List Mgmt. 2011 National Draft

Every draft you need to get at least one long term good player, preferably two.

You need at least 26 Senior level capable players on your list. This allows for injuries and some lack of form within regular senior players.

With another 4 possible players in the twos showing promise - that gets you to 30 players. Most settled teams these days use between 28 -31 players, depending on injuries and form of their regular first 22 - 24.

So looking at the retirements we have had and will have in the next 2-3 years - you would like to think we could get 2 more players from the 2011 draft.

It depends on whether Vardy can play in the ruck a bit - if he not then we need to target another ruckman for back up - and a KPB to come in when Scarlett vacates his place in the backline.

Then go for either a hard ball get mid (with some height and leg speed - but they are rare) or maybe a tallish quick runner to play wing or HB.

If we get a good player in any of these 3 areas out of this draft I will be happy. To get two would sensational.

PS. I reckon we might get at least 4 players out of the twos team as it stands today and were not in the finals team this season (Senior listed or Rookies). The promising list looks like this to me -

Vardy, Guthrie, THunt, Smedts, Schroder, Hogan, Bathie, Walker and Cowan (9 potential players and we have Byrnes in the wings as a back up small).

So 4 from this group and another one from the upcoming draft gives us 5 players over the next 2-3 years. Just enough to keep the Premiership window ajar. As you would think we will lose up to 5 players in the same time (Wojinski, Scarlett, Corey and Chapman seem the most likelies to go).

Not sure the compo pick or Bourke would be having that much influence on our thinking. Like all the names mentioned although I think Brad Hill is as far away from a Wells-type to be, and we already have a few outside gut-running types.

I agree Jes , a bit off the high standard that EQ usually contributes imo.

Reading right thru it for all teams she seems to have Murdoch going earlier than I thought. Linking him as possible at 22 for Carlton , 23 for WC and 24 for GC

I agree Jes , a bit off the high standard that EQ usually contributes imo.

Reading right thru it for all teams she seems to have Murdoch going earlier than I thought. Linking him as possible at 22 for Carlton , 23 for WC and 24 for GC

I hadn't watched any vision of Murdoch until this morning but can now see why Quayle has rated him that high. He looks very much to me like a Issac Smith from last years draft but with the versatility to play as a leading forward.

I had him down for 3rd pick (48 ) in my mock , seems he will be gone by then. Still reading between the lines , we may have a good chance at getting Frost, Grigg or McInnes. So just "as per usual" , a very good chance for some previously "highly rated" talent just slips down the highway into a Hoops jumper.

Tassie tend to produce footballers, not athletes in my opinion.

Mmmmm. It would only be a perception I recon. % wise it would be the same as the other states.

Ivor Warne-Smith; Verdun Howell; Darrel Baldock; Royce Hart; Matthew Richardson; Alastair Lynch; Brent Crosswell; Paul Williams; Michael Roach; Darryl Sutton; Russell Robertson; Doug Barwick.

These guy were all stars - some super stars - and all of them superb athletes. I'm sure there a few others as well.

You also have to remember the second head considerably reduces aerodynamics, and is a lot of extra weight to carry round affecting stamina and speed.

Mmmmm. It would only be a perception I recon. % wise it would be the same as the other states.

Ivor Warne-Smith; Verdun Howell; Darrel Baldock; Royce Hart; Matthew Richardson; Alastair Lynch; Brent Crosswell; Paul Williams; Michael Roach; Darryl Sutton; Russell Robertson; Doug Barwick.

These guy were all stars - some super stars - and all of them superb athletes. I'm sure there a few others as well.

You also have to remember the second head considerably reduces aerodynamics, and is a lot of extra weight to carry round affecting stamina and speed.

I'm talking about now, not 20 odd years ago.

Richo stands out as the exception, but the rest? All were supremely skilled players, but how many were what we define today as a great athlete?

Any chance Myles Bolger slipping to 32? Then Bosesley at 34?

I'm beginning to think that Bolger could well be around our pick. Going through the teams with picks ahead of Geelong, there aren't any with such huge pressing ruck needs that they'd need to pick one so early. Maybe Brisbane or Essendon, but I think they'll go different directions with the options that should be available.

I still don't think Boseley is the answer to our KPD problems. I really can't see the Cats drafting a guy so early that isn't good one on one. Great third tall type, but not the type we specifically need despite lots of love on this particular thread. I'd much prefer Schade, McInnes, Blee, Curran or even Jack Frost. I think everyone forgets that Frost is the same age as Boseley and he does have attributes that suit Geelong.

I'm beginning to think that Bolger could well be around our pick. Going through the teams with picks ahead of Geelong, there aren't any with such huge pressing ruck needs that they'd need to pick one so early. Maybe Brisbane or Essendon, but I think they'll go different directions with the options that should be available.

I still don't think Boseley is the answer to our KPD problems. I really can't see the Cats drafting a guy so early that isn't good one on one. Great third tall type, but not the type we specifically need despite lots of love on this particular thread. I'd much prefer Schade, McInnes, Blee, Curran or even Jack Frost. I think everyone forgets that Frost is the same age as Boseley and he does have attributes that suit Geelong.

And a cool as hell name. You reckon his nickname would be Frosty or Snowy? lol

The Iceman... if he is cool under pressure etc...

Yeah, I thought someone was taking the piss when I first saw his name a couple of years ago. Plenty of options for a nickname. I like Mr Freeze.

http://www.williamstownfc.com.au/profiles.php?cat_id=4&id=47

OK , fill me in. Is he a better user of the ball , more athletic , better 1o1 or just a more mature version.

He is a much more natural defender. Better one on one, better kick, better decision maker, but doesn't have the same x factor of Sam.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...-a-club-finding-a-roughie-20111119-1nojy.html

Here is Emma Quayles favourite 25 players of the draft. Despite not being in the 25, I'm extremely happy to see Damian Mascitti get a small mention. I was beginning to think tht I was the only one who rated him!

Good to see Sam Kerridge get in the Top 20 too. The three main guys who weren't in the mix are probably Murray Newman, Myles Bolger and Andrew Boseley.

http://www.williamstownfc.com.au/profiles.php?cat_id=4&id=47

OK , fill me in. Is he a better user of the ball , more athletic , better 1o1 or just a more mature version.

Ball use is better (which is my primary issue with Sam) and is still learning but is fairly good 1 on 1. Not really much more mature physically, but I think will be better, and will be cheaper (available later in the draft).

The Dogs said at last year's rookie draft they overlooked a couple of key defenders for medical reasons, my money would be Frost was one of them because he had hip issues at the time (I think he also trained with the Dogs before they decided not to pick him up) but seems to be over them now.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...-a-club-finding-a-roughie-20111119-1nojy.html

Here is Emma Quayles favourite 25 players of the draft. Despite not being in the 25, I'm extremely happy to see Damian Mascitti get a small mention. I was beginning to think tht I was the only one who rated him!

Good to see Sam Kerridge get in the Top 20 too. The three main guys who weren't in the mix are probably Murray Newman, Myles Bolger and Andrew Boseley.

Murdoch doesn't surprise me as a late riser, after his sprint time at the SS he was always likely to rise up the charts, which is annoying because I originally had him at our 78 :D Kerridge I had really hoped for the 30's, and still hope he gets there.

Very surprised Lockyer's not in the top 25, competitive, agressive, good 1 on 1, very good skills, tested excellently (better than a lot of the big blokes), gee it must be the height issue, but I'd be very happy to see him fall into the 30's.

Similarly Newman might because of height, but I rate him much higher than that on talent, could be a bargain.

Bolger's an interesting case, a good ruck in a year that isn't full of good rucks, but the foot issues just cloud things a bit. I'm not convinced we'll try to take a ruck with an earlier pick, I think we have more pressing needs at both ends of the spine (we need mature ruck backup but that can come through the RD), but he's certainly got the talent to make us consider it if the foot scares people off.

Ball use is better (which is my primary issue with Sam) and is still learning but is fairly good 1 on 1. Not really much more mature physically, but I think will be better, and will be cheaper (available later in the draft).

The Dogs said at last year's rookie draft they overlooked a couple of key defenders for medical reasons, my money would be Frost was one of them because he had hip issues at the time (I think he also trained with the Dogs before they decided not to pick him up) but seems to be over them now.

Interesting thoughts. Cant think of a player we have taken from another VFL side but he sounds a reasonable get that may be there in the 60's.
I like the look of Sam , perhaps he does have kicking issues but I much prefer him than Boseley , just like the way he moves.

There seems that there will be a lot of very marginal calls come Thurs.

Murdoch doesn't surprise me as a late riser, after his sprint time at the SS he was always likely to rise up the charts, which is annoying because I originally had him at our 78 :D Kerridge I had really hoped for the 30's, and still hope he gets there.

Very surprised Lockyer's not in the top 25, competitive, agressive, good 1 on 1, very good skills, tested excellently (better than a lot of the big blokes), gee it must be the height issue, but I'd be very happy to see him fall into the 30's.

Similarly Newman might because of height, but I rate him much higher than that on talent, could be a bargain.

Bolger's an interesting case, a good ruck in a year that isn't full of good rucks, but the foot issues just cloud things a bit. I'm not convinced we'll try to take a ruck with an earlier pick, I think we have more pressing needs at both ends of the spine (we need mature ruck backup but that can come through the RD), but he's certainly got the talent to make us consider it if the foot scares people off.

Yeah, I rate Murdoch. I really doubt he'll make it as a KPF though. I think he has all the attributes to be a very dangerous wingman. His pace is electrifying and the best thing is that he actually uses it on the field.

I tweeted Emma about Newman and she replied that he was in the mix at around 30-33 for her ratings. I think one of the WA teams will snap him up in the 20's unfortunately.

After Lockyer was measured at 192cm at DC, I think the height doubts would have eased. But he still doesn't quite play the game of a KPD. My main concern with Lockyer is that he is second to the footy more often than he should. It's probably the reason we see so many of the aggressive highlights of him as he finds himself in a position to chase body a lot of the time. Recruiters look out for positioning a lot more than the general public, I think this is where the questions could be at.

Yeah I agree, foot problems combined with young ruckmen is a scary thought.