Toast 2011: Year of Dangerfield

May 24, 2006
Car 55
Redbacks, Sturt, Liverpool, Arizona
This is the season we have all been waiting for.

We've now had a couple of seasons of build up and preparation. We've seen glimpses, we've seen moments of greatness, we've been frustrated by some injuries and we've worried about his kamikaze approach.

I was among the foolish few who had thrown his name forward as a potential skipper. Looking back this was kooky talk. Perhaps it was residual Walker Dropped Again Anger, manifesting itself in an inappropriate and illogical captaincy choice. Whatever... now that the dust has settled and we can look at the situation with some clarity, 2011 was always the year where Dangerfield would make the transition from player to playa.

Captaincy can wait.

I believe that by the midseason break it will be Dangerfield who the Cameron Lings and the Brad Sewells are trailing behind, desperately trying to quell his influence. Thompson and Vince will benefit as a result.

Clearance King. Breaking The Lines. Pinch Hitting Up Forward. We'll see it all. A mountain of talent now has some experience and maturity added to it. The sum of this will be a sight to behold.

Settle back and enjoy the ride. And take some time out to laugh at Brad Ebert too.

If he can control himself then there's no reason why this can't be the year. If he realises sometimes diving infront of team mates isn't the best option or that taking 4 people on isn't the best option, then yes it could be the year.

I certainly hope this is the year when his head catches his body.

Amazing talent.

God i hope he learns how to get some cheap ball this year. 11 touches is just too few for a player of his quality, even if 10 of them are hard ball gets.

Thought he showed some very good signs in our NAB Cup game particularly against Melb. Seemed to get into the right places to receive and distribute which adds to his known skill of winning his own ball.

Looked like a true midfielder. :thumbsu:

We've now had a couple of seasons of build up and preparation. We've seen glimpses, we've seen moments of greatness, we've been frustrated by some injuries and we've worried about his kamikaze approach.

I was among the foolish few who had thrown his name forward as a potential skipper. Looking back this was kooky talk. Perhaps it was residual Walker Dropped Again Anger, manifesting itself in an inappropriate and illogical captaincy choice. Whatever... now that the dust has settled and we can look at the situation with some clarity, 2011 was always the year where Dangerfield would make the transition from player to playa.

Captaincy can wait.

I believe that by the midseason break it will be Dangerfield who the Cameron Lings and the Brad Sewells are trailing behind, desperately trying to quell his influence. Thompson and Vince will benefit as a result.

Clearance King. Breaking The Lines. Pinch Hitting Up Forward. We'll see it all. A mountain of talent now has some experience and maturity added to it. The sum of this will be a sight to behold.

Settle back and enjoy the ride. And take some time out to laugh at Brad Ebert too.

Really necessary???????

Captaincy can wait.

positivity mate there you go! good for you!!!

From hearing all the reports from the intra club the NAB games it sounds like he is learning to find more of the ball. Obviously has a few things to learn and practice and if he can do that then JESUS CHRIST!!

Also think he should always be used as a pinch hitting forward. He's one of the strongest grabs in the team (if not the strongest) and is soooo hard to match up on because of that and his pace. DANGERous!! If he is having a quiet day then a goal or two could lift him.

Seems to take too long to recover from his hard ball gets, perhaps someone with his intensity can't be expected to rack up 30 possies a game.
But i'm not sure if it's in his nature to let someone else go in while he hangs back!
I think his improvement will be more on the lines of increased fitness and strength (if that's possible) and he definitely has trimmed his baby muscle and now looks set for a big year!

God i hope he learns how to get some cheap ball this year. 11 touches is just too few for a player of his quality, even if 10 of them are hard ball gets.

He showed good signs of it in the NAB cup game against Melbourne, STO.

15 possessions and 49 DT points in 40 minutes of footy was a good start to the style of game Craig wants him to play this year.

I'm with Carl on this one, as I think this will be Dangerfield's break-out year as a possession getter. He's the one mid-ranger I allowed myself in my draft DT to date.

I have my doubts that this will be his breakout year. I reckon we'll see some improvement, for sure, but in terms of reaching his true potential... I expect that to be more like one, maybe two years away.

But hey, I'd love to be wrong on this one.

I think this will be his breakout year- he'll probably be our 'superstar' mid by years end I reckon. I just have a funny feeling, about him, he's ready to explode I reckon.

Captaincy can wait.

I have suffered this quite extremely, the symptons were made worse by my "Burton Kepps getting a game' anger and the 'Davis being dropped' anger.

Symptoms are subsiding now that the 2011 season is approaching.

Dangerfiled to have a Chris Judd like 3rd season in 2011. I am keeping my expectations high, unlike Jenny who just wants to accept mediocrity, like this:

"Geez Carl... you put em up there, just so's you can knock em down! How about we just enjoy and watch him develop without any of the other crap! "

jenny61_99Re: 2011: Year of Dangerfield

I think he is a year or two to be the player we all expect. Although he is advanced for his age, he still has a lot to learn. He needs to concentrate on being damaging for 4 quarters. That will be his goal this year.

Most AA midfielders are in the peak by around 23. He is what, 20? I don't want to put anymore expectations on the kid than is required.

Consistancy, knowing which battles to put his body into, those sorts of things. He will be a prolific ball winner for the Crows. He just needs a couple more years. We have a young squad who will grow together, and who knows, may be a force to recon with in years to come.

I reckon he's going to improve in a big way this year :thumbsu:

One thing with Dangerfield, he strikes me as the kind of kid who achieves things. When he wants to achieve something, he finds a way to do it. You know that this year he's decided it's time to play a bit smarter and be more useful to the team, and I reckon he's going to find a way to make it happen.

He still won't show us his best form in 2011, but I think he'll be very good nonetheless :thumbsu:

Toast 2011: Year of Dangerfield