a game.

Matt seems to have a fantastic attitude. 195cm athletic defenders do not grow on trees and was almost certainly the best speculative option at 73. He fitted our need for giving us additional defensive depth.

If he comes over and gels with our system, we could well get ourselves a bargain. If not, we will know sooner rather than later rather than wasting 2-4 years in development on a kid that probably won't make it anyway.

Worth a punt. If it comes off we win bigtime, if it doesn't it can be considered a very minor loss.

I wish him all the best and hope he makes it. Is a big unit with athletisism. He has also only played 20-something matches. We have seen most players take until a min of 50 games before we start to see what they are made of.

Enough about Espaghnol, check out Luke Parker: Destroyer of Worlds

Portals\0\Sydney Swans Images\swans_gallery\Boxing - 231110 - 2\IMG_2499.jpg

Garry Moss would be a really good pick up for your club.

It seems that McGlynn, Kennedy and Moss were the ones I would have kept (or made happier/played them) and the players they kept are the ones I wouldn't have.

Thanks Hawks.

damn, parker looks like a machine...

as for spangher, i haven't seen him play, but like mase said..he's a gamble...but if it pays off it'll be a huge gain, he adds much needed depth for the next year or two in case we have major injuries (even if he's a spud), if he develops into an AFL standard player he'll be ready to take the place of one of our ageing backmen (or he'll be a depth player at the very least)

he's ready made depth, with the possibility of being developed over the next 2 years in preparation for expected departures in our backline...if we don't suffer injuries, or if the kids leap frog him he gets spat out of the system..all for a 70+ pick...not such a huge gamble after all

I'm a little bit puzzled over why the hawks chose Hallahan, they got rid of Joey and then draft a smaller version of him the next year. He was only 21 so I can't see a youth policy being the reason/

I don't think it is the drafting of Hallahan that is puzzling - more so why they seemed so disinterested in retaining Kennedy.

I think they were guilty of over-rating their list after they won the 2008 flag. They expressed interest in ROK but only if he were prepared to take a pay cut and not if they actually had to trade anything decent for him, and then last year they practically gave Kennedy away for nothing, on the basis he was a long way away from being in their best 22. Odd...

I don't think it is the drafting of Hallahan that is puzzling - more so why they seemed so disinterested in retaining Kennedy.

I think they were guilty of over-rating their list after they won the 2008 flag. They expressed interest in ROK but only if he were prepared to take a pay cut and not if they actually had to trade anything decent for him, and then last year they practically gave Kennedy away for nothing, on the basis he was a long way away from being in their best 22. Odd...

They had a problem with Joeys disposal use.He could get the pill but they weren't happy what he did with it most of the time.Who cares? OUR GAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2010 Sydney Swans Drafting Discussion